We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Academie Hotel

#29 of 100 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Academie Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #29 of 100 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
steve g Reading, United Kingdom
Add Photo

1,246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    479
    558
    147
    46
    16
See reviews for
143
680
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1246)
  • Mar-May only
    (394)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (282)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (275)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (295)
All months
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Based on the south side of Bruges, the Academie is a ten minute walk from both rail and bus stations even when dragging suitcases, conversely you can walk to the centre of Bruges at the Market in less than 10 minutes. I would not class this as a 4* by British standards, though generally accommodation on the continent does tend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a three nights stay recently and found the Academie Hotel great as it was so central to everything in Bruges. The bedroom was big with a lovely bathroom overlooking the courtyard. The breakfast was plentiful with hot and cold available. We stayed on an organised trip with Riviera Travel and nothing was too much trouble for the rep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel was part of a Riviera Travel programme. The staff were excellent, rooms very good, and quiet. TV and C/H all worked perfectly. Breakfast had an excellent choice and great staff again. Hotel is in a very good location to walk the town and central to almost all attractions withing 15 minutes walking. Very good restaurant choice nearby also.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mexborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very nice hotel. We had a twin bedded room with a large bathroom containing bath with overhead shower and a very large walk in shower suitable for a wheelchair user. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast had a large selection including fruit cereal pastries cooked meat and cheeses. hot option included scrambled and boiled eggs beans mushrooms cocktail... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ferring, Sussex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel was just right. Reception was efficient, very polite. House keeping very clean. No restaurant but breakfast very good but limited on the cooked side if you want egg & bacon. I would recommend this place to anyone for a short break.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A centrally located hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast included in deal was buffet style and included both hot and cold food. Room was very clean and service was to very high standard. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in this hotel for two nights over May bank holiday. Originally we had booked the Golden Tree hotel but were emailed by the manager a few days before to inform us that due to a mix up they had over booked the hotel so we had been moved to the Academie Hotel instead. The Academie Hotel was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My Boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights on a ladt minute booking. It was the third cheapest accommodation and worked out about £100 a night with breakfast - you won't find much cheaper unless staying in one of the hostels. The hotel is in a perfect location near to the centre, I'd say a 5 minute walk, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mandurah, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An excellent hotel with friendly, helpful staff, perfect location and the most sumptious breakfast.To top it off there is free wifi and the rooms are compact but airy and very well maintained.Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wirral
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed as part of a Rivera tour. On arrival we were allocated room 333 a top floor room which had not been refurbished, old beds with no mattress covers and a stained carpet. The room was hot and air conditioning not working, the base of the window and wall were stained in black mould and when opened there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Inge_De_Ketelaere, Manager at Academie Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, I would like to explain the cause of the smell. Bruges is a city with lots of small canals and the smell you sometimes have is the smell of the sewage system of Bruges. You have the smell all over the city, and we can't avoid to have it sometimes in our hotel as well. About your room, the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

570 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (245)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (79)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (83)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (296)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Budget Single Room (39)
Viewed
Classic Double and Twin Room (46)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)
Viewed
Triple Room (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay