We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Academie Hotel

#29 of 100 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Wijngaardstraat 7-9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Academie Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #29 of 100 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
PhilbyFerring_Sussex Ferring, Sussex
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    556
    146
    46
    16
See reviews for
142
677
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1240)
  • Mar-May only
    (391)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (279)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (275)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (295)
All months
Ferring, Sussex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel was just right. Reception was efficient, very polite. House keeping very clean. No restaurant but breakfast very good but limited on the cooked side if you want egg & bacon. I would recommend this place to anyone for a short break.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A centrally located hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast included in deal was buffet style and included both hot and cold food. Room was very clean and service was to very high standard. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in this hotel for two nights over May bank holiday. Originally we had booked the Golden Tree hotel but were emailed by the manager a few days before to inform us that due to a mix up they had over booked the hotel so we had been moved to the Academie Hotel instead. The Academie Hotel was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My Boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights on a ladt minute booking. It was the third cheapest accommodation and worked out about £100 a night with breakfast - you won't find much cheaper unless staying in one of the hostels. The hotel is in a perfect location near to the centre, I'd say a 5 minute walk, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mandurah, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

An excellent hotel with friendly, helpful staff, perfect location and the most sumptious breakfast.To top it off there is free wifi and the rooms are compact but airy and very well maintained.Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wirral
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed as part of a Rivera tour. On arrival we were allocated room 333 a top floor room which had not been refurbished, old beds with no mattress covers and a stained carpet. The room was hot and air conditioning not working, the base of the window and wall were stained in black mould and when opened there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Inge_De_Ketelaere, Manager at Academie Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, I would like to explain the cause of the smell. Bruges is a city with lots of small canals and the smell you sometimes have is the smell of the sewage system of Bruges. You have the smell all over the city, and we can't avoid to have it sometimes in our hotel as well. About your room, the... More 

Berkshire, England
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
40 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 3 nights on an excellent Riveria break. Staff at reception are helpfull and there are several places to sit inside as well as a courtyard garden which was very pleasant. Our room was clean, well decorated with a firm but comfortable bed, good reading lights and a small table and chairs. The bathroom was fine, with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
139 hotel reviews
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not much to say. Perfectly located, clean, functional, friendly service, excellent bed, and expected amenities. Free and correct wifi. The room was simple but rather large. Only stayed one night, didn't check the other services like gym etc. but the overall impression was that everything was well maintained. There are options for cheap and decent breakfast in the street if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I have just stayed at this hotel and found it to be very nice. Very comfortable bed,clean and pleasant room. Our breakfast was great,every thing you could want.The hotel was in a lovely quiet place in the city. Near the swan lake. Beautiful. We booked through riviera travel and found this trip to be very good value... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived via train and walked to Academie Hotel in 10 minutes from the train station with ease. We like Academie's location as it's not in the crowded main square area, but accessible on foot 10 minutes away. Minnewater Park (behind the hotel, 5 minutes away) is a very nice place to relax and stroll. There's a Carrefour Express on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

568 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (243)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (79)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (81)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (296)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Budget Single Room (39)
Viewed
Classic Double and Twin Room (46)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)
Viewed
Triple Room (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay