We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 102 Bruges hotels

Portinari Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   T Zand 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Portinari Hotel to your Saves list
Portinari Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
74%
Ranked #66 of 102 hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
stevi22 Southampton
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    75
    36
    7
    2
See reviews for
23
73
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pleasant staff at the hotel which is well situated for walking in to the centre. There is parking in Centrum car park below the square - cost 8.70 euros for 24 hours. You just take the lift up from the car park to the square and it is no more than 30 metres to hotel. Rooms were at the back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephane B, General Manager at Portinari Hotel, responded to this review

To all reviewers: This review is correct. Thank you for it More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from Brugges and stayed 2 nights here. Just couldnt believe for a 4 star hotel not to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Bar prices were very expensive. ( 17 euros for one whisky and one baileys!) Convenient for the Brugges centre though. Overall clean inside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephane B, General Manager at Portinari Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark, thank you for your review. You are correct, in a four star hotel you should not brew your own pot. A simple call to the reception and a coffee or tea of your choice are brought up, to your room. I assume you never stayed in Paris or London. The rates in Belgium for drinks are quite reasonable.... More

Newark, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

just arrived back in uk from a long week end coach holiday in bruges where we stayed at the portinari hotel .having stayed at this hotel before we were pleasantly surprised that the outside terrace area has been revamped to give a better overall ambiance when having a drink. the situation of the hotel for walking to the city centre... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephane B, General Manager at Portinari Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rod, Thank you for your review. The new coffee machines were installed to improve the quality of the coffee. This is now instantly mould from the beans every time you want a cup. On your next visit do not hesiotate teo ask for the coffee as it used to be we can still provide this on request More

Bergen, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Nice hotel perfectly situated near the railway station and the city centre. I took us about eight minutes to walk through a park from the station. The staff also helped us out on a delicate matter ahead of our stay. Fair play to them!

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephane B, General Manager at Portinari Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elvind, Thank you and welcome for the assistance asked. Life would be much nicer when every visitor would apply the same fairness as you did in writing a review. Much appreciated More

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We selected a 4 star hotel in the centre of Bruges. Although the hotel was about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Bruges it did not offer what we expected of a four star hotel. Our room was on the 4th floor and had skylights not windows that we could look out of. The corridors were shabby and smelt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stephane B, General Manager at Portinari Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Catherine, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to find out that you read already our answers to previous reviews. Unfortunately after your visit. In fact a lot of customers appreciate the service of a four star hotel (breakfast, amenities, free wifi, nightn reception...) without paying for a very spacious room. We strongly advice to book a family... More

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

A lovely hotel right in the centre of Bruges. 10 minutes walk from the train station and right on the market square. We stayed for our wedding anniversary in November 2013 for a long weekend. The staff were polite & helpful in every way possible. If we ever go back to Bruges I wouldn't hesitate to stop here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephane B, General Manager at Portinari Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael, In the same helpfull and polite way we say thank you for your visit and review More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

For a two night stay this hotel was perfect, right in the center, easy walking distance to all the main sights and restaurants. The hotel is well run with very nice staff, very clean rooms and offers a good breakfast, the next time we visit lovely Bruges we will stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephane B, General Manager at Portinari Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Thomas, We offered you everything you needed to your entire satisfaction, and that is everything we need More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My partner and I stayed there for a few days the week before Christmas. The room was a bit small and the bathroom felt a bit outdated (could do with renovating) however it was clean. The view from our window was awful but we only went there to sleep and it gets dark early in the winter!! There was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stephane B, General Manager at Portinari Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Biancabernard, Thank you for your review. We learn that after taking into consideration the pros and cons you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward welcoming you on your next Bruges trip More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My partner and I spent two nights in Bruges to celebrate our anniversary and we booked the trip through a travel agent who picked the hotel for us. I have to say we had an amazing time although it could have been a more pleasant stay if we had stayed in a different hotel. The good things about this hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephane B, General Manager at Portinari Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anabel, We are very pleased that you have chosen our hotel for your visit to Bruges and will most certainly take your remarks in consideration whenever refurbishing the hotel. However our succes comes mostly from our goal to offer a nice and clean room on a perfect location to visit Bruges. Therefore we have 3 roomtypes of different standards... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a midweek break here in December. The welcome was very friendly and we were given lots of helpful advice by the Manager who was delightful. Our superior room lived up to it's name, really comfortable with a wonderful view over the Market Square. There was a tasty, plentiful selection of food for Breakfast which set us up for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephane B, General Manager at Portinari Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Teresa S, Your review is so perfect that it does not need a reply. Of course when someone calls me delightfull I have no other option as to express my extreme gratitude. Hopefully we can offer you another memorable stay in 2014 More

Been to Portinari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portinari Hotel

Also Known As:
Portinari Hotel Bruges
Address: T Zand 15, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portinari Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Portinari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portinari Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.