We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Leuven City Hostel

Ravenstraat 37, Leuven B-3000, Belgium
Hotel amenities
Save
You added Leuven City Hostel to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Leuven
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015
Sannesatijn
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    19
    8
    4
    15
See reviews for
Families
0
8
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (51)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here from Mon through Fri for studyvisit. The room was small for 5 people, no room to place stuff on besides two chairs. Pillows were small and very soft. Windows couldn't be fully opened. Safety ladder next to the window that couldn't open all the way because of the bed. The bathroom was okay, but it could have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Hostel seemed fine; you get what you pay for. Good location, free Wi-Fi, we were sold! First night we came back late having had a few drinks, as you do on holiday, and shortly after encountered an extremely angry Belgian man who I can only imagine is the 'horrible owner' everyone has wrote so much about. Without warning, anything, he... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LeuvenCityHostel, Manager at Leuven City Hostel, responded to this review

Here is our view on what happened that night. When we heard loud noise inside our hostel around 6am (shouting and singing, slamming doors...), we were woken up and took a look at what was going on. It turned out to be your group, together with others (no hostel guests) that you had brought in from the city. It goes... More 

Travelers are raving about these Leuven hotels

Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

It is a good place to stay, close to the city center, the service was ok, the breakfast is very poor just bread, butter and coffe or tea. The room was clean, the internet connection was very good, the toilets was smelling bad, the bathroom was good but the light timer sucks... the light always turn off during the shower...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gandia, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

My stay of three nights in this hostel was good. The hostel is small and cozy, the common room is comfortable and the kitchen even though small, it's enough. The common showers and bathrooms are good and in a well kept condition. The worst side is probably the opening hours of the reception, check this out when planning your booking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

We stayed in City Hostel for one night in February 2014 and I can say it was one of the worst places I ever stayed before. There are not so many hotels in Leuven and we were choosing between City hostel and private apartments (it was the same price if you stay in the entire apartment alone or in double... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

We stayed for one night in this hostel. The staff was very kind, we did not encounter a mean owner like many of the reviews state. The hostel is VERY clean and the electronic door system is very easy to use. The beds and rooms are fine, just the hallways echo and the bathroom doors make a lot of noise.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised with this hostel. It is very cozy and quiet, unlike many other hostels. It is not allowed to play loud music, or talk in 'wild animal' voices, which adds to its homely feel. You get free coffee or tea the entire day, and there is a little garden where you can relax. If you are in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Leuven City Hostel is a very clean and safe hostel in a great location. Only problem is the staff. They are very rude, almost like they don't like travelers (go figure!) or just couldn't be bothered. Had to wait for receptionist to finish gossiping on the phone before she would check me in. Then, when I would ask her or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kranj, Slovenia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed here with 3 friends for a night. Te location is great, the place is clean and organized, the staff friendly. The breakfast was satisfying and is included in the price. Not the cheapest hostel I have ever been to, but well worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haz-Zebbug, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I was there for just two days, but we had a good time, it was clean and the staff was helpful. The kitchen is do it yourself service so you have different choices for breakfast. We also had a mirror and a small sink in our room which is a plus !

Was this review helpful? Yes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leuven City Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay