We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Leuven City Hostel

Ravenstraat 37, Leuven B-3000, Belgium
Hotel amenities
You added Leuven City Hostel to your Saves list
Book on
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Book on
or compare prices from over 200 sites including:
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
111 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015

The positives: Excellent location, right in downtown and clean rooms. Nice to have the option of single showers in their own room. Facilities are great, kitchen is amazing! Very clean and living room/common area is very nice. The negatives: very funky late night check-in procedures. Wanted payment in advance for the whole stay if you check in after 8 p.m.... More 

Thank BTVWriter
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Me and 4 friends came in to check in and we're welcomed in by a rude manager who had no interest in even trying to be helpfull or nice. Not even a smile or 'welcome' or 'hello'. After we found out something was wrong with our booking things turned for the worst. No help whatsoever. Made us feel like we... More 

1 Thank PitMaypole

Travelers are raving about these Leuven hotels

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

It comes as no surprise to find more reviews that mention the owner of this place. me and my friends have never been treated so poorly. A man that said no hello, made no effort to help us, seemed to hate us from the moment we walked in. His tone was awful. When we mentioned this to him he immediately... More 

2 Thank hendrikvs2015
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here from Mon through Fri for studyvisit. The room was small for 5 people, no room to place stuff on besides two chairs. Pillows were small and very soft. Windows couldn't be fully opened. Safety ladder next to the window that couldn't open all the way because of the bed. The bathroom was okay, but it could have been... More 

1 Thank Sannesatijn
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Hostel seemed fine; you get what you pay for. Good location, free Wi-Fi, we were sold! First night we came back late having had a few drinks, as you do on holiday, and shortly after encountered an extremely angry Belgian man who I can only imagine is the 'horrible owner' everyone has wrote so much about. Without warning, anything, he... More 

4 Thank Si C
LeuvenCityHostel, Manager at Leuven City Hostel, responded to this review

Here is our view on what happened that night. When we heard loud noise inside our hostel around 6am (shouting and singing, slamming doors...), we were woken up and took a look at what was going on. It turned out to be your group, together with others (no hostel guests) that you had brought in from the city. It goes... More 

Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

It is a good place to stay, close to the city center, the service was ok, the breakfast is very poor just bread, butter and coffe or tea. The room was clean, the internet connection was very good, the toilets was smelling bad, the bathroom was good but the light timer sucks... the light always turn off during the shower...

Thank Noé M
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

My stay of three nights in this hostel was good. The hostel is small and cozy, the common room is comfortable and the kitchen even though small, it's enough. The common showers and bathrooms are good and in a well kept condition. The worst side is probably the opening hours of the reception, check this out when planning your booking.

1 Thank Potraco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

We stayed in City Hostel for one night in February 2014 and I can say it was one of the worst places I ever stayed before. There are not so many hotels in Leuven and we were choosing between City hostel and private apartments (it was the same price if you stay in the entire apartment alone or in double... More 

2 Thank Yermolinski
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

We stayed for one night in this hostel. The staff was very kind, we did not encounter a mean owner like many of the reviews state. The hostel is VERY clean and the electronic door system is very easy to use. The beds and rooms are fine, just the hallways echo and the bathroom doors make a lot of noise.... More 

Thank Captain A
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised with this hostel. It is very cozy and quiet, unlike many other hostels. It is not allowed to play loud music, or talk in 'wild animal' voices, which adds to its homely feel. You get free coffee or tea the entire day, and there is a little garden where you can relax. If you are in... More 

Thank Borg S

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing


Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay