We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel de Flandre

Hotel website
Poel 1 - 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Offers & Announcements
Time for some culture!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel de Flandre
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

360 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    86
    156
    67
    33
    18
See reviews for
32
191
11
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (360)
  • Mar-May only
    (77)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (123)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (93)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Conveniently situated for central Gent. Room clean and adequate but dull decor made room appear very dark even during daytime. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but would have cost an overpriced £21 per person for continental. There was space in the central courtyard to safely keep our bikes and there was a reasonably priced car park close by.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Lynnecar, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hotel de Flandre and for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. The Hotel’s amazing location in the heart of Ghent is indeed well placed for leisure being a stone’s throw away from many major sights and fashionable shopping areas. We hope that you will continue... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were expected a reasonable mid-range hotel based upon other reviews and the price [during the Ghent Festivities, high season] however upon arrival, we were welcomed in a very friendly manner, the room was amazing, perfect location and overall a superb experience. The room was quite nicely designed [not too big though] in an L-shape with a very large bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear kYra6, Thank you for choosing Hotel de Flandre and for sharing your experience. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Freija Wyffels More 

Katwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

I've stayed here before, but never in the loft rooms, these are amazing, the bathroom on the lower floor and the bedroom one floor up. Very large comfortable bed, large bathroom , everything very clean and well cared for. It's a shame my WiFi didn't work, but I really didn't need it , because the Gentse feesten had just started.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear acdourlein, Thank you for choosing Hotel de Flandre once again. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the Ghent Festivities. Your feedback is always very much appreciated and valuable to us. Please let me know if we can assist with any future plans. Kind regards Freija Wyffels More 

Hranice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Very nice boutique hotel close to the Korenmarkt (main square), just 2-3 mins walking. But far enough to provide you with a comfortable quite. There is a free Wifi throughout the whole property. The rooms were nice, clean, served the purpose well :) Personally, I would choose different than soft mattresses, but that's up to everyone's preference. Right opposite to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear ladamek, Thank you for choosing Hotel de Flandre once again. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel's location. Please let me know if I can help assist with any future plans. Kind regards Freija Wyffels More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

I was given instructions how to get to my room but I couldn't find it in the said floor! I returned to the reception, and he realized that my room was accessible from the inner garden. I had to climb rickety stairs in my heels while carrying my luggage. And there were spaces in between the floor boards! I could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear thesupr, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations, in regards to our staff not providing you with exceptional service. I would be happy to discuss your stay personally with you, and can be reached at freija@hoteldeflandre.be. I look forward to speaking with you soon. Best regards, Freija Wyffels More 

dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

My partner and I stayed two nights here. Location is very good, only a 5 minute stroll to Ghent City Center with lots of restaurants near by. The main Hotel is okay, reception area was shabby and out dated. The girl who served us was efficient but lacking in 'The personal touch' with customers. We stayed in the separate part... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear carpediemDublin, Thank you for sharing your review. I am glad to hear you had a comfortable stay. We have looked into your feedback concerning the phone, and can tell you that this has been resolved this. I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that might have occurred because of this. We value your feedback and look forward to... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

We stayed here for two nights. The staff was very friendly. Our room looked nice and clean, but the air-con didn't work and our room became quite warm during the night. We didn't have breakfast here (too expensive). The hotel is located in the old centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Floor M, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Hotel de Flandre. I am happy to hear overall you had a great stay and enjoyed the location of the hotel. Thank you for providing your feedback regarding the AC, due to the heat wave we had some difficulties with the AC. We apologise for any inconvenience you have... More 

alhambra,ca
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

Very nicely located hotel. It was only a two minute walk to the city center. We had a pleasant room on the ground floor, comfortable, clean and quiet, It has limited car parking. If the parking is full, there is a public lot two minutes walk away (and cheeper than the hotel parking.) The room had an espresso machine. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear retired32, Thank you for sharing your review. I am glad to hear you had a comfortable stay.. We value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel de Flandre. Best Regards Freija Wyffels More 

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

Currently staying at the hotel had been waiting 45 mins for breakfast. The hotel obviously van not manage when full. Would not recommend . Rooms are nice but why offer breakfast of you can't accommodate your customers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Torquay D, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations, in regards to our staff not providing you with exceptional service. I would be happy to discuss your stay personally with you, and can be reached at freija@hoteldeflandre.be. I look forward to speaking with you soon. Best Regards Freija Wyffels More 

Travelers are raving about these Ghent hotels

Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

Well located for city access. Clean, simple and well presented, while it lacks bell men etc we enjoyed the fact that it lacked the cookie cutter approach of the major chains. We found the staff to be courteous and helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoteldeFlandre, General Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Grant W, Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel de Flandre, and for sharing your feedback. I will be sure to share your positive comments with the hotel staff We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel de Flandre in the near future. Best Regards Freija Wyffels More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 39 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marriott Ghent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gravensteen
Hotel Gravensteen
#15 of 39 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#11 of 39 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 stars 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay