We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 37 Ghent hotels

Hotel de Flandre

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Poel 1 - 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel de Flandre to your Saves list
Hotel de Flandre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
69%
Ranked #17 of 37 hotels in Ghent
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
mjm814 New Rochelle, New York
  • Overview
  • Reviews (243)
  • Photos (54)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (43)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    103
    46
    20
    13
See reviews for
25
122
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Rochelle, New York
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in the annex across the street on the ground floor. Room was big, enough plenty of closet space and a very comfortable bed. The room had good black out drapes so we were not wakened early by the light. The shower was fantastic and shampoo, etc. was supplied. The room was quiet and the wake up calls were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoteldeFlandre, Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear mjm814, Thank you for choosing Hotel de Flandre and for sharing your experience. I am pleased to hear that you had a great stay, and that you enjoyed our room facilities as well as our attentive staff. I will be sure to share your positive comments with the entire team. We hope to see you again soon! Best regards,... More

Faversham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for a mid-week short break and were allocated room 4 which is on the ground floor at the rear of the building across a courtyard. The room was quiet, very spacious and comfortable although rather dark. Bathrobes, slippers and plentiful toiletries were supplied. I liked having a kettle and choice of teas etc which were replenished daily. If... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HoteldeFlandre, Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear FavershamHector, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Hotel de Flandre. I appreciate all your feedback as we continuously strive to improve and better our hotel and services. I am happy to hear overall you had a great stay and enjoyed the location of the hotel, as well as our our attentive staff. I do apologize for the... More

Hereford
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is one of the very few hotels we had not stayed in before in Ghent so we thought it was worth a go. You can park in the St Michaels garage for 11 euros a night which is very reasonable for Ghent. Very nice quiet room. Cannot comment on breakfast as we were room only. Quite a small dining... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoteldeFlandre, Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Patmar58, Thank you for choosing Hotel de Flandre and for sharing your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you had a great stay and that you enjoyed the room and its location. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you once again in the near future. Best regards, Kristel Cauterman More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I had booked my room for one night on a business trip to Belgium. I arrived at the hotel at around 1.00 p.m. Strangely at the reception I have been told that the room was available only after 3.00 p.m., as this was the hotel policy, "even mentioned on the voucher". A part that on the voucher NOTHING was mentioned,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoteldeFlandre, Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Filippo L, Thank you for sharing your feedback. I'm happy to hear overall your had a great stay. Check-in time is after 3pm but please note that we do our utmost to accommodate an early arrival as soon as possible. If you want to guarantee that your room is available before 3pm, we advise booking the room one day... More

Lydd, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times as the company I work for use it. The location is great for exploring the city centre and it's many bars and restaurants. The rooms are reasonably well equipped and adequately maintained but I prefer the ones in the rear annexe than the main house which also have the advantage... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoteldeFlandre, Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan D, Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel de Flandre again, and for sharing your feedback. I also would like to inform you that we can take your room preference into account, Just let our reception team know, and we will have your preference noted in your profile. We look forward to any upcoming visits, and please... More

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for four nights with my family. For a couple the rooms are spacious, for a couple with two children, the room seemed rather small. The hotel has two separate areas, I stayed in the main section and have no complaints other than the elevator being slow, which is a good excuse to get a little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HoteldeFlandre, Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear PwK-33, Thank you for your response on your recent stay. I am pleased to hear you and your family had a great experience. It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed the hotel, its location as well as our breakfast buffet. Please let me know if you need any assistance on planning your next trip to Ghent.... More

Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here and found the hotel very convenient to the old areas of the city. The staff were helpful, and the rooms comfortable. Woulds stay there again The offered breakfast, though good, was very expensive so I recommend buying a few things at the grocery store across the street..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HoteldeFlandre, Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear butternut70, Thank you for choosing Hotel de Flandre and for sharing your experience. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel's location. Please let me know if I can help assist with any future plans. Best regards, Kristel Cauterman More

Cologne
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for one night. The room we were given was. The main building. Put when we entered the room, we heard that the ventilation in the bathroom was running and could not be switched off. We went back to reception and were told that this is a security standard... never heard of such a thing. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoteldeFlandre, Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Kathrin80, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations, in regards to the rooms. I do apologize for the inconveniece you experienced during your stay, and I would like to emphasize that this is certainly not the norm here. We are currently looking into the feedback you provided on the... More

Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

1 elevator, if you're lucky, it will take you only 10 minutes to get to the 4th floor, on foot you wont get there, trust me. bathtub with no attached shower head to the wall, so you shower like in the 'very old' days! woke up during the night due to rain!? no other facilities then rooms + breakfast room...

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoteldeFlandre, Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear teejay 1969, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Hotel de Flandre. I appreciate all your feedback as we continuously strive to improve and better our hotel and services. Unfortunately, our hotel does not have its own restaurant. We only serve breakfast and offer our guests a room service menu with a limited number of dishes.... More

Upper Beeding, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Very pleasant and helpful staff, and I suspect that the main hotel is quite acceptable at its price range, but we got dumped in "The Annexe" across the road. It's newly converted and looks like the inside if a prison with a metal staircase up several flights of stairs. Worse was to come. The bedroom has no carpet and no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoteldeFlandre, Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Elansea, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit, in regards to our rooms. Please note we can take your room preference into account, and that we can accommodate rooms without open-plan bathroom. Just let our reception team know in the future,... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel de Flandre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel de Flandre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Flandre

Address: Poel 1 - 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Flandre 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelsNL so you can book your Hotel de Flandre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Flandre Hotel
De Flandre Ghent

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the historic heart of Ghent, Hotel de Flandre provides tasteful guest rooms and a cozy lounge in a 19th-century building. The authentic halls with their grand staircases have a traditional charm and guests can unwind in the warmly decorated interior. The hotel is situated within walking distance of the city's main attractions. This hotel is the ideal accommodation for both business and pleasure. WiFI is available free of charge. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
63

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer