We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Ghent hotels

Hotel de Flandre

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Poel 1 - 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Culinary Package @ €119
Hotel de Flandre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
69%
Ranked #16 of 38 hotels in Ghent
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Patager Rayleigh, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (250)
  • Photos (54)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (47)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    105
    46
    22
    14
See reviews for
25
127
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed in this hotel twice now, on both occasions it was for the Ghent music festival. The hotel is split into two areas - the new half which is modern and clean, we asked for this area twice as it was out of the main building and along the street - just that little bit closer to the canal (and... More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The best thing is its location! The rooms look quite nice at first sight but then you find out that they could be much more cleaner. BIG bugs in the room and blood on the walls (du to the insects) I would expect better standard for those money we paid!They have no idea about customer service or basic hygeine. The... More

Bruges, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

To make it short, we spend the night chasing after mosquitoes! We called the front desk to ask to have a other room but impossible cause hotel was full! So in the morning we explain the situation to the manager of the hotel, but didn't seem to care about the satisfaction of the client, its obvious the only concern is... More

HEART O SCOTLAND
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent a four night stay in this ideally located hotel right in the heart of old historical Ghent. Was a fabulous location just behind the old part of the town and was well within walking distance of many of the main tourist visiting attractions. We were there to combine a social visit to see great friends but also to sample... More

HoteldeFlandre, Owner at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear BIGKEVHeartOScotland, Thank you for your response on your recent stay. I am pleased to hear you had a great experience and thank you for recognizing the friendliness of our staff. I will share your nice comments with the entire team. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Ghent. Best regards,... More

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a room in the annex across the street from Marriot, the Wifi was not working, housekeeping was very poor. Out of five days spent there, twice there was no housekeeping at all and the sheets were never changed. The back yard is a mess with trash bags waiting for days behind the main entrance door. Breakfast and location... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for three nights in this hotel in Ghent. Good value (deal combining Eurostar and travel through Belgium with three nights accommodation and breakfast for £200). The main reason I chose this hotel was for it's location; we walked absolutely everywhere. It's right in the historic centre and nowhere is much more than a 10 minute walk really. The streets... More

HoteldeFlandre, Front Office Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Sophie D, Thank you for sharing your review. I'm glad to hear overall you had a good stay but do apologize for the small hiccups you experienced with the AC. All your feedback is being reviewed and thank you for sharing that with us. I hope we can welcome you back on your next visit to Ghent. Best regards,... More

New Rochelle, New York
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were in the annex across the street on the ground floor. Room was big, enough plenty of closet space and a very comfortable bed. The room had good black out drapes so we were not wakened early by the light. The shower was fantastic and shampoo, etc. was supplied. The room was quiet and the wake up calls were... More

HoteldeFlandre, Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear mjm814, Thank you for choosing Hotel de Flandre and for sharing your experience. I am pleased to hear that you had a great stay, and that you enjoyed our room facilities as well as our attentive staff. I will be sure to share your positive comments with the entire team. We hope to see you again soon! Best regards,... More

Faversham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed for a mid-week short break and were allocated room 4 which is on the ground floor at the rear of the building across a courtyard. The room was quiet, very spacious and comfortable although rather dark. Bathrobes, slippers and plentiful toiletries were supplied. I liked having a kettle and choice of teas etc which were replenished daily. If... More

HoteldeFlandre, Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear FavershamHector, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Hotel de Flandre. I appreciate all your feedback as we continuously strive to improve and better our hotel and services. I am happy to hear overall you had a great stay and enjoyed the location of the hotel, as well as our our attentive staff. I do apologize for the... More

Hereford
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is one of the very few hotels we had not stayed in before in Ghent so we thought it was worth a go. You can park in the St Michaels garage for 11 euros a night which is very reasonable for Ghent. Very nice quiet room. Cannot comment on breakfast as we were room only. Quite a small dining... More

HoteldeFlandre, Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Patmar58, Thank you for choosing Hotel de Flandre and for sharing your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you had a great stay and that you enjoyed the room and its location. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you once again in the near future. Best regards, Kristel Cauterman More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I had booked my room for one night on a business trip to Belgium. I arrived at the hotel at around 1.00 p.m. Strangely at the reception I have been told that the room was available only after 3.00 p.m., as this was the hotel policy, "even mentioned on the voucher". A part that on the voucher NOTHING was mentioned,... More

HoteldeFlandre, Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review

Dear Filippo L, Thank you for sharing your feedback. I'm happy to hear overall your had a great stay. Check-in time is after 3pm but please note that we do our utmost to accommodate an early arrival as soon as possible. If you want to guarantee that your room is available before 3pm, we advise booking the room one day... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel de Flandre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Additional Information about Hotel de Flandre

Address: Poel 1 - 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Flandre 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel de Flandre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Flandre Hotel
De Flandre Ghent

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Ghent with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the historic heart of Ghent, Hotel de Flandre provides tasteful guest rooms and a cozy lounge in a 19th-century building. The authentic halls with their grand staircases have a traditional charm and guests can unwind in the warmly decorated interior. The hotel is situated within walking distance of the city's main attractions. This hotel is the ideal accommodation for both business and pleasure. WiFI is available free of charge. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
63

Questions & Answers

See which rooms travelers prefer