We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ghent River Hotel

Hotel website
Waaistraat 5, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Offers & Announcements
Gents Stropke Package
Ghent River Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Janet J London, United Kingdom
Share an Experience

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    220
    102
    37
    9
See reviews for
59
262
12
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (507)
  • Mar-May only
    (106)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (105)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (143)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (153)
All months
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent location in old city centre, rooms good (although 1 of the 2 we booked a little dark), building interesting but modern foyer and bar a bit dull, breakfast excellent with good buffet and view over the river, staff pleasant and in reception exceptionally helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gent
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A very nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is also very close to all the many beautiful sites to see in Ghent. It's east to walk to all the sites and visit the many restaurants in the city.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I had a Sat~nav problem, and saw a lot of Gent in the process, however the hotel reception guided me in and after a long day in Germany at a trade show it was my very welcome halfway stopover. I wish someone had pointed out there wasn't an evening restaurant - I didn't really want to play 'Hunt your food'... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matlock, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent three nights at this very comfortable Ghent Hotel. The room was interesting with many original features of the old building. Facilities were excellent and the breakfast was very good with great quality and variety. Our room, a standard, overlooked the river and as such was very quiet. The hotel is just metres away from one of the main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sussex
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Brilliant location in easy walking distance of attractions and trams. Right on the river with wonderful views from some rooms and the breakfast room. Everywhere clean and comfortable. Fantastic choice at buffet breakfast. Reasonable price, very helpful and friendly staff, well stocked bar with daily happy hour - I can recommend the tasting selection of genevres (gins)! We arrived very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wales
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed a great weekend stay in a well situated hotel. Even though our room was on the ground floor off the reception it was perfectly quiet, spotlessly cleaned and very comfortable. TV had English channels. Bathroom was small but contained a superb power shower. Staff were helpful, friendly and quick to please. The greatest memory to take away was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wow. Modern and stylish. On the river. Exceptionally polite staff. The book in the room explains absolutely everything you could wish to ask. Baby sitter. Bike hire. Cash point. Tram. It goes on and on. We had an upgrade from executive room as it was unavailable to a massive triple room. Sauna. Bar open from 7am until 2am. Televisions with... More 

Review collected in partnership with Microsoft Windows App

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Good location, large clean room with bath and shower. Reception staff helpful. Lots of choice in the buffet breakfast. Reasonable price. Ghent is a beautiful city a is easy to get around on foot but for those who went to explore further trams are available. Travelled from London on Eurostar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

As this hotel is in an old building, the insulation is not the best. You have to keep the heater on all day which makes my skin very dry. And the walls in between the room are wafer thin. I could clearly hear what the other couple were talking. The gym was very disappointing. Not one that motivates you to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs P, Thank you for providing your perspective on your recent stay. As a result of your comments we have since done some retraining of staff and upgraded aspects of our building heating control. It is a pity that you did not mention this at reception, because we could have changed you to a warmer room. We do appreciate... More 

Helsinki
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

I was in Belgium for a few days on a quick getaway, and the River Hotel was a nice place to stay. No big complaints really, everything was as I expected it to be for the price I paid. Room was spacious and clean, breakfast pretty good and everything worked. If you travel to/from Ghent on train like I did,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

131 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (108)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question