We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Gent Expo

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Maaltekouter 3, Ghent 9051, Belgium
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    166
    94
    28
    13
See reviews for
60
121
19
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (387)
  • Mar-May only
    (95)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (105)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (106)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (81)
All months
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Easily accessible by car, this hotel is just off the E4 motorway. Once checked in, it's just a couple of hundred yards walk to the tram halt, and then a €3 twenty minute tram ride into the centre of Ghent, which is a very vibrant and historical place indeed. I didn't get to try the restaurant in the hotel as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
East of London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good quality Holiday Inn, once your in the hotel. But its in the middle of the Expo site next to an IKEA. The access means going around a lot of roads in circles, and it worst getting out and back to the E40. Also its not clear unless you click on the parking details on the web site that its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Klystron2, Please let me thank you for taking the time to write down your experiences. Due to road constructions, we are aware of the difficulties reaching our hotel. Though we did already place 7 signs around The Loop to help our guests finding us. I hope you didn’t have too much troubles because of this situation. Happy to read... More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 4 nights on a bed breakfast and evening meal basis while going out visiting various places, Brugge, Brussels and Ghent the latter so easy by just getting on the tram 200 yards from the hotel. You will need a very good sat nav to find it, a very complicated road system to get into the car park... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Max T, Thank you for writing a review about our hotel once back at home. Staying at Holiday Inn Gent Expo is a perfect base to explore all major cities in Belgium i.e. Bruges and Brussels. Of course going into Ghent is extremely easy by using the tram next door. Tickets are always available at reception at the best... More 

Oakland, California
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
44 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would not recommend this hotel unless you need to be at the Expo all day (or at a meeting at the hotel itself, of which there are many). Otherwise it is hugely inconvenient and not worth the trouble. Although the hotel is right next to the freeway, you have to drive around two loops for a total of 5... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Frank E, Please let me thank you for taking the time to describe your recent stay at Holiday Inn Gent Expo. All reviews are taken seriously and thanks to these reviews, it gives us the opportunity to improve when needed. I noticed there were some points which made your experience at our hotel less comfortable. Such as, how we... More 

Epsom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

A typical Holiday Inn. We use these hotels for a few nights' stopover on business trips. This particular one was well situated for our needs - close to the welding school, Flanders Expo and transport, so we chose it for convenience. The room I had was clean, and everything worked ok. Sadly my neighbours were very loud until early hours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear kitty_katt2013, Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Gent Expo and for providing us with your feedback afterwards. As explained in your review, we do benefit from our location being so close to the exhibition centre Flanders Expo, main highways and tram stop. At this moment there are indeed some road works going on to improve the area at ‘The... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

NYC hotel with good connectivity via tram and buses.. I stayed there for 2 nights and enjoyed the hospitality. I only tried the breakfast which was good... WiFi connectivity was also decent and room service was very prompt.

Was this review helpful? Yes
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Ashish S, Please let me thank you for reviewing our hotel after your stay. Next I would like to thank you once more, this time for complimenting us on all these aspects. We do believe all of these aspects are of a big importance to create a comfortable environment to enjoy your time at the hotel to the fullest.... More 

Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Gent Expo as it was conveniently located to Gent and Oudenaarde where we were to watch the Ronde van Vlaanderens cycle race. The hotel is located next to the motorway although there is a slightly complex road layout to reach it which might confuse some. If you arrive by car, you will need to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Jeff_Q1975, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write down your thoughts about our hotel. I am delighted to read the room, breakfast and our staff were making your stay an enjoyable one. During the weekend of the cycling event ‘De Ronde van Vlaanderen’, a lot of visitors choose our hotel because it is indeed... More 

London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015 via mobile

Stayed recently on a stop over on the way to Holland. Hotel is quite nice although very quiet during our weekend stay. Our only problem was hot food not available until 18.30 which didnt work with kids. However was sorted out after a couple of calls. Breakfast was very good and reception team very helpful. We have stayed before and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear LondonEastender, First of all, please let me thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel with us here on Tripadvisor. As we are very close to the motorway, our hotel is perfect for an overnight stop when you are on the road. I am glad the problem you had regarding the lack of hot food was solved pretty... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

The beds and pillows were comfy. Hotel did the trick as it was close to the highway and we were just stopping over from a late night channel crossing. It was slightly tricky to get too as you go around in a spiral to get to it. This hotel could do with a bit of an upgrade as it looks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Misch02, Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor. Your thoughts matter to us and give us a chance to improve our services where needed. Our hotel has a policy to guarantee you a good night of sleep. I am glad to read you find our beds and pillows very comfortable. At each room two different kind... More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

I had never been to Belgium and everyone had told me that Bruges was beautiful. So I decided to book a weekend away for valentines. Being a platinum elite IHG member, I always look for a holiday inn, and this was the nearest, as we were driving, that was fine - about 25 mins from Bruges. We stopped in Bruges... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Stuart_MK, First let me thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay with us and for being a loyal Platinum elite IHG member. How pleased I am to read that you enjoyed Ghent as much as you did visiting Bruges. Bruges is a beautiful city but can be very touristic and very busy during the weekends. Compared to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

117 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities