We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Gent Expo

4.0 of 5 Maaltekouter 3, Ghent 9051, Belgium
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    147
    83
    25
    13
See reviews for
53
109
18
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (349)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (105)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (106)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I did read the comments on the location of the hotel, but I thought since we would be driving with GPS, it would not be too much a big problem, but oh boy, it's probably the most difficult experience of finding a hotel ever! The hotel is located 10km meters outside of the city center of Ghent. On GPS it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Chizheng, Dear IHG Rewards Club member, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and comments about your stay with us. As our main goal is to give our guests an enjoyable stay, I am disappointed to read about the discomforts you had finding us and while staying with us. Although we are ideally situated near the... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Man alive do they make it frustratingly hard to find this hotel! When you come over the bridge from the main dual carriageway you can see the hotel very plainly, but then the fun begins and you enter the spiral of doom! No sign posts for the hotel car park, the sat nav just keeps telling you to turn right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Floristgimp, Dear member of the IHG Rewards Club, Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us at Holiday Inn Gent Expo. We do appreciate your comments relating to the spacious and clean room as well as the warm welcome at reception. Knowing you were very satisfied with your stay is motivating for all staff members. I... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My brother booked this hotel as we are I. Town for the Ghent 6. A worse design it would be hard to imagine as it is in the middle if some sort of road spiral, a little like being in the middle of a maze. It contains some of my pet hates, charging for parking when it is miles from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan P, First of all I would like to thank you to write down this feedback on our hotel. Still it’s disappointing to read some things went wrong during your stay. Please let me take the opportunity to apologize for all the inconvenience this caused you during your stay. We are aware the way to enter the hotel can... More 

Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having decided to forego the Disneyland alternative of Bruges in favour of the more cultured Ghent you would do well to stay at this excellent hotel. The number 1 tram terminus is 5 minutes away so getting into town is very simple. The hotel is very quiet and very well run. Both bar and breakfast are very good; we would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Wew1, Thank you to share your positive experiences with us. How wonderful it is to read your enthusiastic description about the castle named ‘Gravensteen’. This huge touristic attraction is worth paying a visit to since it has a beautiful panorama above Ghent and an interesting museum about torture in the Middle Ages. I am glad you were satisfied with... More 

Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014 via mobile

Great room, nice bath and shower and very clean. Best holiday inn we've stayed in. The staff were excellent and helped us with tram info and we cud even buy our tickets at reception. The stop is 5 minute walk. The only bad point was the parking cost 15 Euros per day. Nice experience though and they even had bbc... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Paul W, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Gent Expo. And please let me congratulate on your originality concerning the title of this review. How great it is to read you were very satisfied during your recent stay with us. The remarks being raised in your comment i.e. the useful information... More 

Portsmouth
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and arrived late to discover after unpacking that the trouser press and a lamp did not work. Eventually provided with an iron and board. I requested that the trouser press be replaced the following day and the light fixed - neither happened. Tried speaking to the manager on check out as to why maintenance had not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Dougalted, Please let me thank you to take the time to share your experiences about Holiday Inn Gent Expo with us. Even though your stay seemed to be pretty disappointing, I am glad you did mention these issues by writing down this review. May I offer you my sincere apologies for what happened during your stay. We find all... More 

UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in July when travelling around Belgium by car, so this was very convenient and we didn't need to worry about parking in the centre of Ghent. The room was very comfortable. The tram stop is a short walk away and seems to run 24 hours a day, which is impressive, coming from a small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Airwaysmotel, Many thanks to share your opinion about Holiday Inn Gent Expo with me and other readers on Tripadvisor. I am glad the room gave you all the comfort needed after travelling through Belgium. I hope you did enjoy both the historic town of Ghent and perhaps other cities in our little country, Belgium. Getting in the city centre... More 

Petach-Tikva
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

I stayed there 3 times, each time for 5 nights. Excellent business hotel, well equipped and very comfortable. king&queen size beds, large rooms, very clean and well maintained. very good buffet breakfast and also very good dinner restaurant. free parking and free WIFI. very quite hotel, warm hospitality. Located in the Gent expo, outside the city, but well connected to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear gilcheled, Thank you so much for your loyalty by staying with us when visiting Ghent. I am delighted to read such praise about all the aspects Holiday Inn Gent Expo offers. And seeing your opinion reflecting in a 5 out of 5 star rating is absolutely amazing, thank you! When staying in a hotel for a couple of nights... More 

London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

As we were visiting Ghent by car, we decided to stay outside of the centre due to the cost and stress of limited parking. Straight off the motorway, the room was clean and although pretty small this was no issue at all for a one night stay, pleasant Staff and under a 5 minute stroll to the tram which takes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear SJB83London, Thank you to choose for Holiday Inn Gent Expo while visiting Ghent. Your opinion is of a big importance to know how guests experience their stay with us. It is great you seemed to enjoy your one night stay here at our hotel due to its quiet environment yet quick transportation to the city centre. While you were... More 

Beit She'an, Israel
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

This was a "one nighter" on a business trip. I arrived in by train from Brussels airport to Gent Station and got a cab. The first issue is that due to a ridiculous 1-way system and motorway flyovers, a 700 meter "as the crow flies" trip from the station to the Hotel took 12 minutes by Cab, and more than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear BJREisman, Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Gent Expo when staying in Ghent, and reviewing our hotel once back home. Although your overall stay was enjoyable, I am disappointed a few things went wrong but thanks to you pointing out these issues we are able to do something about it. Your remarks will definitely be discussed with the Department... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Gent Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gent Expo

Address: Maaltekouter 3, Ghent 9051, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Gent Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Gent Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gent Expo Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ghent
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#8 Family Hotel in Ghent

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay