We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Gent Expo

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Maaltekouter 3, Ghent 9051, Belgium
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

428 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    93
    186
    105
    31
    13
See reviews for
73
137
20
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (428)
  • Mar-May only
    (98)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (143)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (106)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (81)
All months
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff were extremely helpful and professional. The hotel location being out if town meant eating in the restaurant was almost a necessity, though, this being said, the quality of food and service did not disappoint. Ideal location as a stop over on a journey back as we did. We would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The rooms are quite small and children were expected to share a sofa bed. However, the great breakfast and convenient location (easy to access from the motorway and close to a tram stop) compensate for this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here last weekend, not great, have supplied photos, to top things off, the fire alarm went off just after midnight, false alarm, we were told caused by a smoke machine they had been using in function room, staff apology was given, but no refund offered, night sleep ruined as have two young children which it frightened and didn't really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Room was okay, been in nicer and friendlier Holiday Inns (in the UK). Was annoyed at having to pay €10 for 1 nights parking. Would understand if it was a city centre location or a particularly secure looking car park but it was neither. Breakfast was alright, orange juice machine covered me in orange juice splashes which stained my freshly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Ghent hotels

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel, on the way to Denmark. It was easy to find using the hotel map, even in the torrential rain. Reception staff were friendly and helpful, room was good, even had a kettle and tea. Restaurant was welcoming and easy going. Only issue is that the air conditioning wasn't powerful enough, so ended up opening the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
portsmouth
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Even with a sat nav this hotel is difficult to find, looks on the map as just off motorway but then you have a huge area of wasteland with lots of building going on and nothing very clear to get to hotel, we ended up in the Ikea car park. Reception was not particularly welcoming and required an extra charge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay in Holiday Inn Gent Expo. We are not located in the city centre but only 5 minutes walking from the hotel you can find the tram station with a direct line to the centre. As you mentioned, there is not a lot to see... More 

Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We needed a place to stay in Belgium on our way to Amsterdam and this hotel was the best value for the IHG points in all of Belgium. It is a bit isolated - it stands off the highway next to a massive IKEA. It's funny because you can see the hotel but it takes several minutes to get to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us. It pleases me a lot to read about your stay being satisfying. We are well aware that our hotel can be hard to find due to the traffic situation. This is because in the near future, a new parking area and an... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location to the centrum of Gent. Lot of green space around the hotel to play with your pets. Perfect location just next to the highway, as well close to Bruges. Very nice restaurant and profesional hotel staff service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Like2Travelbycar, We value your feedback on your recent stay at Holiday Inn Gent Expo. I am pleased to read about your positive experience and recommendation on our hotel. Thank you for your review. We hope you will visit us again in the future. Kind regards, Thomas Van Parijs, General Manager More 

Hatfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped in Ghent overnight on our way to Brussels. The hotel is ideally located next to a tram station which allowed us to leave our car and explore the city. The room was an excellent size and had all amenities you'd expect. The breakfast in the morning was very good especially the fresh orange juice. Only qualm; EUR 10... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Mr Rameez, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I’m happy to read that you liked the location of the hotel. Indeed the tram stop is only 4 minutes walking from the hotel and takes you in 15 minutes to the city centre. We’re glad that all aspects of your room made... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is quite average and the rooms could do with some modern decoration. The large restaurant is quite well decorated. They charge a lot for parking a car which is strange because it's not close to an airport or anything. It's a nightmare to access by car because you have to go around in circles to get to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malika C, Shiftleader Front Office at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Richard M, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. A big advantage of our hotel is the proximity of the tram stop. This is a great alternative if you want to leave the car on the parking. Despite the fact that this area is not in the city centre, we do charge all guests for parking.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

345 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (295)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (44)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (141)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
2.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
2.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 39 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 stars 1,291 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
2.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay