We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Gent

3.0 of 5 Akkerhage 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gent
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Gent
Holiday Inn Express Gent
Holiday Inn Express Gent
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    107
    75
    17
    5
See reviews for
82
38
8
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (244)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (77)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We are a family and found the room to be huge. Things are excellent. For the same price, the room and its facilities are much better than brands like Novotel. Highly recommended. It would be even better if the restaurant is cheaper - its price is the same as Novotel. Great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brockham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our first stay in Gent. Found the hotel very accessible. Clean and comfortable rooms. Coffee and tea provided but no milk only creamer. Staff were very nice, two we found a bit brash. Asked about the free drinks for the gold elite cards and the older lady in the bar was very short with her answer as she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in this hotel while on business meeting. The location is ideal if you need to be near the UZ Gent or the Expo. It is right next to the highway which offers easy access to nearby cities like Bruges or Antwerp. Rooms were clean and soundproof but maybe just a tad dated. The beds are comfy and very soft... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear Anouck Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It's always interesting to learn from the thoughts of our guests. The location near the E17 and E40 is great indeed if you need to travel in the region of Flanders. Brugge, Brussels and Kortrijk are at only 30 minutes , Antwerp only 40 minutes. May i point... More 

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
96 hotel reviews
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A typical Holiday Inn Express. Location near the motorway. Far from the historic Ghent city centre on an industrial spot. If you need to be at the arena, the University Hospital or when you travel onwards from the Netherlands to France or visa-versa, this could be an ok option. Although there is a bus line from Ghent city centre to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear KeesE, Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. I appreciate your compliments about the convenient hotel location, parking facility and friendly staff. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. It seems that we were not able to execute an outstanding stay with regard... More 

Lviv, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014 via mobile

Clean room but a little bit older, worn public area, average continental breakfast In general - more as acceptable hotel if you are traveling by the car. If you do not have a car - wrong choice for you - as there is no public transport connection in the near neighborhood. Also no supermarket or shop near the hotel -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEX_Gent_manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear guest We know there's lots of hotels to choose from when visiting Gent, so i want to thank you that you have stayed at Holiday Inn Express. I was happy to read that you found the room clean. We have just finished refreshing the entire bar/restaurant area and the lobby is now also on the to-do list. May i... More 

Brockholes, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Despite being difficult to find (our Belgium navigating skills) this hotel welcomed us warmly with a lovely big room, modern and exceptionally clean. We ate in the restaurant that evening due to our late arrival and were very pleasantly surprised about the quality and choice of food on offer. Breakfast was good which a wide choice (although still no porridge).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
crofton nr wakefield w.yorks
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Booked very short notice 1 hr before as I refused to stay where my husband had booked . Little out of the way but easy to leave the car take a bus then tram into town centre . We also took the train to Bruges . Nice clean room nothing to complain about they hadn't made the sofa bed up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Got a room right behind a soft drink dispenser machine that makes a lot of noise when working. Furthermore, what kind of hotel even has such a machine at the room corridor anyways? Breakfast is medium-poor, location is not good for a city visit and the firm/soft pillow thing is ridiculous. Room has a lot of space, but nothing special... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for letting us know where we can better next time. It helps us focus our attention to areas important to yourself and our other guests. I must say that i was surprised to read that the vending machine near your room made noise at night. They operate on a timer because i don't want them to... More 

Vancouver
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Our biggest beef was that it was very difficult to actually find this hotel; our GPS kept taking us to streets that were under construction and therefore had become one way only...we only actually found the place after stopping at a gas bar and asking directions. Once we made it to the hotel, it proved to be just fine and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for talking the time to inform us about your experience with the Holiday Inn Express. We know that there are quite some road works in and around the city. We would therefore advise you to follow directions towards E17 motorway. You'll find us just next to exit 9 H-UZG. In case you do get in trouble... More 

Conception Bay South, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Typical Holiday Inn Express. Clean, comfortable and spacious rooms. A couple of minor complaints. The towels are in need of replacement as they are starting to become very thin. The shower is low flow and I was hesitant to wash my hair in fear I wouldn't be able to get the shampoo out. So don't expect a hot strong shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear Lexie2028 Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We embrace all remarks, positive and negative, as they help us to to find out where we are performing well, and what areas we need to focus on. The restaurant and bar have been completely renewed just weeks ago. Our staff love working in their new facilities, and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gent

Address: Akkerhage 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gent 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gent Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Express Hotel Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay