We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Ghent hotels

Holiday Inn Express Gent

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akkerhage 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Holiday Inn Express Gent
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Gent to your Saves list
64%
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
VancouverLL Vancouver
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    102
    68
    16
    5
See reviews for
78
37
8
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (229)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (70)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Got a room right behind a soft drink dispenser machine that makes a lot of noise when working. Furthermore, what kind of hotel even has such a machine at the room corridor anyways? Breakfast is medium-poor, location is not good for a city visit and the firm/soft pillow thing is ridiculous. Room has a lot of space, but nothing special... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for letting us know where we can better next time. It helps us focus our attention to areas important to yourself and our other guests. I must say that i was surprised to read that the vending machine near your room made noise at night. They operate on a timer because i don't want them to... More

Vancouver
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our biggest beef was that it was very difficult to actually find this hotel; our GPS kept taking us to streets that were under construction and therefore had become one way only...we only actually found the place after stopping at a gas bar and asking directions. Once we made it to the hotel, it proved to be just fine and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for talking the time to inform us about your experience with the Holiday Inn Express. We know that there are quite some road works in and around the city. We would therefore advise you to follow directions towards E17 motorway. You'll find us just next to exit 9 H-UZG. In case you do get in trouble... More

Conception Bay South, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Typical Holiday Inn Express. Clean, comfortable and spacious rooms. A couple of minor complaints. The towels are in need of replacement as they are starting to become very thin. The shower is low flow and I was hesitant to wash my hair in fear I wouldn't be able to get the shampoo out. So don't expect a hot strong shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HIEX_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear Lexie2028 Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We embrace all remarks, positive and negative, as they help us to to find out where we are performing well, and what areas we need to focus on. The restaurant and bar have been completely renewed just weeks ago. Our staff love working in their new facilities, and... More

Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

usual high quality of this hotel chain. Close to the gent city center and very close to the highway. Only negative is that you need to pay 10euro/day for parking : you are obliged to pay as there no free parking close by or you would need to park on the highway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my third time staying at the hotel on a trip through Europe. I use this hotel for ease of access from the motorway, good parking and the good evening food. Platinum loyalty status gave me a free drink for me and my wife and 20% off the meal ( including drink ). The food is well above average... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grimsby
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed for one night on the way past. Very good room large, friendly staff. Restaurant looked good but didn't eat there as arrived late. Did enjoy a welcome drink there. Breakfast has a good range of fresh bakery.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Padova
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
61 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

It has all you need if you are on a short stay. The staff is efficient and well prepared. Rooms are clean and spacious. Bed was fine and had a good sleep. Breakfast could be better even though the fruit salad was fresh !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear Danny M, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and appreciate your compliments regarding... More

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stayed overnight to break a journey. It was clean and the service was polite and professional. Bit far out if the centre for a holiday but ideal for breaking a journey. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as a base to visit Bruges and surrounding areas and we loved Ghent and look forward to returning! A beautiful place to visit. The hotel is easy to find off the motorway and has all you need but I recommend a trip into Ghent. The bus stop is outside the hotel and for 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HIEX_Gent_manager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your positive review. The Holiday Inn Express Gent offers an ideal location indeed to explore the Flanders region. With the E17 and E40 motorways, you can reach Bruges, Antwerp and Brussels within 40 minutes, the North sea coast and the battle fields of WW I within the hour. See you again next time, in Gent?... More

Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights using this hotel as a base to explore the nearby cities as it was only a quick bus ride to the station the hotel is going through a refurb but we had no disruption our room was large and clean breakfast was ok the only gripe was the car park charges of 10euros per... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gent

Address: Akkerhage 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gent 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gent Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Express Hotel Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (55)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (26)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay