We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

NH Gent Belfort

#7 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hoogpoort 63 | City Center, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Special Offer
SUMMER PROMO
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NH Gent Belfort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
NH Gent Belfort
Add Photo Write a Review

1,169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    487
    522
    116
    27
    17
See reviews for
139
544
43
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1169)
  • Mar-May only
    (311)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (326)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (308)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (224)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Wonderful location--very close to tram and town centre. Our room was beautifully decorated (we may have had free upgrade), as was the foyer; it all looked very clean and newly done. Staff very helpful and friendly and breakfast plentiful and excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jdoise, General Manager at NH Gent Belfort, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, in particular our location in the heart of Gent, the friendly staff and the breakfast buffet. We are glad that you enjoyed your upgrade! We shall look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon.... More 

Bloxham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Ideal location to see the key sites in a couple of days & relatively straight forward to drive to/from. Rooms were pleasant & roomy - staff professional and friendly & welcoming. Definitely stay there again

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
jdoise, General Manager at NH Gent Belfort, responded to this review

Dear Phill, Thank you for your review of your stay at the NH Gent Belfort! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, and are pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit and found our location and facilities useful for your needs. It is heartwarming to hear that you liked our staff and that you would stay... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Clean room, excellent location, serviceable staff, good food and drinks, On the downside: At that price and standing the should not charge some or chips put on the table of the room. In many hotels this is the "welcome gesture". second I forgot some minor things in the room when checking out in the morning, still in the hotel (... More 

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
jdoise, General Manager at NH Gent Belfort, responded to this review

Dear Thomas Many thanks for your review of NH Gent Belfort following your recent stay. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us feedback and are pleased to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. I am sorry that you lost some of your belongings. Usually the housekeeping saves the things they find in the room. I... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

From the minute of check-in I was surprised and extremely disappointed that I had to give my credit card as security even though our room was payed for in advance. We are frequent visitors to Ghent over many years and although we have been asked if we would like to give our credit card so that we could add sundries... More 

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
jdoise, General Manager at NH Gent Belfort, responded to this review

Dear Bobnsu, We appreciate you taking the time to share your perspective and we regret we did not meet your expectations on this level. It is indeed our policy to ask for a creditcard or 40 euro deposit. However, we do not just charge you for anything without consent. While checking out we will revise the bill with our guests... More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a wonderful hotel. Well located. Very clean, comfortable room. Friendly and helpful staff. Secure parking. Breakfast was grand, so much to choose from. Held our luggage until we could check in at 3 pm

Was this review helpful? Yes
jdoise, General Manager at NH Gent Belfort, responded to this review

Dear Sue, How wonderful to read your enthousiastic review on Tripadvisor, thank you very much for choosing to stay with NH Gent Belfort. We are glad that you enjoyed the central location, the comfortable room, secure parking and breakfast. Besides it is even greater that you perceived our staff as friendly and helpful. We hope we will have the pleasure... More 

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was excited to stay here because I thought it looked really modern and cool when I booked it. It looks like a hip hotel with fresh decor and great style. However the hotel was not as I expected. Firstly, the check in time was very very slow because the room was not ready when it should have been. If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jdoise, General Manager at NH Gent Belfort, responded to this review

Dear Miura74, While we appreciate the time you took to share your experiences, we regret we did not meet your expectations on every level. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced upon arrival and we thank you for bringing these points to our attention. Usually our guests can check in in the room at 3 o'clock. Still, our... More 

Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As always I will give points on things I find important: - Location: 9/10 It's a great location. It's less then a 5 minute walk to the centre, the Sint-Baafskathedraal, the Belfort, Gravensteen... and about 5 minutes from the nearest Tram-stop. - Room: 9/10 We got a free update to an executive room which was really nice! We also had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jdoise, General Manager at NH Gent Belfort, responded to this review
Google Translation

Beste Lieke, Het is altijd prettig om zulke uitgebreide recenties te lezen, hartelijk dank daarvoor. Als hotel leren wij een... More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On a week's holiday in Belgium touring without any booked hotels. After visiting Waterloo, before the bi-centennial celebrations, we slowly drove back to the Channel. We decided to try Ghent as we normally stay in Bruges, for a change. Arriving later than anticipated we drove into the Centre and discovered this hotel. Good for secure parking, Good for the centre... More 

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
jdoise, General Manager at NH Gent Belfort, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for your kind words about NH Gent Belfort. We were lucky that you found our hotel, indeed in the middle of the historical centre of Gent. We appreciate you mentioning our secure parking and calling us an excellent hotel. Hopefully, we have the oppurtunity of welcoming you... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed with a group of five and had a really nice time in Ghent and loved the hhotel. The only minor dampner were the cocktails in the bar, but other than that all brilliant. Staff was lovely. Rooms were very nice.

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
jdoise, General Manager at NH Gent Belfort, responded to this review

Dear Tine, Thank you very much for your recent stay with NH Gent Belfort. We appreciate your compliments and recommendations. It helps us to improve our services and facilities. I am glad that your enjoyed your stay, liked our staff and the rooms. I am sorry to hear that the cocktails were not to your likings. I will make a... More 

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stay several times a year in Ghent for a couple of nights. This was the first time in NH and I was very pleased with the friendliness and helpfulness of all staff. Wonderful location in the historical center of Ghent, easy on-site parking, wonderful breakfast, and good fitness/sauna facilities. The rooms are nice and larger compared to hotels in... More 

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
jdoise, General Manager at NH Gent Belfort, responded to this review

Dear Steven, First of all thank you very much for allowing us the privilege of hosting you at NH Gent Belfort and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are very happy to know you truly enjoyed your overall experience, especially the large rooms, as well as the parking and fitness facilities and the friendly... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

732 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (267)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (95)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (43)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (74)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (426)
Viewed
Amenities (45)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (109)
Viewed
Standard New Style Room (51)
Viewed
Standard Room (59)
Viewed
Superior Room (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (102)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay