We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Ghent accommodations

Ecohostel Andromeda

Bargiekaai 35, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ecohostel Andromeda to your Saves list
Ecohostel Andromeda
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
91%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014
suanonna82 Milan, Italy
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    11
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
9
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Such a great experience to be in this hostel...the common areas easily let you meet other guests or have a talk with the owners... big showers, always clean...and don't forget to sign the wall of the toilet ;-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The two owners put into practice what they believe: sustainable living. I stayed here for four nights and almost had the place to myself. Very nice dorms, each bed with own light. Great kitchen/communal room for chilling out. Good breakfast. It was freezing outside, but the dorm and kitchen/communal room area were really warm. I had the chance to speak... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Best hostel I have ever stayed! The most welcoming and friendly owners of the hostel! With good knowledge about the city! Ecofriendly! Great breakfast, simple but good, even with fresh fruit! The fact that it is on a boat makes it even cooler, room very clean. Ideal located for the gentse feesten! I will be back next year!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Amazing hostel! It is located on a houseboat, it has a very cozy feel, with colourful rooms and nicely decorated surroundings.The couple makes you feel welcome and will gladly point out great places to eat and let you know about the main events happening there in Ghent. The showers are amazing, beds really solid and comfortable. There is a fridge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at the ecohostel for 3 nights. When you arrive you realise the beautiful location of this hostel on a boat and walking around they have all these notes showing how the whole place is environmentally friendly. The only thing I could fault was that I had to leave! The whole place was clean and well maintained, the whe... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WLG, NZ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Loved everything about it. Rooms were bigger than expected - we often forgot we were on a boat. Best showers ever been in a hostel. Although push button operation was a little annoying, I liked the commitment to conserving water and it was made up for by great pressure and heat. I liked the honesty box and recycled toilet water.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I'm not entirely sure they are happy in their work. From the get go the simplest things were too much effort. Certainly didn't feel welcome in the slightest. The place is clean and tidy enough but the duvets are way to small for an adult. There's only 3 showers which lead to a wait in the mornings. I certainly wouldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
andromeda595, Owner at Ecohostel Andromeda, responded to this review

Hi Patrick, or Paddy if you prefer, well let's say it doesn't make us unhappy you never want to return again, since we threw you out of the hostel! By vomiting all over your bed, and over the person sleeping below you, you didn't only spoil our day, but also your friends bachelor weekend! No wonder you rate Amadeus well,... More

Aartselaar, Belgium
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

this hostel is a really chill-out place in Ghent. Located just outside the city center, the hostel is easily accessible by tram (take line 1) and can be found in a remote and quiet urban area. The hostel itself in on the canal, which not that common but you won't notice anything as there will be no boats passing by.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

So, when my friend and I were in Nice ( France ), we met some girls from Ghent, who said to come to Overpoorte Street, for a huge party. So we did. We had no idea we booked a boat! It was way cooler than I had thought, the people running the hostel were awesome too! It was very clean,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Welcoming environment, friendly hosts, and a ecofriendly environment. We enjoyed all the comforts of home; comfy bed and pillows, and waking up to the sunrise through the porthole! It was easy to hop on the tram down the block to get to all the tourist stuff without staying in the midst of it. Our wonderful host seven indulged us by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Ecohostel Andromeda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecohostel Andromeda

Address: Bargiekaai 35, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Specialty lodging in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know a hostel can make a big difference while travelling, so we try to offer you a place that reflects the spirit of Ghent: somehow different and headstrong, friendly, fun, but most of all relaxed! So hopefully you'll like Ghent as much as we do!!The hostel is located on a boat on a lazy canal just outside town, in walking distance of the historic centre. It's not everyday you can be a pirate, you might as well go for it! And don't forget that land was created to provide a place for boats to visit... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ecohostel Andromeda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecohostel Andromeda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.