We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Ghent accommodations

Ecohostel Andromeda

Bargiekaai 35, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ecohostel Andromeda to your Saves list
Ecohostel Andromeda
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
90%
Ranked #8 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Ghent
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014
Alice T Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
2
12
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We first chose this hostel because it was eco friendly and we were not disappointed! The owners explained us everything they managed to do to respect the environment with pleasure and they even grew plants on the roof! Rooms were clean and colorful which is really nice. The bathrooms were amazing but the kitchen (also used as common room) was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This may be the best hostel I have stayed in. It is just fun to be right on the river, woken up by birds and water splashing (although the occasional motor boat will also wake you up). It is memorable to be on a barge in a canal! The rooms are spacious. That said, I would think twice about staying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
andromeda595, Owner at Ecohostel Andromeda, responded to this review

Sunny weather is not included in the price, sorry! But if it rains you have a tram going to the city centre (which is located 1,2 km from here), nice and dry!! It's too sad to let your stay be ruined by the rain... Happy travelling! More

Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Such a great experience to be in this hostel...the common areas easily let you meet other guests or have a talk with the owners... big showers, always clean...and don't forget to sign the wall of the toilet ;-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The two owners put into practice what they believe: sustainable living. I stayed here for four nights and almost had the place to myself. Very nice dorms, each bed with own light. Great kitchen/communal room for chilling out. Good breakfast. It was freezing outside, but the dorm and kitchen/communal room area were really warm. I had the chance to speak... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Best hostel I have ever stayed! The most welcoming and friendly owners of the hostel! With good knowledge about the city! Ecofriendly! Great breakfast, simple but good, even with fresh fruit! The fact that it is on a boat makes it even cooler, room very clean. Ideal located for the gentse feesten! I will be back next year!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Amazing hostel! It is located on a houseboat, it has a very cozy feel, with colourful rooms and nicely decorated surroundings.The couple makes you feel welcome and will gladly point out great places to eat and let you know about the main events happening there in Ghent. The showers are amazing, beds really solid and comfortable. There is a fridge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at the ecohostel for 3 nights. When you arrive you realise the beautiful location of this hostel on a boat and walking around they have all these notes showing how the whole place is environmentally friendly. The only thing I could fault was that I had to leave! The whole place was clean and well maintained, the whe... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WLG, NZ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Loved everything about it. Rooms were bigger than expected - we often forgot we were on a boat. Best showers ever been in a hostel. Although push button operation was a little annoying, I liked the commitment to conserving water and it was made up for by great pressure and heat. I liked the honesty box and recycled toilet water.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I'm not entirely sure they are happy in their work. From the get go the simplest things were too much effort. Certainly didn't feel welcome in the slightest. The place is clean and tidy enough but the duvets are way to small for an adult. There's only 3 showers which lead to a wait in the mornings. I certainly wouldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
andromeda595, Owner at Ecohostel Andromeda, responded to this review

Hi Patrick, or Paddy if you prefer, well let's say it doesn't make us unhappy you never want to return again, since we threw you out of the hostel! By vomiting all over your bed, and over the person sleeping below you, you didn't only spoil our day, but also your friends bachelor weekend! No wonder you rate Amadeus well,... More

Aartselaar, Belgium
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

this hostel is a really chill-out place in Ghent. Located just outside the city center, the hostel is easily accessible by tram (take line 1) and can be found in a remote and quiet urban area. The hostel itself in on the canal, which not that common but you won't notice anything as there will be no boats passing by.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ecohostel Andromeda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ecohostel Andromeda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecohostel Andromeda

Address: Bargiekaai 35, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ecohostel Andromeda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Ghent with
any amenities