We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Cathedral

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Sint Jacobsnieuwstraat 87, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Hotel Cathedral
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
dany_de-from_bruges Wingene, Belgium
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    15
    33
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
9
41
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (76)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Wingene, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we had booked three rooms in this hotel because our daughter was getting married in ghent. one room was very very spacious in the main building on the first floor; the two others where in the annexe on the first and second floor. these rooms where also spacious with ensuite bathroom. the rooms where spotless. because the rooms are on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Hotel is clean (really important), breakfast is tasty and good variety for a small hotel. I left my ring and one of the house staff found it and returned it to my room, pleasantly surprised. Within short walking distance to center of Ghent......great hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

This is a reasonable hotel with secure parking if you book in in advance and pay when there. The rooms are comfortable with paid for larger rooms. The hotel is central and close to the centre which was our reason for booking it. I think the hotel is for sale. We were greeted and plenty of information was given to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Ghent hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Guernsey, channel Islands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

After reading some of the reviews were a bit worried, need not be, parking is really good in their own garage (book in advance). Lady on reception could not have been more helpful. Room was large size, overlooking side street. The breakfast was one of the best we have had in Europe and we have travelled lots in Europe .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

I stayed here last year and I would stay again, because it ticks most of the boxes of interest to me. There was one irritation though - towels. I was staying for four nights and when I arrived there were 3 towels and 2 footmats. This would have been sufficient for the whole stay. My hand towel was removed the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nottingham
Level Contributor
232 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

We were welcomed by the pleasant manager, who gave advice about sightseeing. The hotel is located just 5-10 minutes walk from most of the visitor attractions and shopping area. The room was a decent size, with good facilities, despite being on a main road the traffic noise did not disturb us very much. Shower was hot and good, heating worked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015 via mobile

Only stayed for one night. Was concerned when got off the bus as the street was busy and not so nice. However, the hotel was warm, friendly and clean. The staff were so so helpful. We had a small issue with a lost /forgotten bag ( husband leaving it on the bus!) and they could not have been more helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Visited this hotel in January 2015 for 1 night. We took a taxi from the main train station which cost 10 euros and took about 10 minutes. We found out later that you can take a tram which is less than 2 euros per person. On arrival we were given advice about where to head to in Ghent and given... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Verry dark place and welcoming Ghent is beautiful and this hotel has the most un helpful arrogant staff I hope it wasn't the owners I met as very rude and obnoxious will never go back utter crap not a helpful bunch of advise hotel just up the road instead never never never never never go HERE

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Awful hotel with very rude staff. Most unhelpful! Empty hotel proves a poor hotel. When we arrived it was in darkness and we were the only ones in hotel and I'm not surprised no one else stays here. Rat seen in corridor of bottom floor which topped it off for us! Ghent is lovely place just a shame our experience... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rudy D, Manager at Hotel Cathedral, responded to this review

First of all you have not even stayed in our hotel. We have never been rude to you. It was you who were not amenable to reason. Moreover, it is my first time in my life that I have met so aggressive people, without any reason. It is regrettable that you have decided to leave the hotel after we made... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay