We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Cathedral

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Sint Jacobsnieuwstraat 87, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Hotel Cathedral
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Valindia_8 Guernsey, channel Islands
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    32
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
8
38
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (68)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a reasonable hotel with secure parking if you book in in advance and pay when there. The rooms are comfortable with paid for larger rooms. The hotel is central and close to the centre which was our reason for booking it. I think the hotel is for sale. We were greeted and plenty of information was given to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guernsey, channel Islands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After reading some of the reviews were a bit worried, need not be, parking is really good in their own garage (book in advance). Lady on reception could not have been more helpful. Room was large size, overlooking side street. The breakfast was one of the best we have had in Europe and we have travelled lots in Europe .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

I stayed here last year and I would stay again, because it ticks most of the boxes of interest to me. There was one irritation though - towels. I was staying for four nights and when I arrived there were 3 towels and 2 footmats. This would have been sufficient for the whole stay. My hand towel was removed the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nottingham
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
54 hotel reviews
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

We were welcomed by the pleasant manager, who gave advice about sightseeing. The hotel is located just 5-10 minutes walk from most of the visitor attractions and shopping area. The room was a decent size, with good facilities, despite being on a main road the traffic noise did not disturb us very much. Shower was hot and good, heating worked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015 via mobile

Only stayed for one night. Was concerned when got off the bus as the street was busy and not so nice. However, the hotel was warm, friendly and clean. The staff were so so helpful. We had a small issue with a lost /forgotten bag ( husband leaving it on the bus!) and they could not have been more helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Visited this hotel in January 2015 for 1 night. We took a taxi from the main train station which cost 10 euros and took about 10 minutes. We found out later that you can take a tram which is less than 2 euros per person. On arrival we were given advice about where to head to in Ghent and given... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Verry dark place and welcoming Ghent is beautiful and this hotel has the most un helpful arrogant staff I hope it wasn't the owners I met as very rude and obnoxious will never go back utter crap not a helpful bunch of advise hotel just up the road instead never never never never never go HERE

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Ghent hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Awful hotel with very rude staff. Most unhelpful! Empty hotel proves a poor hotel. When we arrived it was in darkness and we were the only ones in hotel and I'm not surprised no one else stays here. Rat seen in corridor of bottom floor which topped it off for us! Ghent is lovely place just a shame our experience... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rudy D, Manager at Hotel Cathedral, responded to this review

First of all you have not even stayed in our hotel. We have never been rude to you. It was you who were not amenable to reason. Moreover, it is my first time in my life that I have met so aggressive people, without any reason. It is regrettable that you have decided to leave the hotel after we made... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

An honest review. This hotel for me is all we needed. we stayed here in September 2014 for one night with 3 people. The hotel is located on the outskirts of Ghent within easy walking distance into the main town. The hotel is on a street with a few bars and local shops but it isn't the best street to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingscliff, Australia.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

While located on perhaps the busiest and most uninteresting street in Central Ghent, the location is still pretty good in that it is a short walk to all the attractions of this beautiful ancient town. Given room rates were not that expensive, my wife and I paid for an upgrade. Unfortunately on arrival we didn't receive the room as described... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities