We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Cathedral

#26 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Sint Jacobsnieuwstraat 87, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Hotel Cathedral
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Jo B Adelaide Hills, Australia
Review This Hotel

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    29
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
8
35
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Only stayed for one night. Was concerned when got off the bus as the street was busy and not so nice. However, the hotel was warm, friendly and clean. The staff were so so helpful. We had a small issue with a lost /forgotten bag ( husband leaving it on the bus!) and they could not have been more helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Visited this hotel in January 2015 for 1 night. We took a taxi from the main train station which cost 10 euros and took about 10 minutes. We found out later that you can take a tram which is less than 2 euros per person. On arrival we were given advice about where to head to in Ghent and given... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Verry dark place and welcoming Ghent is beautiful and this hotel has the most un helpful arrogant staff I hope it wasn't the owners I met as very rude and obnoxious will never go back utter crap not a helpful bunch of advise hotel just up the road instead never never never never never go HERE

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Awful hotel with very rude staff. Most unhelpful! Empty hotel proves a poor hotel. When we arrived it was in darkness and we were the only ones in hotel and I'm not surprised no one else stays here. Rat seen in corridor of bottom floor which topped it off for us! Ghent is lovely place just a shame our experience... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rudy D, Manager at Hotel Cathedral, responded to this review

First of all you have not even stayed in our hotel. We have never been rude to you. It was you who were not amenable to reason. Moreover, it is my first time in my life that I have met so aggressive people, without any reason. It is regrettable that you have decided to leave the hotel after we made... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

An honest review. This hotel for me is all we needed. we stayed here in September 2014 for one night with 3 people. The hotel is located on the outskirts of Ghent within easy walking distance into the main town. The hotel is on a street with a few bars and local shops but it isn't the best street to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingscliff, Australia.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

While located on perhaps the busiest and most uninteresting street in Central Ghent, the location is still pretty good in that it is a short walk to all the attractions of this beautiful ancient town. Given room rates were not that expensive, my wife and I paid for an upgrade. Unfortunately on arrival we didn't receive the room as described... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Somerset
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I'm in full agreement with inloveandtravelling's review. A well located hotel, with everything we needed - garage parking a special benefit but as there are only 2 garages booking well in advance is likely to be essential. What I didn't realise when I booked our 2 rooms in mid-March was that the Ghent Festival started the very night we stayed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Postojna
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

All in all I think this hotel for being 'family' owned, could not be better, especially for this prices. When we came to the hotel, we met the owner, who is a nice lady, very helpful and polite. The rooms are much bigger then I expected, the bathroom is big as a room in some other hotels. We reserved a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Not a huge amount wrong with this hotel, but for me at least this a 3 or at a push 4 rated hotel. Well located, helpful staff and a nice breakfast. Huge rooms, let down by some poorly fitted and maintained fixtures and fittings. Note that the stairs to the accommodation are very steep - not a problem for us,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very nice location and good service, but our room was average. Very nice staff helped us make a reservation at an excellent restaurant. Further on she helped us finding the touristic centre and helped and advised us to find a parking spot as theirs was full and we forgot to make a reservation. The Cathedral is a 5 minutes walk,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question