We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Ghent hotels

Hotel Cathedral

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sint Jacobsnieuwstraat 87, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Hotel Cathedral
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cathedral to your Saves list
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
spikeymires London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    28
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
32
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (59)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Visited this hotel in January 2015 for 1 night. We took a taxi from the main train station which cost 10 euros and took about 10 minutes. We found out later that you can take a tram which is less than 2 euros per person. On arrival we were given advice about where to head to in Ghent and given... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Verry dark place and welcoming Ghent is beautiful and this hotel has the most un helpful arrogant staff I hope it wasn't the owners I met as very rude and obnoxious will never go back utter crap not a helpful bunch of advise hotel just up the road instead never never never never never go HERE

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Awful hotel with very rude staff. Most unhelpful! Empty hotel proves a poor hotel. When we arrived it was in darkness and we were the only ones in hotel and I'm not surprised no one else stays here. Rat seen in corridor of bottom floor which topped it off for us! Ghent is lovely place just a shame our experience... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rudy D, Manager at Hotel Cathedral, responded to this review

First of all you have not even stayed in our hotel. We have never been rude to you. It was you who were not amenable to reason. Moreover, it is my first time in my life that I have met so aggressive people, without any reason. It is regrettable that you have decided to leave the hotel after we made... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

An honest review. This hotel for me is all we needed. we stayed here in September 2014 for one night with 3 people. The hotel is located on the outskirts of Ghent within easy walking distance into the main town. The hotel is on a street with a few bars and local shops but it isn't the best street to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingscliff, Australia.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

While located on perhaps the busiest and most uninteresting street in Central Ghent, the location is still pretty good in that it is a short walk to all the attractions of this beautiful ancient town. Given room rates were not that expensive, my wife and I paid for an upgrade. Unfortunately on arrival we didn't receive the room as described... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Somerset
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I'm in full agreement with inloveandtravelling's review. A well located hotel, with everything we needed - garage parking a special benefit but as there are only 2 garages booking well in advance is likely to be essential. What I didn't realise when I booked our 2 rooms in mid-March was that the Ghent Festival started the very night we stayed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Postojna
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

All in all I think this hotel for being 'family' owned, could not be better, especially for this prices. When we came to the hotel, we met the owner, who is a nice lady, very helpful and polite. The rooms are much bigger then I expected, the bathroom is big as a room in some other hotels. We reserved a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Not a huge amount wrong with this hotel, but for me at least this a 3 or at a push 4 rated hotel. Well located, helpful staff and a nice breakfast. Huge rooms, let down by some poorly fitted and maintained fixtures and fittings. Note that the stairs to the accommodation are very steep - not a problem for us,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very nice location and good service, but our room was average. Very nice staff helped us make a reservation at an excellent restaurant. Further on she helped us finding the touristic centre and helped and advised us to find a parking spot as theirs was full and we forgot to make a reservation. The Cathedral is a 5 minutes walk,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed in room number 1 and it was great! A very spacious room, silent, perfect bed, nice shower and really close to the city center. And we didn't pay much, we got a promotional price. Breakfast was awesome! Attention: no elevator.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cathedral

Address: Sint Jacobsnieuwstraat 87, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cathedral 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cathedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay