We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jacques Brel Youth Hostel

Rue de la Sablonniere, 30, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Jacques Brel Youth Hostel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    53
    92
    40
    10
    12
See reviews for
12
30
52
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (207)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in the twin room which included an ensuite shower and toilet and thus didn't have to share with others which was nice. The room was clean and welcoming with the only flaw coming from the showers where the water dripped down from the corners creating a puddle. Think they tried remedying the issue by giving us a towel? Either... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here with group of friends and we booked few rooms. In fairness i never stayed in hostel but it was the good one. Rooms were very clean and tidy. We had a shared bathroom outside but i did not mind at all. If you stay with group of friends i dont think it matters where is your bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
adjbrel, Responsable réception at Jacques Brel Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! :) actually you slept in our only room with the bathroom outside the room but it is a private bathroom only accessible for the people who stay in this room. We are glad to know that you appreciate youth hostels. Have a nice day. Maurine More 

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

Member of Hostelling international, the overall feeling of the hotel was good. The location is good, about the rooms, we stayed in a double private one and the plasticky covered pillow and mattress didn't really feel nice on a hot summer night. No AC but fully openable windows. Doors used chip cards as keys. Internet slow and only accessible on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
adjbrel, Responsable réception at Jacques Brel Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! We understand that when it's hot the plastic slipcover can be a bit annoying but we must keep it because it is more hygienic. We chose to put internet only on the ground floor because we thought it may prevent social interactions to put the wifi in the rooms. But like you a lot of guests are asking for... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

Hostel is a good location, the rooms are clean and spacious with many charging outlets including a USB outlet. Breakfast is free which is great and there are vending machines in the reception. The kitchen is well equipped and the staff are nice. However the bar doesn't have a wide range of alcohol but this is only a minor negative.

Was this review helpful? Yes
adjbrel, Reception at Jacques Brel Youth Hostel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup pour votre commentaire, et nous sommes ravis que vous ayez passé un bon séjour chez nous. En ce... More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
346 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

Booked a 3 person private room and when we arrived we were told there was no charge for our 3 year old son, taking 75 euro off the bill which was great. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room wasn't up to scratch though. Too small, wasn't properly cleaned, and very hot. And the textured walls were just annoying! Dorms may... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

We stayed there in a triple room. It was clean and comfortable, with bathroom in the room. The staff was very nice and helpful, the breakfast was very complete, the location was good - walking distance from most of the attractions and also close to 2 metro stations. I would totally recommend the Free Walking Tour offered by the hostel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

Stayed at this hostel for two nights few days ago and I was rather disappointed. The price was too high for what the hostel had to offer. Despite the fact that we payed almost 60 Euro for a double room (which is the same price you would pay in a 1 or 2 star hotel) the service was below any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
adjbrel, Responsable réception at Jacques Brel Youth Hostel, responded to this review

We are very sad to hear that you had a bad experience in our youth hostel. The wifi is indeed only available on the ground floor but we offer comfortable sofas and desks with plugs. We do our best to make our youth hostel welcoming with music in the hall, a board with places to visit and events in Brussels... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

This hostel was undergoing building works when we stayed. A lot of the rooms were being refurbished & were clean and bright. There is a bit of a backpacker feel about this hostel but while we were there it was quiet & not much seemed to be going on. There is a bar & courtyard to have a few drinks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Went from the 3rd to the 5th of March 2015 for a school trip. -Had to make our own beds -Our shower was ridiculously hot and was actually burning us so we couldn't properly shower. -Internet only worked in the lobby and even then every time you locked your iPhone the internet would disconnect. -Breakfast was basic but they at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
adjbrel, Responsable réception at Jacques Brel Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Taylen, I am sorry if your journey was unpleasant. We try to offer the best service for our guests and with the best prices. In youth hostels you usually have to make your own bed but our maids always put the bed sheets on beds. the breakfast bio in buffet offers bread, jam, ham, choco, cheese, yogurt, 3 kinds... More 

Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

My fiancé and I will never forget the days we spent in Bruxelles and this hostel helped to create those great memories! Great location, front desk team very helpfull+kind+polite+friendly, breakfast was THE best EVER! And the doubleroom was HUGE and clean!!! The Babel Bar was great too! Great and cheap Belgian Beer!!! The bartender Sekoul (dont know how to write... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.3 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sabina
Hotel Sabina
#117 of 196 in Brussels
3.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#59 of 196 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
#14 of 99 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
1.3 mi away
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
#17 of 99 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hello Hostel
Hello Hostel
#1 of 2 in Koekelberg
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay