We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel a la Grande Cloche

#56 of 196 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Pl. Rouppe 10 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

537 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    143
    295
    81
    10
    8
See reviews for
102
204
73
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (537)
  • Mar-May only
    (146)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (149)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (126)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (116)
All months
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The pluses: it is very well located for old Brussels; the rooms - those with bathrooms are ok; it has character; and the breakfast is reasonable for the price. Limited arking is available in the square outside. The negatives: for character - read;'could do with a refurbishment'; air conditioning consists of a fan; rooms at the front can be noisy;... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 6 days in 30 degree plus heat. There was no air conditioning but there was a ceiling fan. Being at the front of the hotel we had windows to the street. Opening the windows during the day was ok for ventilation but couldn't be done at night as there was a cafe opposite the hotel, with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was concerned after reading about some experiences but we had no problems. We had 2 rooms, a triple and a single. The rooms were small but each had a private bathroom. We were on the courtyard side so it was quiet but did not have a good breeze. The small room had an air conditioning unit but the large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harrisonburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have never been so disappointed in a hotel's customer service. My friends and I booked a room at Hotel a la Grande Cloche months in advance and numerous times tried to confirm the reservation and let them know we would be arriving late. We arrived around 11pm and the extremely rude employee informed us that he had given away... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

DO NOT STAY HERE! I have never been so upset and enraged with a hotel! A couple of months ago we booked a room at the Hotel a la Grande Cloche and received confirmation that our room had been booked. We informed the hotel that we would arrive late multiple times and never heard back from them. As soon as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
macr1949, Gérant at Hotel a la Grande Cloche, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I'm sorry you had such a bad experience and I'll have a word with the night receptionist to know what happened exactely. However, you have to understand that if the credit card you have given during your reservation wasn t working and if the city is fully booked, then the receptionist has to resale the room because if... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great hotel, although it was a bit odd having to leave the room to use a shared bathroom. Easy walk to the Mannequin Pis, the town square and a variety of other landmarks and hotels. Fantastic location as many others have mentioned. Very convenient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

I stayed here for 3 days, the location is great (walking distance from the grand place) but i cant say i really enjoyed my stay. Even if the rooms are decent, the hotel itself is pretty old.Wifi is horrible, breakfast buffet is pretty bad and one of the receptionnists is an idiot (u have to speak french to enjoy this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

I am actually regret for NOT staying longer here. This hotel location is great and the price is good at it's standard. I love the fact that all major attractions are just walking distance. So much to explore and we should stay couple more days here. (Girls, please don't walk in high heels as there are uneven Belgium pavements along... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

Stayed the night 29.06.15 travelling back on the Eurostar home 30.07.15. Hotel in very good location near the train station that is why we picked it. Had a good night checked out thats when everything went wrong. Eurostar cancelled no help from eurostar staff just told to go away and rebook via internet to travel home when trains running again.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

If you're traveling through Europe on a budget this is a great finding!!! Excellent location!! Just between two major train stations (Central and Midi) and near all the primary landmarks of Brussels (walking distance). The hotel is super clean and spacious!! We stayed in a room for 5 people, it was a suite with 2 rooms connected by the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

475 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (159)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (34)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (316)
Viewed
Double Room with Private Bathroom (42)
Viewed
Double Room with Shared Facilities (48)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)
Viewed
Twin Room with Private Bathroom (44)
Viewed
Two Bedrooms Apartment with Private Bathroom (81)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.9 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#59 of 196 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 stars 653 reviews
0.7 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
0.8 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#8 of 21 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Berger
Hotel Le Berger
#8 of 17 in Ixelles
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Residence Les Ecrins
The Residence Les Ecrins
#18 of 196 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bedford Hotel & Congress Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay