We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stanhope Hotel

Travelers' Choice award winner
#33 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
GreenLeadersSilver level
9, Rue du Commerce, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Hotel amenities
Stanhope Hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ranked #33 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Jarlen2014 Stavanger, Norway
Add Photo Write a Review

919 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    413
    324
    109
    44
    29
See reviews for
91
422
57
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (919)
  • Mar-May only
    (259)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (259)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (201)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (200)
All months
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is situated close to all attractions in Brussels. We walked to all the interesting places in Brussels and had a perfect stay. The hotel had a garage in the basement where we parked our car. A bit too expensive perhaps, 50 euros x-tra for the car but OK. Very conveniant. We had a very good superior room with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for having taken the time to inform us about your experience in our property and for your lovely feedback. We are pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay and you appreciated our rooms, our breakfast and our facilities. As we are currently working to keep up the high standing of services,... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A pleasant looking property and nice amenities. But the cons are also many. First, the in room service person doesn't pay attention to allergies and requests and also doesn't understand English. Secondly, the housekeeping doesn't provide you with essentials like cotton unless you complain like a thousand times. Thirdly, the bed quality is not good (way too soft) for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for having chosen the Stanhope Hotel for your stay in Brussels and for your detailed feedback. We sincerely regret that you did not have the chance to experience the usual standard of service. We can assure you that all your comments about allergies, your requests & amenities have been forwarded to the... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My girlfriend treated us to a weekend away to Brussels, and we had a very good experience with the Stanhope hotel and staff. She let the staff know it was my birthday, and they kindly gave us a complimentary champagne on arrival. The room was beautifully presented, nice and big, with a very comfortable bed. While there was an issue... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for having taken the time to inform us about your birthday experience in our property and for your lovely feedback. We are pleased to hear your girlfriend & you had a pleasant weekend and you appreciated our room & our services. We can assure you that nice comments like yours are mostly... More 

Kamala1943
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed a weekend in a "club room". Very comfortable clean and well equipped room. Two minutes walk from the Metro. Walking distance to a number of interesting sites. The breakfast was excellent which was included in our deal. Evening meal was really well presented. The room was too warm at night and the air-conditioning was not that effective.

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for having chosen the Stanhope Hotel for your stay in Brussels and for your feedback. As we are currently working to keep up the high standing of services, we can assure you that comment about air-conditioning has been forwarded to the Technical Managers and necessary actions have been taken to avoid reoccurrence... More 

Goshen, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Truly an excellent location in Brussels ... and an easy walk to The Grand Place (also known as Grote Markt) - the central square of Brussels - yet away from all of the hustle and bustle. The rooms ... the lobby ... the bar ... the service ... the location. THIS is the place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We would like to thank you for having chosen the Stanhope Hotel for your stay in Brussels. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and that hotel, our room, our services and our location completely met your expectations. As we are currently working to keep up the high standing of services, we... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

'Is this your first visit with us, sir? Yes I replied. 'We would like offer you an upgrade to a classic suite.' And what a gorgeous, big room! The rate card in the room read €544 per night and €30 for breakfast. I paid €130 all inclusive. Buffet breakfast with full English, fruits and cereals, cold meats and salads, fresh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for having chosen the Stanhope Hotel for your stay in Brussels and for your detailed feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and that staff, our room, our greens features and our breakfast completely met your expectations. As we are currently working to keep up... More 

Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Got a good weekend rate for this hotel which is very handy for the European Parliament area and also only five minute walk from bus stop from airport. Disappointed that the restaurant is closed at weekends. Breakfast only served which was a good buffet spread with plenty of choice. Room was quite small even though we had supposedly received an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for having chosen the Stanhope Hotel for your stay in Brussels and for your feedback. As personalized service is very important for our Hotel, please free to ask during the weekend some recommendation for restaurants in the neighborhood. Our Hotel has a large choice of rooms all in different sizes and accessibilities,... More 

Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Far from the Grand Place, very snooty with rather cold, aloof help at the desk. I would not stay here again as there are much friendlier places closer to the action. The shower was ridiculous and I say this as one who has traveled Europe extensively and is used to small showers. For a woman, there is no way to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We would like to thank you for having chosen the Stanhope Hotel for your stay in Brussels and for your detailed feedback. As we are currently working to keep up the high standing of services, we can assure you that all your comments have been forwarded to the Managers of the concerned departments and necessary actions have been... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well worth a visit if you can get a decent rate at a weekend when the restaurant is closed. Convenient for the European area and shopping but less so for the Grand place etc. Rooms smart and comfortable though not very big. Bbreakfast a vast choice although it would be a good idea if there was advice on how to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for having taken the time to inform us about your experience in our property and for your lovely feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and that staff, our garden, our services and your room completely met your expectations. As we are currently working to... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is actually quite far from the Grand Palace if you intend to walk. Booked it because I thought it was quite close to the Grand Palace and Central Station, but I was wrong. Walking to these places takes about 20-30 minutes. The interiors are fair and services are only passable. Front desk staff's knowledge on tour events are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your detailed feedback. We can assure you that all your comments about public transports have been forwarded to the Managers of the concerned departments and necessary actions have been taken to avoid reoccurrence in the future. We sincerely hope this will not affect your hotel choice whenever returning to Brussels and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

843 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (408)
Viewed
Room/suite (159)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (64)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (49)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
2:11
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (87)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (379)
Viewed
Amenities (80)
Viewed
Business Suite (54)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (44)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (58)
Viewed
Suite (62)
Viewed
The Hotel (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#64 of 195 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 stars 1,818 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Plaza
Hotel Le Plaza
#25 of 195 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Chatelain Hotel
Le Chatelain Hotel
#20 of 195 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#1 of 4 in Etterbeek
4.5 of 5 stars 1,290 reviews
1.3 mi away
Be Manos
Be Manos
#1 of 6 in Anderlecht
4.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#2 of 195 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 stars 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay