We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Theater Hotel

Rue Van Gaver 23, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Theater Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The pictures very cleverly portray a modern boutique hotel and apartments. This is not the case, the rooms are clean and relatively comfortable but they are not properly maintained and the place is actually rather dingy and scruffy. A lot of the furniture and fittings are damaged or broken and have not been repaired or replaced. The hotel is in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nik_John
Theater H, Guest Relations Manager at Theater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nik_John, We would like to thank you for giving us your feedback regarding your stay with us and assure you that we have taken all you have written down into consideration. We would be happy to welcome you again in the near future. Kind Regards Guest Relations More 

Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The only bright side about this hotel are the cheap fares considering where it is placed in the city and that being near a metro station. If you consider visiting Grand Place or any other tourist location you will find out to be very far away. On the Rue van Gaver street the hotel is the only building which is... More 

Helpful?
Thank GeorgeS932013
Theater H, Guest Relations Manager at Theater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GeorgeS932013, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are sorry to hear you had a negative time during your stay with us and want to assure you the appropriate actions will be taken in order to prevent such experience from happening again. Warm Regards, Guest Relations More 

Travelers are raving about these Brussels hotels

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice we place ....smell of paint in the place is always a good sign...loads of whores around the place very friendly but u wonder were their owners are! 10 mins walk from everything so overall dead on !!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Gerald G
Theater H, Guest Relations Manager at Theater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gerald G, Thank you for sharing you review with us. Looking forward to welcome you again as our guest. Warm Regards, Guest Relations More 

Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is very good because it is not far away from town-center. The room was cleaned every morning, and the staff were very nice with us. It is true that around the place there are a lot of prostitution but it is not dangerous and is quite calm.

Helpful?
Thank Sara F
Theater H, Guest Relations Manager at Theater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sara F, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are happy we met your expectations and we look forward to welcome you back. Warm Regards, Guest Relations More 

Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked a flat with two rooms for 4 people. Everything was ok except the dishwasher, some was dirty in the drawer. The rooms are good and comfortable and the WC reasonable. The location is good for access but it is a dangerous neighbourhood with prostitution, drug trafficking and violence right out the door at night. During the day is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ruimvramos
Theater H, Guest Relations Manager at Theater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ruimvramos, Thank you for sharing your recent review with us. Your remarks are taken into consideration and we will do the necessary to prevent such experience from happening again. Looking forward to welcome you back. Warm Regards, Guest Relations More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room was in a separate building to reception. It was clean, and had enough room for the 3 of us. However a few things didn't quite work as expected. The lift was not 100% reliable, and we were on the 5th floor. The safe had been left locked, and after reporting it, and being told that someone would come in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda M
Theater H, Guest Relations Manager at Theater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linda M, Thank you for sharing your recent review with us. We are happy you enjoyed our clean rooms and proximity to the centre. You remarks are taken into consideration and we look forward to welcome you again. Warm Regards, Guest Relations More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

Great location to explore the city from. Very helpful staff. About a ten min walk from the North train station. Close to Xmas markets and seafood quarter. Would recommend to stay here and we will stay again.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank WtgnNz
Theater H, Guest Relations Manager at Theater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WtgnNz, Thank you very much for your nice review. We will be happy to welcome you again as our valued guest. Warm Regards, Guest Relations More 

Galway, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

We had a great stay here. The rooms were large and basic, with very large beds. We had a room facing the road and found it very quiet. Everything was within walking distance and loved the Christmas markets. Check in was quick and easy and found the staff very friendly especially the ones on reception. Now your not going to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clo2001
Theater H, Guest Relations Manager at Theater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clo2001, Thank you for giving us your nice review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with. Looking forward to welcome you back as our valued guest. Warm Regards, Guest Relations More 

Larisa, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

I was given a room in the basement without windows below the ground level! You can find a lot of girls standing in the street around the hotel. The hotel consists of a number of apartments including one in the basement of a nearby building. The wifi was not working.

Helpful?
Thank Theo K
Theater H, Guest Relations Manager at Theater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Theo K, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations and want to assure you your remarks are taken into consideration. Warm Regards, Guest Relations More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

To state the obvious first: yes, there are quite a lot of prostitutes in and around this block/area but we had absolutely no issue with them whatsoever. After reading previous reviews I was prepared for it and they didn't bother us at all. Due to this there is absolutely no reason why I wouldn't stay at this hotel again. Check... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Calli H
Theater H, Guest Relations Manager at Theater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Calli H, Thank you very much for your nice and positive review. We would be honoured to welcome you again on any of your future visits to Brussels. Warm Regards, Guest Relations More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (95)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
Queen Anne Hotel
Queen Anne Hotel
#106 of 197 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 stars 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#68 of 197 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
1.2 mi away
Floris Ustel Midi
Floris Ustel Midi
#2 of 6 in Anderlecht
3.0 of 5 stars 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#53 of 197 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 stars 574 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#10 of 21 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 stars 790 reviews
0.7 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay