We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre

3.0 of 5 Veemarkt 37 C, Mechelen 2800, Belgium
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    64
    37
    12
    7
See reviews for
24
33
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (144)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
33 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is the usual you can expect from a HIEX, however room size was bigger than average. Bathroom was small, but fine. Pillows had the usual problem of HIEX, paper thin ones, not really comfortable. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. Staff was nice. Only complaint was parking, expensive, no elevator access, so you have to carry your lugagge through... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear TPietscher, Many thanks for your detailed overview of our hotel. We have standard 2 pillows per person available - soft and firm - since we introduced this we only had very good feedback - maybe there must be something wrong on that day with the pillows available in your room. Concerning the car Park we have a max. height... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Easy access from Veemarkt. Affordable. A lot of power unit for IT mania. Kindness. Good enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Simple, Smart, Spot on! Thanks for this review. Hopefully next time you will rate us with a 4*. Regards Olivier DE VUYST | General Manager More 

The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Maybe even slightly below average, due to the poor breakfast. Although this seems to fit the concept of the Express-branch of Holiday Inn. The price-quality-ratio was good, because of the affordable rates. We used the public parking facilities, which are nearby and sufficient. The distance from the center could be an issue (10 min walk).

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We offer continental breakfast in our hotel. We stand for Simple, Smart, Spot-On! Our hotel is located in the centre of Mechelen, on the Veemarkt, which is near the Market square. Walking distance is max. 3 minutes, therefore we do not agree that our location could be an issue if you would like to visit the centre. Kind... More 

Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

A new modern hotel with contemporarily styled lounge, bar and dining facilities, to be expected of the Holiday Inn Express proposition. Rooms are clean and functional with comfortable beds. WiFi quality very weak, on this occasion. A well located hotel in the heart of Mechelen City, with bus stop connections to all parts of Mechelen adjacent to the front entrance.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for this nice review. We stand for Simple, Smart, Spot-on and this is exactly what you expressed! Looking forward to see you next time. Olivier DE VUYST | General Manager More 

Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Fortunately we only stayed 1 night. Both the shower and the sink did not work well. Closet space is very limited. The bed was comfortable. There is a continental breakfast, which was okay. I would not stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your quote on the TripAdvisor website. We always do our utmost to make sure guests have a comfortable stay with us. It seems during your stay we did not meet this level due to a maintenance issue, you informed us accordingly and we took immediate action, therefore the next guest staying in this room can... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

First time in a Holiday Inn Express, anywhere. They are renovationg at the moment, new carpets and painting. Well located with underground parking (pay as you go), just off the main square in a pedestrian cobbled area. Helpful reception, but mindfull to ask for a non smoking room if you dont smoke!! Reasonable breakfast and easy access onto main roads... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for this review. The renovtions of that particular floor are finished as I speek. Looking forward in welcoming you next time. Kind regards Olivier DE VUYST | General Manager More 

Essex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

You pretty much know what you're getting with a Holiday Inn Express. This one seems to have been refurbished recently in the bar, reception, dining area. I moved my room during my stay form the 4th floor (smoking room) to the 2nd (non-smoking). Apparently the 2nd floor rooms have also been renovated but I didn't see a massive difference between... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Hello Ms. ninja_fox ! We stand for Simple, Smart, Spot-on! And I feel you enjoyed your stay in that way. Soon we will become a full non-smoking hotel, therefore next time you will stay with us, there will be no need any more to move the room. See you next time in one of our Holiday Inn Express hotels -... More 

Matlock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Had an okay stay here for one night. The parking is good and secure although it is €16 and could do with a lift to get upstairs to the hotel. The wifi isn't very good and we were told our room had bad wifi when we queried it, it's not the best in the reception area either. I must say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear IloveholidaysohIdo, Many thanks for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express Mechelen hotel on TripAdvisor. I will pass on your message to Sarah who whelped you very well during your stay. For the moment we are upgrading our WiFi speed and the connection coverage throughout our building. I am sure, when you next time visit us, you will feel the difference.... More 

Bhopal, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Holiday Inn Express is a medium Budget Hotel, located close to City Centre and well connected. It's recently renovated, and the new look is quite impressive. The rooms are good, well maintained and the staff is courteous. Breakfast could have little more variety and a gym could help the young executives to spend some time on their fitness. A value... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear, Many thanks for your simple and smart review! Other TripAdvisor reader will surely understand what you mean with this description. Looking forward in welcoming you again in our newly renovated hotel. Olivier DE VUYST | General Manager More 

Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

I have stayed in Holiday Inn for business, for one week. It is a very suitable accomodation choice for business purposes stays. It is in the middle of the city center, not even 1 minute walk to the bus station and 10 min. walk to the train station where you can catch the train to Brussels and other big cities.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Vuyst O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for this nice review! Looking forward in Welcoming you again. Olivier DE VUYST | General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre

Address: Veemarkt 37 C, Mechelen 2800, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Mechelen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre Hotel Mechelen
Mechelen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Mechelen

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay