We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Veemarkt 37 C, Mechelen 2800, Belgium
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Mechelen
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Chrisleboss103 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    73
    39
    12
    7
See reviews for
25
34
15
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (159)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The locatation of the hotel ;very nice Room ; a bit small but VERY clean and has all you nee ( even watercooker and coffee/tea) Breakfast was ok Staff was CVERY friendly and helpfull Mechelen is really worth a visit Nice atmosphere beautiful old buildings Relaxed citizens

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is a good quality Holiday Inn Express with no disappointments. Friendly staff with excellent English. Clean room and bathroom, great shower, comfortable bedding and good, free WiFi. The complimentary breakfast selection is especially good and generous if you are traveling on a budget. Within suitcase pulling walk from Mechelen Nekkerspoel train station to save on taxi fares. Mechelen is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

A clean, quiet and modern and well located Holiday Inn Express makes it a good base for visiting to both Antwerp and Brussels. Within a few minutes walk from the character and history of the local Grote Markt and the St Rombouts Cathedral, the bus services some few metres from the front door will get you to and from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your 4* review about our hotel. At Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City-Centre we work to ensure all complaints are treated with the utmost importance. Therefore I will check the UK television channels to make sure they work when you next time visit us. When you next time visit us, and it should not be working,... More 

Weilheim i.OB
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

I arrived late in the night, but this was not a problem as I informed the hotel before. The room was fine and clean, breakfast excellent. I liked the open round stair case around the elevator, which motivated me to not use the elevator and make exercise. Just the price of the parking garage 16 Eur is too high for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Jean-Marie P, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen with the tripadvisor readers ! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the location, the cleanliness of the room, as as well as the variety of the continental breakfast buffet. For your next stay with us, do not hesitate... More 

Tolkamer, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Stayed in this hotel 2 nights for business. The room is a good size. It is standard HIEX and therefore you know what to expect. Good shower with thermostatic tap. Worked well. For the rest the room amenities where ok. There was however a small problem with the heating since it did not really become warm in the room, basically... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Jacob, Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed and positive review on Tripadvisor.com. I am really glad to read that, as a " Top Contributor", you enjoyed the quality of services and our central location in Mechelen. I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to... More 

surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015 via mobile

Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean, reception staff lovely and helpful and secure underground parking was great as we were travelling onwards so had lots of items in car needed kept safe. The breakfast was fantastic there were different hams cheese pate rolls pastries cereal fruit the works!!!! The hotel is literally a two minute walk to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, You make our day, many thanks for this very nice 5 star quotation! Looking forward in welcoming you again. Olivier DE VUYST | General Manager More 

Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
37 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

The hotel is the usual you can expect from a HIEX, however room size was bigger than average. Bathroom was small, but fine. Pillows had the usual problem of HIEX, paper thin ones, not really comfortable. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. Staff was nice. Only complaint was parking, expensive, no elevator access, so you have to carry your lugagge through... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear TPietscher, Many thanks for your detailed overview of our hotel. We have standard 2 pillows per person available - soft and firm - since we introduced this we only had very good feedback - maybe there must be something wrong on that day with the pillows available in your room. Concerning the car Park we have a max. height... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

Easy access from Veemarkt. Affordable. A lot of power unit for IT mania. Kindness. Good enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Simple, Smart, Spot on! Thanks for this review. Hopefully next time you will rate us with a 4*. Regards Olivier DE VUYST | General Manager More 

The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Maybe even slightly below average, due to the poor breakfast. Although this seems to fit the concept of the Express-branch of Holiday Inn. The price-quality-ratio was good, because of the affordable rates. We used the public parking facilities, which are nearby and sufficient. The distance from the center could be an issue (10 min walk).

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We offer continental breakfast in our hotel. We stand for Simple, Smart, Spot-On! Our hotel is located in the centre of Mechelen, on the Veemarkt, which is near the Market square. Walking distance is max. 3 minutes, therefore we do not agree that our location could be an issue if you would like to visit the centre. Kind... More 

Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

A new modern hotel with contemporarily styled lounge, bar and dining facilities, to be expected of the Holiday Inn Express proposition. Rooms are clean and functional with comfortable beds. WiFi quality very weak, on this occasion. A well located hotel in the heart of Mechelen City, with bus stop connections to all parts of Mechelen adjacent to the front entrance.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for this nice review. We stand for Simple, Smart, Spot-on and this is exactly what you expressed! Looking forward to see you next time. Olivier DE VUYST | General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Near Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay