We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Mechelen hotels

Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Veemarkt 37 C, Mechelen 2800, Belgium
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Mechelen
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
LeeB B Belfast, United Kingdom
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    60
    32
    12
    7
See reviews for
22
31
12
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (135)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fortunately we only stayed 1 night. Both the shower and the sink did not work well. Closet space is very limited. The bed was comfortable. There is a continental breakfast, which was okay. I would not stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your quote on the TripAdvisor website. We always do our utmost to make sure guests have a comfortable stay with us. It seems during your stay we did not meet this level due to a maintenance issue, you informed us accordingly and we took immediate action, therefore the next guest staying in this room can... More

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First time in a Holiday Inn Express, anywhere. They are renovationg at the moment, new carpets and painting. Well located with underground parking (pay as you go), just off the main square in a pedestrian cobbled area. Helpful reception, but mindfull to ask for a non smoking room if you dont smoke!! Reasonable breakfast and easy access onto main roads... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for this review. The renovtions of that particular floor are finished as I speek. Looking forward in welcoming you next time. Kind regards Olivier DE VUYST | General Manager More

Essex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You pretty much know what you're getting with a Holiday Inn Express. This one seems to have been refurbished recently in the bar, reception, dining area. I moved my room during my stay form the 4th floor (smoking room) to the 2nd (non-smoking). Apparently the 2nd floor rooms have also been renovated but I didn't see a massive difference between... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Hello Ms. ninja_fox ! We stand for Simple, Smart, Spot-on! And I feel you enjoyed your stay in that way. Soon we will become a full non-smoking hotel, therefore next time you will stay with us, there will be no need any more to move the room. See you next time in one of our Holiday Inn Express hotels -... More

Matlock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had an okay stay here for one night. The parking is good and secure although it is €16 and could do with a lift to get upstairs to the hotel. The wifi isn't very good and we were told our room had bad wifi when we queried it, it's not the best in the reception area either. I must say... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear IloveholidaysohIdo, Many thanks for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express Mechelen hotel on TripAdvisor. I will pass on your message to Sarah who whelped you very well during your stay. For the moment we are upgrading our WiFi speed and the connection coverage throughout our building. I am sure, when you next time visit us, you will feel the difference.... More

Bhopal, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Holiday Inn Express is a medium Budget Hotel, located close to City Centre and well connected. It's recently renovated, and the new look is quite impressive. The rooms are good, well maintained and the staff is courteous. Breakfast could have little more variety and a gym could help the young executives to spend some time on their fitness. A value... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear, Many thanks for your simple and smart review! Other TripAdvisor reader will surely understand what you mean with this description. Looking forward in welcoming you again in our newly renovated hotel. Olivier DE VUYST | General Manager More

Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

I have stayed in Holiday Inn for business, for one week. It is a very suitable accomodation choice for business purposes stays. It is in the middle of the city center, not even 1 minute walk to the bus station and 10 min. walk to the train station where you can catch the train to Brussels and other big cities.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Vuyst O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for this nice review! Looking forward in Welcoming you again. Olivier DE VUYST | General Manager More

Amsterdam
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

This hotel is being refurbished at the moment and is frankly totally unacceptable. Room was dirty due to all the building work going on, also Wi Fi not working. Had to get transferred to a different room. Debris in corridors and filthy stained carpet outside room. Trolleys full of laundry in all communal areas, no bar or lounge, no nothing.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Susan C, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel and the renovations that were ongoing at the time of your stay. We completey understand your feelings that the situation was not ideal for everybody. I am pleased to be able to announce that the renovations of our entire ground floor area are as... More

London, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed here in a group of 11 or so, some booked via the internet, some by phone. None of us were told that the hotel is undergoing major renovation! For your enjoyment the reception area is down a scabby alley, is tiny and whoever is unlucky enough to be managing it also has to deal with phone enquiries too, just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ExpressMechelen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Matt P, Many thanks for expressing us your thoughts about our hotel and the renovations we currently undergo. For the moment we are upgrading our hotel to another level. We fully agree with you that this not ideal for anybody. Everyday we are discussing the level of service we provide to our guest, rest assured that some topics are... More

Paralimni, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

....... all the public rooms are currently being ripped out and refurbished. The place is a building site with an entrance in an alley at the back, staffed by an unfortunate girl who must endure the wrath of unhappy customers. Where was the duty manager, I ask myself? Breakfast is being served in a tent in the kitchen yard, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ExpressMechelen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear MrsSueCyprus, Every comment is a possibility for us to improve the current services we deliver to our guests. Therefore thank you for your critical look to our business. Next to the tent we have an area where you can relax in combination with our free full speed WiFi, coffee and thee, fruit and biscuits troughout the day all for... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre

Address: Veemarkt 37 C, Mechelen 2800, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Mechelen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre Hotel Mechelen
Mechelen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Mechelen

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre