We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Matelote

Haarstraat 11A, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Matelote
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

Hotel Matelote is a wonderful small hotel and does well to look after it's guests. There are only a limited number of rooms and this makes it a bit more intimate than the usual larger hotel chains. The building itself is worth a look as it dates back to the 16th century and has been well renovated. The staff are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nathan V
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

Our rooms were stylish, with minimalist décor yet very comfortable. You step out of the hotel into the heart of the historic city centre, two minutes to the main squares, surrounded by charming streets full of funky shops and cosy bars. This is a great location to enjoy the delights of trendy Antwerp.

Helpful?
Thank Guy R
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here only one night but it was very nice. We had the top floor and a bathroom to die for. Staff was helpful in making dinner reservations where the locals eat in the trendy south Antwerp. I'd go back in a heart beat! We were right in the heart of the historic city center and just north of their... More 

Helpful?
Thank tsgibble
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015

This hotel has an amazing location, it's walking distance to absolutely everything in Antwerp, with the main square at its doorstep. Our room was a gorgeous, boho style loft with a huge bathroom, overlooking the rooftops of Antwerp. However, unfortunately, myself and my partner left the hotel covered in bug bites after a 2 day stay. We're not sure if... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica G
Michaëlle E, Front Office Manager at Hotel Matelote, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Geleng, Thank for your review! We saw that your partner, Mr. Gearoid also brought up this matter! We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced! Although we checked the bed, the mattresses and the sheets and we couldn’t find anything. In the past we never experienced any problems and until now we didn’t have any complaints... More 

Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015

The Matelote is located in the old city centre, which is very comfortable if you want to explore the city. Nevertheless, walking from/to the main station takes you 15 minutes. Nice architectural approach to combine old houses with good new design. The rooms were clean, however some dark and deteriorating spots in the shower (not alarming yet). The TV set... More 

Helpful?
Thank mike s
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

We stayed in room 5. This entailed climbing 3 flights of stairs as there is no lift. The room itself was lovely, nestled in amongst the rooftops of Antwerp. Unfortunately, we both had insect bites the next day. Initially, we put it down to sleeping with the window open but after checking out of the hotel, we both discovered more... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gearoid M
Michaëlle E, Front Office Manager at Hotel Matelote, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Gearoid, We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced! Although we checked the bed, the mattresses and the sheets and we couldn’t find anything. In the past we never experienced any problems and until now we didn’t have any complaints about it. Actually it’s the first time we hear about the problem. Nevertheless we would like... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in room 5, straight under the roof of the building. Room 5 is a giant room, bathroom faces the street-side and the bedroom is at the back. This is great because at least you will not wake up at the sound of garbage-men. You will wake by the sound of the churchbells but that makes for the whole... More 

Helpful?
Thank FlrB
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015 via mobile

Just 2minutes to the Grote market and Cathedral and surrounded by lots of restaurants and bars, this hotel is perfect for a short city break. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we were able to check in early which was nice and let us have breakfast this morning even though we were half an hour late for it. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicola81677
milano
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

we loved this hotel!!! the gave us a very beautiful room with an astonishing view on the roof tops of antwerpen, very cool in everything. the stuff was super kind. perfect area, near all the most important thing to see and do in town!

Helpful?
Thank MilanoFrd
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015 via mobile

A real treat of a hotel and so central - it ticked all of our boxes and some. Lovely friendly greeting, super room, very comfortable bed and the whole of Antwerp on your doorstep. Yes the stairs are a little steep (didn't bother us) but it is an authentic old building. Surrounded by coffee shops, bars and restaurants - and... More 

Helpful?
Thank John Q
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#2 of 76 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
1.0 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 76 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SLH De Witte Lelie Antwerp
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
1.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay