We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 69 The Hague hotels

Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gevers Deynootplein 30 | 2586 CK Scheveningen/Den Haag, 2586 CK The Hague, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel to your Saves list
Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
71%
Ranked #24 of 69 hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Philip M Hilton Head, South Carolina
  • Overview
  • Reviews (403)
  • Photos (151)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (43)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    117
    68
    34
    21
See reviews for
47
184
26
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife grew up a couple of blocks from this hotel which she remembered as a grand classic with great beach location. Unfortunately, over the years, many other structures have sprung up all around the Kurhaus including McDonalds and other fast food places, various casinos and shopping malls which kinda dampens the grand classic appearance of it all. What's more,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Utrecht
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It started at check in. We arrived at 15:00 hours, the advised check-in time. We had to wait for at least 15 minutes before being helped. It seemed that personnel was quite unhandy with the system (was it their first day?). I was with my 81 year old mother who has to take a nap every afternoon, so the timing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kurhausscheveningen, Hotel Manager at Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We have contacted you via a message to your private address and hope to have handled this complaint to your satisfaction. Yours sincerely, Samantha S. Fulton Hotel Manager More

Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Just spent 3 days in the Kurhaus Hotel. Majestic building with excellent location right on the beach front with all the handy bars and restaurants. Very comfortable room with all expected facilities and free wi-fi. Great breakfast in the amazing Kurzaal Restaurant, an experience worth having. Comfortable sitting, bar and eating areas overlooking the North Sea. We had one dinner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kurhausscheveningen, Hotel Manager at Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention and what a shame to read that your dinner was not fully ot your satisfaction. We want to offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Please contact our Executive Office via executiveoffice@kurhaus.nl when you are planning to visit the Kurhaus Hotel in the near future and... More

Mackenbach, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Enjoyed the hotel. Centrally located and close to restaurants. You can easily walk to all kinds of restaurants from there. The rooms are nice and the wi-fi works well. Breakfast is good. Only drawback is that you have to pay for parking. Otherwise no complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kurhausscheveningen, Hotel Manager at Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel next time. Yours sincerely, Samantha S. Fulton Hotel Manager More

Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our room had a view of the North Sea, but also the bass sounds from a disco located at the base of the hotel on the boardwalk. The staff was vary friendly and efficient, the beds comfortable but the wifi was poor and slow. Dinner, wine and service were all very good in the restaurant. Great breakfast - almost worth... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kurhausscheveningen, Hotel Manager at Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for leaving you comment on Tripadvisor and what a shame to read that you have experienced noise from the outside restaurants and Bars. It is a shame that you have not contacted us during your stay, we would have been happy to give you a room move to an more quite room. Yours sincerely,... More

Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
85 hotel reviews
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed here (sadly) for just one night for a conference, arriving very early in the morning. Not a problem, the room was ready, allowing me to shower, change relax and do some work during the day. Room was very well appointed, great bathroom, and the hotel itself is in great condition. Valet parking outside, which was perfect, and it couldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kurhausscheveningen, Hotel Manager at Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are pleased to read that your stay in the Steigenberger Kurhaus hotel was to your satisfaction. We hope to welcome you in the hotel again in the near future! Yours sincerely, Samantha S. Fulton Hotel Manager More

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I had to wait a few weeks to reflect on my review for this supposedly 5* hotel. The actually experience of staying at the Kurhaus bears little resemblance to the 'values' promoted on the hotel website, and we have now stayed in numerous less prestigious, and cheaper hotels, in The Netherlands that are better and more efficiently managed. I suggest... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kurhausscheveningen, Hotel Manager at Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention and what a shame to read that the experience you have had with our hotel was unpleasant. We want to offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and to you. Please contact our Executive Office via executiveoffice@kurhaus.nl when you are planning to visit the Kurhaus Hotel... More

ipswich
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
149 hotel reviews
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

What an amazing building. The façade is impressive and the inside even better. We had booked an executive room which I was surprised to find quite small, it didn't feel like an executive room. We did have a view of the sea but not a great one. Comfortable bed. As part of this deal we had free access to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kurhausscheveningen, Hotel Manager at Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay in the Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel! We hope to welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely, Samantha S. Fulton Hotel Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I don't know, maybe I am turning into a fussy old git? Maybe I have been too spoilt by staying in too many good hotels? Maybe my car breaking down in downtown, dope-infested Amsters blackened my mood for the stay? Maybe my expectations were too high? First and foremost, the Kurhaus is not a five-star hotel. It is, at best,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kurhausscheveningen, Hotel Manager at Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. This feedback helps us to improve our service. We offer you our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay in the Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel. Please be as kind to contact our Executive Office via executiveoffice@kurhaus.nl when making your next reservation and we will make sure your next stay will... More

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

The hotel is located at the perfect spot on Scheveningen. The building is quite glorious and has great views of the beach. The weather was perfect when we visited, which certainly helped. Would definitely revisit, and recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kurhausscheveningen, Hotel Manager at Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for this prefect score. We hope to welcome you back in the hotel in the near future! Yours sincerely, Samantha S. Fulton Hotel Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel

Address: Gevers Deynootplein 30 | 2586 CK Scheveningen/Den Haag, 2586 CK The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Kurhaus The Hague
Hotel Steigenberger Kurhaus

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (128)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in The Hague with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#10 Business Hotel in The Hague #15 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
History, tradition, luxury and excellent personal service form the perfect combination for a stay at the Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel. This luxury five-star hotel located directly on the North Sea is the ideal place to enjoy Scheveningen, the sea, the beach and the 'Royal' city of The Hague. The Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel offers a selection of 253 elegant accomodations. On entering this former bathhouse, you immediately find yourself in a charming oasis of soothing shades of colour and spacious hallways with sparkling full-sized mirrors. The natural warm colours exude an inviting atmosphere. The magnificent Kurzaal is the showpiece of the Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel and evokes nostalgic images of a glogious past. Enjoy a decadent breakfast, relaxing lunch, extensive high tea, delicious Sunday brunch or romantic dinner for two beneath the famous glass Kurhaus Dome. The Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel is one of the most experienced conference hotels in The Hague and boasts an impressive portfolio of clients. Whatever your event, the Kurhaus can make it happen! The usage of the WLAN is free of charge. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
253

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Steigenberger Kurhaus Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer