We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Ocean Paradise

Parkhaven 21, 3016 GM Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Ocean Paradise
Management photosView all
Browse nearby
New Ocean Paradise
New Ocean Paradise
New Ocean Paradise
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    0
    4
    0
    3
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
7
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (15)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

The location of this floating hotel is great, central, but without the noise. However, what appears to be a charming, Chinese bed for the night is actually a very old, unloved hotel in desperate need of investment. Our bed was big but harder than the frozen canals in winter. I would have been more comfortable on the floor but that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

My family and I only had a day to visit the city but many things went wrong right after we arrived. Exhausted and unprepared, we were trudging along in low spirits when we came upon New Ocean hotel and restaurant (under the same business), and went in to try our luck. Without a word, the desk manager and owner of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ruud E, General Manager at New Ocean Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Rachel and Ruby, We are very happy to receive a review such as yours. We try to help all of our guests with whatever they need, it is really motivating to see a satisfied guest like you! It is a shame that you didn't stay with us to get the full hospitality treatment. However, you are more than welcome... More 

Bari, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Average food and service. I really disliked having seen some chairs with pigeons' excrements. It is outside, but it's their duty keeping the place clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ruud E, General Manager at New Ocean Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Ciub, I want to thank you for the time you took to give us feedback. My name is Ruud Essenberg and I am the director of New Ocean Paradise. You are absolutely right when you say that pigeon excrements need to be cleaned, even outside. However our hotel has been a target for pigeons, seagulls and even little sparrows... More 

Travelers are raving about these Rotterdam hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

this is possibly the worst hotel i'v ever stayed in. it was dirty and grim. we stayed for 2 nights in a double room. the duvet was only a single stretch over a double bed. the kettle in the room was crusty with limescale to the point we didn't want to use it. we also had a COCKROACH in our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ruud E, General Manager at New Ocean Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Rachel N, Thank you for your honest feedback. We strive to provide a memorable experience. Obviously we want it to be a positive one, certainly not the experience you have had with us. I apologise for the appalling state of the room you have stayed in. We get regular inspections by instances that know how to deal with bugs,... More 

london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Booked into this hotel by my company.Reasonable well positioned on a dock adjacent to a park and very close to the Euromast. Sadly that’s all the positive points I could find. No free car park some 4 euros a hour to park outside.The hotel occupies the second floor along with a Chinese restaurant..The ground floor being a Chinese supermarket and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Ruud E, General Manager at New Ocean Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Woldseeer, Thank you kindly for your honest feedback. 2 years after you have stayed with us we have undertaken a lot of changes for the better of the hotel. Car parking: Free after 18:00 – 9:00, otherwise it is € 3,33 per hour. Asian food odour: This is still correct however it is only in the common areas such... More 

Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 days in June 2012. All in all this hotel provides the service for the money, except there were a number of annoyances which made my staying quite disappointing. The hotel is located right above the Chinese restaurant, and the cooking smell was all over the place, apparently the kitchen extractor was broken. At... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

just had a couple of days at hotel enjoyed every minute of it,the room was clean and toileties were good (aloe vera)in the bathroom.jasmine tea for making tea facilities ,silk duvets were very cosy .please remember this is a 3* hotel not 4or 5 and the cost and facilities reflect this ,the staff were very pleasant although the language barrier... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ruud E, General Manager at New Ocean Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Jane S, Thank you for your positive review, very nice to read that you’ve had a pleasant stay with us. It seems to me that you knew exactly what to expect from a Chinese hotel. We hope to see you again soon, you are more than welcome. Kind regards, More 

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

The hotel, and the rooms were disgusting - I have never stayed in worse accomodation in all my life!! This is a place homeless people stay!! Who ever gave this hotel 3 stars was crazy, it's not even worth half a star..... No internet & there is not even a outside phone line available.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ruud E, General Manager at New Ocean Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Craigsean, Thank you for your honest feedback. Sadly we cannot satisfy all of our guests and in this case this holds very much true. Perhaps something positive to conclude, we do have free wifi nowadays…. Kind regards, More 

YORK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

We chose it because of the wonderful location and its novelty. It was easy to find and exotic, with a Chinese supermarket on the ground floor and two huge restaurants. The public areas were dirty, the staff charming. Our room was clean with immaculate white cotton bedding, but it smelled strongly of cigarette smoke and the smoke alarm was covered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ruud E, General Manager at New Ocean Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Layobserver, Very nice to read that you found it a memorable experience. We are indeed somewhat different than other hotels. Especially now, with an all you can eat/drink restaurant, Asian supermarket and large Chinese specialty restaurant. We are out to give you a near Chinese experience in Europe. You’ve seen the good, the bad and the ugly. Very similar... More 

Bonnie Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

The hotel, and the rooms were disgusting, it states that the rooms get cleaned every day - absolutely rubbish - I have never stayed in worse accomodation in all my life!! the Dutch older guy on reception was quite helpful and they ordered us a taxi - that is the only thing potitive I can say about this place. You... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ruud E, General Manager at New Ocean Paradise, responded to this review

Dear Coatsie, I am happy to read that you enjoyed my presence, sadly that I was the only positive point in your stay. I apologise for the state of our rooms, even when reading back upon the review it is cringe worthy. We are planning a major renovation to deal with the cleanliness issue once and for all. Kind regards, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
nhow Rotterdam
#8 of 54 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 489 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 54 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
SS Rotterdam
#11 of 54 in Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#7 of 54 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Suite Hotel Pincoffs
#1 of 54 in Rotterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#6 of 54 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay