We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel New York

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Hotel New York
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Robin B London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    165
    24
    10
    1
See reviews for
56
190
12
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (441)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (103)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (123)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (123)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Despite being surrounded by new office blocks this building retains much of its original character - you can almost imagine the crowds thronging the quay awaiting embarkation to the new world, or visiting the offices to book their passage. Inside, the rooms are all individually furnished to a high standard. The bar and restaurant were very popular. Breakfast was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you, indeed, still can feel the nostalgic atmosphere of our Holland Amercia Line history. We are looking forward to see you sometime in the future and we will be happy to check you in at our brand new... More 

Steinhagen, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Sitting in one of the rooms on the second floor looking down on the water as the afternoon leaves and it gets dark: beautifull sight! Afterwards just going downstairs and having an excellent dinner. So well prepared next day after a great breakfast walking to the city of Rotterdam - crossing Erasmus bridge - good starting point for sightseeing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review. So good to hear that you enjoyed the view over the water and that you had a good dinner. We hope to see you again sometime! More 

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel New York, with its lovely restaurant (Fishplateau!) in former times was the headoffice of the Holland America Line. Everyone who likes original places specially along the river Maas Visited this place. The rooms are all differently decorated and kept their old harbour performance. Coming in the hotel their are the old suitcases and luggage. Looking out of the windows... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your nice review. I'm pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay in Rotterdam and at Hotel New York. Hopefully till next time! More 

San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The atmosphere of Hotel New York is breathtaking. Excellent staff, friendly without overdoing it. The room was a delight, the food in the restaurant though a little above average. We will certainly come back. Did you know taxi's in Rotterdam are rather cheap because of fixed mileage prices? Enjoy your stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and the service of our staff. We are looking forward to see you in the future again! More 

Veere, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

hotel New York is a great, stylish, modern, old, 'hot' , authentic, original, arty, historic, ecc. place to stay one or more nights in the midst of the old Rotterdam harbourneighbourhood, loads of atmosphere, feelings of times long gone by when the Dutch emigrated to the united states. just coming there for the unique atmosphere and have a drink or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear that the food was not what you expected it to be. That has nothing to do with 4 or 5 stars, the food just needs to be good! Ofcourse I am happy to hear that you liked the rest of your stay in our hotel. Do we see... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Once stayed in this hotel you want to come back! lean back atmosphere, unique and luxurious are terms which apply. Only disadvantage is the lack of bathtubs, its all about (great) showers in the rooms. The best bedlinen ever, which you can also buy in the shop and online.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and your kind words. We are looking forward welcoming you again in the near future as our guest! More 

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Hotel and the room was lovely and roomy staff are very friendly but unfortunately it was quite a noisy hotel. If your there on business and need a good nights sleep It my be worth asking for a quieter part of the hotel (away from the lifts). If you have booked a taxi to the airport make sure it's been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I'm sorry to read that our staff forgot to arrange the taxi for you, my sincere appologies for that. Hotel New York is situated in a very old building, that is the reason why some rooms are a little bit noisy. However this normally does not cause any complaints. I hope we can... More 

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Our son got married here and lots of friends decided to stay the night! EVERYBODY was very happily surprised by the setting, friendly staff, the casual luxury ,the atmosphere .GO ROTTERDAM GO HOTEL NEW YORK. !

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we can welcome you again very soon as a guest in our Hotel. More 

Aachen, Germany
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

I've been staying in Hotel New York for the first time beginning of the years 2000 when it was still "new" and there really weren't any skyscrapers around it (really hard to imagine this, btw). I keep returning, usually for a weekend trip with my wife. The hotel managed to conserve it's charme over the years, despite the quite modern... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you very much for kind words. We hope to welcome you again as our guest for your next trip to Rotterdam ! More 

Barnes
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

It was a bad choice, but I stayed in Amsterdam until late. By the time I made it to the hotel the bar was closed and the hotel quiet. My room was still an experience, looking out at the cold waters of the port in Jan. Morning brought an adventure, a run on the wharfs and quays with a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words ! It means a lot to us that you have chosen HNY above other hotels in Amsterdam. Hope that your visits to our restaurant, bar and hotel will be all as great an good as your review. Thank you very much and hopefully we can welcome you back soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New York

Address: Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Hotel
New York Rotterdam
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rotterdam
#3 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#5 Green Hotel in Rotterdam

127 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (119)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay