We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel New York

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Koninginnenhoofd 1, 3072 AD Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Hotel New York
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Nanneke C
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    173
    24
    10
    1
See reviews for
59
199
13
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (459)
  • Mar-May only
    (110)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (103)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (123)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (123)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A night in the "directie suite" room 101 for a special occasion was a luxury I wouldn't have wanted to miss. The room is gorgeous, hygiene top notch, the views from the huge bathtub is sublime and the bed is almost too wonderful! You just dont want to leave it! The service and attentiveness from all staff is exactly what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

First of all congratulations on your wedding! It is nice to read that you have enjoyed your honeymoon in Hotel New York. Our board room suites indeed have a spectacular view over the river and Rotterdam from the bathtub... We are looking forward welcoming you again as our guest! rdusseldorp@hotelnewyork.nl More 

Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In a hypermodern city like Rotterdam, it is always good to come back to HNY for a good dose of nostalgia and quirkiness. I love the location right by the Maas, hanging out in the restaurant and sleeping on the truly fabulous Treca beds. It's just too bad I don't make it to Rotterdam more often.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy that you enjoyed the atmosphere of Hotel New York. Indeed, we are proud of our beds ... thank you for the compliments. We hope to welcome you again in the near future as our hotelguest ! rdusseldorp@hotelnewyork.nl More 

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a brilliant stay at this very special hotel that seems to come straight out of the Grand Budapest Hotel movie, just with a more water-related theme. The hotel even had private water taxis to take you to the city centre for 3,60 euros. Rooms ship-shape, great atmosphere, good food - highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your compliment. How nice to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere in our hotel and that you liked the watertaxi and hotelrooms. Do we see you some other time in the future? More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Despite being surrounded by new office blocks this building retains much of its original character - you can almost imagine the crowds thronging the quay awaiting embarkation to the new world, or visiting the offices to book their passage. Inside, the rooms are all individually furnished to a high standard. The bar and restaurant were very popular. Breakfast was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you, indeed, still can feel the nostalgic atmosphere of our Holland Amercia Line history. We are looking forward to see you sometime in the future and we will be happy to check you in at our brand new... More 

Steinhagen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sitting in one of the rooms on the second floor looking down on the water as the afternoon leaves and it gets dark: beautifull sight! Afterwards just going downstairs and having an excellent dinner. So well prepared next day after a great breakfast walking to the city of Rotterdam - crossing Erasmus bridge - good starting point for sightseeing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review. So good to hear that you enjoyed the view over the water and that you had a good dinner. We hope to see you again sometime! More 

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Hotel New York, with its lovely restaurant (Fishplateau!) in former times was the headoffice of the Holland America Line. Everyone who likes original places specially along the river Maas Visited this place. The rooms are all differently decorated and kept their old harbour performance. Coming in the hotel their are the old suitcases and luggage. Looking out of the windows... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your nice review. I'm pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay in Rotterdam and at Hotel New York. Hopefully till next time! More 

San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

The atmosphere of Hotel New York is breathtaking. Excellent staff, friendly without overdoing it. The room was a delight, the food in the restaurant though a little above average. We will certainly come back. Did you know taxi's in Rotterdam are rather cheap because of fixed mileage prices? Enjoy your stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and the service of our staff. We are looking forward to see you in the future again! More 

Veere, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

hotel New York is a great, stylish, modern, old, 'hot' , authentic, original, arty, historic, ecc. place to stay one or more nights in the midst of the old Rotterdam harbourneighbourhood, loads of atmosphere, feelings of times long gone by when the Dutch emigrated to the united states. just coming there for the unique atmosphere and have a drink or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear that the food was not what you expected it to be. That has nothing to do with 4 or 5 stars, the food just needs to be good! Ofcourse I am happy to hear that you liked the rest of your stay in our hotel. Do we see... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Once stayed in this hotel you want to come back! lean back atmosphere, unique and luxurious are terms which apply. Only disadvantage is the lack of bathtubs, its all about (great) showers in the rooms. The best bedlinen ever, which you can also buy in the shop and online.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and your kind words. We are looking forward welcoming you again in the near future as our guest! More 

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Hotel and the room was lovely and roomy staff are very friendly but unfortunately it was quite a noisy hotel. If your there on business and need a good nights sleep It my be worth asking for a quieter part of the hotel (away from the lifts). If you have booked a taxi to the airport make sure it's been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RoelDusseldorp, General Manager at Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I'm sorry to read that our staff forgot to arrange the taxi for you, my sincere appologies for that. Hotel New York is situated in a very old building, that is the reason why some rooms are a little bit noisy. However this normally does not cause any complaints. I hope we can... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

128 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (120)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question