We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Leiden

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Haagse Schouwweg 10, 2332 KG Leiden, The Netherlands
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Leiden
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Leiden
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    126
    61
    21
    8
See reviews for
138
45
18
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (320)
  • Mar-May only
    (81)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (99)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
87 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

It is a nice big familiar hotel, but the rooms in the inside too noisy, specially at weekend with all the kids arriving, shouting and running. The breakfast very good. The shuttle to and from Central Leiden with very few runs, and only in weekdays. This was not nice. However public transportation conveniently stops at the hotel (bus 43, 30... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pedro008, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feed back. Families prefer rooms on the interior side of the hotel, rooms on the exterior side are somewhat more quiet. The shuttle bus runs during rush hours on weekdays, the local bus runs frequently and stops conveniently right in front of the hotel. Good to hear you enjoyed our very extensive breakfast buffet.... More 

munich
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

The hotel architecture is an American motel configuration. You park you car directly in front of you room door. The rooms on the 1 and 2nd floors are reached via a gallery running outside the building. Permanently other guests or housekeeping staff are passing in front of your door and window. This actually requires to have The curtains closed for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pedro008, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feed back. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. Your comments have our attention and we'll do our utmost to eliminate the problems. Again, our apologies. Kindest regards, The Holiday Inn Leiden Team More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

We have stayed at the Holiday Inn in Leiden so many times over the years. The food here is amazing! If you visit during the Lobster Festival, you will be absolutely spoilt in their fabulous buffet. Even outside of the lobster season, the food is outstanding - breakfast and dinner are both set out as a buffet and the range... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
pedro008, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for this review! We're glad you always enjoy your stay with us and let us know with so many very kind words. Indeed, we are just ourside the city of Leiden, one can take the local bus, stops right in front of the hotel, by car or bike it takes no more than 5-10... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Very good hotel .close to city centre of leiden.rooms are very comfortable.tho location of the hotel is quite area.Restaurant of hotel is so good and bar is fantastic for having rest The breakfast is fab. Overall ı can recomend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
pedro008, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this review

Dear guest, Nice review, thank you very much. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we'll inform all staff of your kind and positieve words. If you're visiting Leiden again, please come and see us, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards, The Holiday Inn Leiden Team More 

Voorschoten, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

I didn't sleep over in this hotel, but went to the Garden Restaurant in the hotel for Thanksgiving Dinner. While dishing up at the buffet, my handbag was stolen from under my table. There was clearly not enough staff walking around, as we also had to wait for 5 minutes upon arrival before being escorted to our table. An expensive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pedro008, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this review
Google Translation

Geachte mevrouw Van Dam, Bedankt voor uw feed back. Heel vervelend dat u bij aankomst in ons Garden restaurant, tijdens... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

Me and my family (2 adults and 2 children) had a excellent experience at this hotel. Upon arrival, the check in runned very well with the employees explaining all the procedures related to the hotel and at the end there was even a surprise to the children: they had the chance to make themselves her own check-in and offered up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
pedro008, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this review

Dear Luis Bernardo, GREAT REVIEW, thank you! Your very positive words will be forwarded to our entire staff, they will really appreciate it, as it's always nice to receive compliments. We're glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our many many facilities, which make a huge difference in the guests's stay. When are... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

This hotel is quite adequate, but also rather plain and boring. For and drinks are relatively expensive, and the pool is OK, although not that warm. The entrance area is dull and more suitable to conferences and business, whilst the games area is better for families etc. Not that harmonious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
pedro008, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback of you visiting us in Februari. Your comments will be discussed with the appropriate departments. Again, thank you for taking the time to inform us, we look forward to welcoming you back to Leiden in the near future. Kindest regards, The Holiday Inn Leiden Team. More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
38 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

I staid there for a company training a few weeks ago. Location is quite good even though I am not sure how far it is from the city center. Service was adequate and efficient, I was really surprised though that they wouldn't recognize my IHG Gold Ambassador status just because it was a business booking; other hotel chains have done... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pedro008, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feed back. Please accept our sincere aplogies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay here in Leiden. Please be assured appropriate steps have been taken with the departments involved. Although we do have cleaning service 24/7, we also fully understand that you were not happy at all that your room was not cleaned... More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

If you are looking for a luxurious hotel or want to walk to Leiden centre, this hotel won't cut it. Having said that, we got two connecting comfortable rooms for our small family, enjoyed a swim, had a relaxing breakfast and walked to some restaurants in front of the central station. We rented a car and drove to Amsterdam, Den... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pedro008, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, incl. all the facilities and our very extended breakfast. We hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you and you family back to Leiden soon. Kind regards, The Holiday Inn Leiden Team. More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

The room was very comfortable and clean. It was a great hotel for the whole family with a restaurant, where the food was not bad at all. There was a play area but it was always too busy. The hotel was close to Leiden and also Katwijk which was our destination. I would definetely recommend it for a family. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pedro008, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leiden, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your very nice comments, we're glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Your comment concerning the sound in de tropical garden has our attention. Again, thank you for your feed back. May we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to Leiden soon? Kindest regards, The Holiday Inn Leiden... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

143 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (78)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question