We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Gouda hotels

Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoge Gouwe 201, 2801 LE Gouda, The Netherlands
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda to your Saves list
Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
83%
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Gouda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Anne Laure V BRUXELLES, Belgium
  • Overview
  • Reviews (70)
  • Photos (54)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    25
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
27
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
BRUXELLES, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

You will have all the expected comfort and a direct access to the center of this typical and beautiful town, Gouda. We were with our little child (16 months) and everything was very simple thanks to these ideal position. Besides, the staff of the hotel was very responsive to our needs

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I arrived in Gouda today and like the hotel and parking. My room is very modern and clean. My problem is that the colleague I am traveling with for work has had his flight cancelled, so he will not be able to arrive until tomorrow morning. I explained this to the receptionist and she said that since I booked online,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We needed a hotel close to Rotterdam to return our rental car the next morning, so we picked Gouda to have a smaller town to park in and check out the town of the famous namesake cheese. Rooms were clean and nice, a bit pricey but fine. The staff were very helpful and even tried to find us poffertjes for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWGouda H, Reception at Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, responded to this review

Dear CalVH, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor, we are glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay besides the open shower door concept. Gouda has an old pancake house called ‘in de salon’, which serve pancakes and poffertjes. Unfortunately they are not always open, our staff will be happy to guide you to... More

Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

With Best Western hotels you always need to be careful as it are rather independent exploited hotels and the quality varies. The Plus in this hotel's name tells you it has something more. The hotel has an underground parking. Although paying and not actually not part of the hotel, it is very convenient to reach to hotel. I was helped... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWGouda H, Reception at Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, responded to this review

Good morning Mr. Joeri W, Thank you very much for leaving us a review and for the compliment on our professional staff. Gouda has great vary of good restaurants in the center which I always find hard to choose from, good to hear our staff was able to help you pick one. We are looking forward to your next visit!... More

Riihimaki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here three nights in June. Rooms were nice and clean and there was space enough. The staff was nice amd helpful in all situations. In the room was some thing that were confusing (wc / shower in seperated spaces, but it worked, so I dont mind that much. Location of the hotel is good, just 5 min walk from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWGouda H, Front office at Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, responded to this review

Good morning Mr. Pasi Pasi, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We often get compliments on our location because it is located in the heart of the center, it is ideal to explore the charming town centre. If you ever find yourself back in Gouda, please do stay with us again! Kindest regards, The BEST WESTERN... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed here with a group of friends and I highly recommend. The staff are very polite and helpful. Stayed in some top hotels but this is everything you need clean modern and very comfortable. Room was immaculate with a big bath, robes provided at request. Great location. Best in gouda by far, they even found a shirt of mine in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWGouda H, Front Office at Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, responded to this review

Good afternoon Jamcr, How kind of you to leave us a review, thank you for your wonderful feedback. It is good to read that you and your friends have had such a enjoyable stay with us and that you loved the center. We hope to see you back at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Hotel Gouda for your next stay. Kindest... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel is very well located, on the outskirts of the old city and only a five-minute walk from the centre. The outside construction blends in with the traditional architecture of the area but the inside is very modern and open. The room was spacious but, in my opinion, favoured design over function. While the toilet was enclosed, the bath... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWGouda H, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, responded to this review

Dear Jonnymonny, Thank you very much for your useful feedback, we were very disappointed to hear that you have had some issues during your stay. Because of this reason we have contacted you by e-mail, whenever there is anything else please do not hesitate to contact us again on the known e-mail address or telephone number. Besides this, we are... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Lovely new hotel, very clean. Staff unfortunately very unfriendly! They don't make you feel welcome at all. Rooms a good size, beds big and comfy, showers great. There are no bottled water in the rooms. It is close to the central market, beautiful view of the canals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWGouda H, Front Office at Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, responded to this review

Dear 236TanaD236, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review of your experience. We are very sorry to hear that you didn’t feel welcome at our hotel, this matter has been discussed with our front office team. However, it is very good to hear that you have enjoyed our hotel and the wonderful center of... More

Pipe Gate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great position, lovely room. One member of staff at the front desk not very friendly or welcoming at all but all other staff were delightful, very helpful, very friendly. So more than made up for her. The position of the hotel is excellent. The food in the hotel was fantastic with great service especially the bar waiter . Would definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWGouda H, Front Office at Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, responded to this review

Dear Liz and Steve, First of all thank you very much for leaving us a review, your opinion/experience is very important to us. It is a delight to read that you have enjoyed the hotel and the city and regret to read about your experience with one of our staff members. We always tell our staff the importance of hospitality,... More

Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

If you have the need to stop in Gouda, the Best Western provided a convenient location within walking distance of Old Town. The hotel is relatively new and rooms are thoughtfully appointed with the basics.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWGouda H, Front Office at Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for leaving us a review, your experience is very important to us. It is good to hear that you find our location convenient as it is only a five minute walk to the center, we hope you got to enjoy the charmes of our old town. We hope to welcome you back sometime! Kind... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda

Address: Hoge Gouwe 201, 2801 LE Gouda, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Gouda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Best Western Plus City Hotel Gouda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
101

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer