We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bastion Hotel Utrecht

3.0 of 5 Mauritiuslaan 1, 3526 LD Utrecht, The Netherlands
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Utrecht
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bastion Hotel Utrecht
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    17
    19
    3
See reviews for
3
4
6
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (51)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Boulder City, Nevada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I came here for two nights for his business. After reading the reviews on the train to Utrecht, we were dreading what we'd find. We arrived and the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room wasn't ready yet since we got there early (which was fine), so we sat in the lounge. The lounge area was really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A hotel quite far from the city center. The hotel is decent and if you look for a place to rest overnight is the perfect choice. The room is small and with the furnished in order to cover the strict necessities. The wifi was good. Good the parking and the staff very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am sitting at breakfast where there is one person on duty cooking eggs. All the tables are dirty I had to request a clean one from the egg guy- who didn't clean just put a new paper set on the table covered in crumbs and eggshell! The freezing cold room has two single very spongy beds and a bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darlington (uk)
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
92 hotel reviews
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for a week on business and it seemed the longest week of my life. The location is great from a business point of view but this is about the only positive. My room was very basic old and dated and not very clean. In the bathroom there were hairs on the mirror and the room had stained... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Location Hotel Bastion is located in the suburbs of Utrecht. The location is quite convenient for the business travelers having cars - the hotel is in the direct vicinity of the highway. All other demands leave a little freedom: there are neither restaurants nor cafes in the neighborhood and the only architecture attraction is the large parking house located nearby.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Staff were slow, food took 2 hours to be served, bar staff were far from attentive. The rooms are basic, not clean. A 2 night stay but my room was only serviced once. Noises all night from other guests room doors. Was charged 90 euros for checking in late.....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Second time around. The deluxe rooms are worth the extra money. You could here noises from down stairs staying in the single rooms. Surprised to see all the used bed linen on the floor scattered all the way down the hall way on one evening around 5pm. Not a good look. My first stay here was excellent, my second stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hertfordshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Overall poor for service, location, quality of room, towels, bedding and standard of working equipment. The hotel rooms are now very tired and in desperate need of modernisation. Recently, the hotel has uprated the TVs in all of the rooms to larger flat screen but this is just a token gesture. The room entrance door and bathroom in every room... More

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Utrecht, responded to this review

Dear UK-Business99, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Our goal is to ensure that all our guests leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. Please accept our apology for the chaotic breakfast you have experienced during your stay and we regret our hotel did... More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

The room was ordinary, the restaurant was ordinary, the bathroom and carpet was tired. The price was low, but you can do better than this. It was very easy to access, just off a freeway. You did not get any traffic noise in the rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Pretty much what one would expect at a business hotel. Very functional, with most aminities. Very capable reception staff. Restaurant was nothing great, but adequate. Good location for highway and public transportation access. Price was good. Free parking and Wifi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Utrecht, responded to this review

Dear rohausser, Firstly, we wish to take this opportunity and thank you for your time and effort to inform us about your experience during your stay at the Bastion Hotel Utrecht. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bastion Hotel Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Utrecht

Address: Mauritiuslaan 1, 3526 LD Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Utrecht 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Despegar.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Bastion Hotel Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay