We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Utrecht hotels

Apollo Hotel Utrecht

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vredenburg 14, 3511BA Utrecht, The Netherlands
Apollo Hotel Utrecht
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Apollo Hotel Utrecht to your Saves list
49%
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Utrecht
A recent review
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    84
    74
    36
    22
See reviews for
23
60
32
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (254)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The good thing about the Apollo Hotel is perfectly situated in the center of Utrecht within easy reach of the main rail station and is closer to some of the lovely bars and restaurants that run off the many alleys and side streets from the main square. That's all I can say that's in the hotel's favour, from now on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ApolloHotelUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Apollo Hotel Utrecht, responded to this review

Dear Woodo1, Thank you for your review. Reviews are the basis for our service and product improvement. Unfortunately we read that your hotel stay did not met your expectations, we would like to apologize for that. We are sorry to hear that you experienced noise from the dustmen in the morning. For a city centre hotel this is difficult to... More

Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Apollo is a perfectly adequate hotel in Utrecht. Nothing fancy or luxurious but offers a place to sleep in good comfort in downtown Utrecht. The hotel is located right around the corner from the tourist area. Reception personal was fine. Our room was in the 600 back side of the building and to go there we had to descent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The horel is quite good but unfortunately the guest won't have free wifi in the room which is completely unacceptable ! You can have free access on the second floor. If you want to use it in the room you will have to pay for it. Next time I'll choose another hotel just because of it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An experience not soon forgotten. My husband and I booked this hotel from a list given to us by the organizers of our church's worldwide assembly. This hotel was of several. We read some of the reviews, which were mixed. The reviews generally were average. Not good, not bad. We took a chance and we regret the booking. We booked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ApolloHotelUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Apollo Hotel Utrecht, responded to this review

Dear Robert F, First of all I would like to thank you for your review. Reviews are the basis for the improvement of our hotel and services. With regard to the comment about the desk we will discuss this with our Head of Maintenance to make sure this is repared. Our wood floors are cleaned every day however we will... More

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014 via mobile

The moment I had to drag my case up the 10 stairs to the front desk (without assistance) and observed the filthy carpet in the corridors, I knew that the Apollo Hotel was less that what one would expect. The Hotel appears to combine two interconnecting building, which are connected via a maze of corridors. Definitely not disability friendly. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ApolloHotelUtrecht, Front Office Manager at Apollo Hotel Utrecht, responded to this review

Dear Damian F, Thank you for your review. I regret to hear that your expectations were not met. We are sorry to hear that we were not able to assist with your Luggage. In case we are available at the reception we are more then willing to help you. We want to inform you about the corridors that all of... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014 via mobile

I only tried the executive club room , brilliant, big , clean, modern , free wifi , greate brekfast , amazingly central. Its not a typical 4 star but also 138 euro plus 25 extra for club room is lower than most four star hotels in europe with this kind of location

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ApolloHotelUtrecht, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Utrecht, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for positive review. It gave me much pleasure to read that you had a very nice stay in our hotel. I have shared your review with my team and gave them a lot of positive energy. Thank you again and I hope to receive you as our guest in the future. I would like... More

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for four nights and certainly wouldn't stay there again. The location is great but that's all I can say. Food really average, rooms tiny and old. You have to carry your bags up and down stairs and drag them along endless corridors. The hotel has a confusing layout and I would certainly not have known how to get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ApolloHotelUtrecht, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Utrecht, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was very sorry to read that your stay was not according expectations and I do apologise. In our hotel we have installed signage throughout the hotel to make the route as clear as possible. Next to that, I am sorry to learn that you had to carry your bags up and down the stairs, because all our... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

The Apollo in Utrecht is in a fantastic location, right in the middle of all the shopping and steps from the lovely canals, bell tower and restaurants. The staff are friendly and helpful and breakfast & coffee is good. The worst thing I can say is that I had a difficult time finding it - the entrance is nestled in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

As part of a mini tour of The Netherlands my friend and I checked into a twin room at the Apollo Hotel. Centrally located, it was easy to find from the train station. This hotel is quite basic and rather dingy. The guy on reception who checked us in was lovely although, unlike other hotels in the Netherlands, we weren't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The Apollo, formerly hotel Smith, (The name is still on top) is a very centrally / conveniently located hotel in the heart of Utrecht. They have clearly upgraded the place and in the main successfully but it will always remain an old building with new fittings which do not always match. The sliding door to the not originally fitted en-suite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Apollo Hotel Utrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Utrecht

Address: Vredenburg 14, 3511BA Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Utrecht 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Apollo Hotel Utrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utrecht Apollo Hotel
Hotel Style
#9 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay