We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carlton President

4.0 of 5 Floraweg 25, 3542 DX Utrecht, The Netherlands
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carlton President
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Carlton President
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    109
    40
    15
    2
See reviews for
28
91
12
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (294)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (75)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent hotel situated a 16 minute bus ride from Utrecht. The rooms are large and spacious and the breakfast was the best I have had in Holland, with so much choice. There is also a leisure centre at the hotel, although we did not have time to use this. The hotel is also close to Holland's largest and must luxurious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blikman, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review

Dear Jamie, Thank you very much for this lovely review and for recommending our hotel to other travellers for the spacious rooms and excellent breakfast! Hopefully you will have more time to also enjoy the leisure centre and its facilities. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. With best regards, Bart Blikman More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

i was visiting for a short business trip and this hotel was my first choice as it was recommended by my colleagues. Reshma from the front desk was v helpful and ensured that we had a comfortable stay. I had a spacious room with a balcony. Didn't try the restaurant but may be next time. I would suggest this place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blikman, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review

Dear Madan, Thank you so much for your kind words. It is very much appreciated. I will share your review with the team and especially with Reshma. Hope to see you back at Carlton President soon. Best regards, Bart Blikman More 

Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Is this a business target hotel? Really? It seems only a getaway for old couple and families weekend hotel. Terrible, really terrible. The problem isn't that is far from center. The problems are on many level: this is not a 4 stars hotel. Neither a 3. If you have a laptop and a mobile phone you have to charge your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AJBlikman, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review

Dear Miss Fiorini Mattei, Thank you for this online review. I tried to contact you earlier this week regarding your stay, but unfortunately I did not get any response. In general we are rated highly for our service and quality. As you can imagine I was extremely shocked reading your review. You as our distinguished guest should always be treated... More 

Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were transferred to this hotel, as there was a report of a recent fire (?) in the Hotel we had placed our bookings in Utrecht centre. In the middle of nowhere, byt the ring road. Very difficult to get to the centre (over 5 km away) although the hotel provided a taxi shuttle service, and also some bikes (nice).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AJBlikman, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review

Dear Na, Thank you very much for your review. We really do appreciate this. My apologies that the location of the hotel is not what you expected it to be. We are centrally located not far from the highway and public transportation and just outside the centre. To go by train to the city centre it will take approximately 5... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Was there for a week for work. Very out of the way, 7km out of Utrecht centre but good bus service. Breakfast had alot of choice and was very good. Didn't eat dinner in the restaurant so no comments there. Gym is very small and lacking in equipment Room was clean, spacious and nice. Biggest gripe was very poor WiFi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AJBlikman, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review

Dear Zaf, Thank you very much for taking the time the write this review. Great to see that you enjoyed the hotel for its breakfast and the accommodation. My apologies that you have encountered problems with the Wi-Fi. We provide a secure and stable Wi-Fi in cooperation with KPN. I have a few questions for you regarding this (we wouold... More 

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I stayed with my wife 2 little daughters with the purpose of meeting friends in Utrecht. I was hesitant to book in his hotel due to location being far off the town but what hooked me in was the price and good reviews. I was not disappointed. Reasonably nice building, very good help at the desk. Good and clean rooms.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AJBlikman, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review

Dear Zafer, Thanks a lot for reviewing us at Tripadvisor. We appreciate this a lot. Very nice to read that you had a great time at the hotel. The breakfast is very extensive with only fresh products and ingredients. Try it next time, my treat, so we can share our thoughts on it. At the same time all invite you... More 

netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

The rooms are a bit dark but have eveything you need. During the checkout there was some problem. Could have been handled a bit smoother. but overall good staff, good breakfast and nice atmosphere. And don't forget to tip the ladies from the housekeeping, they do their (hard) job extremely well!

Was this review helpful? Yes
AJBlikman, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review

Dear Jane, Thank you very much for the review. Really great that we are your favourite hotel in Utrecht! Hope to see you soon back at the hotel. Best regards, Bart Blikman More 

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Nice, quiet hotel at walking distance from the industrial area "Lage Weide" in Utrecht. The hotel contains a cozy bar and a widespread variety in hotel rooms. The reception service was marvelous and the breakfast was splendid with a lot of choice. I'll recommend my company to book this hotel for a next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AJBlikman, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review

Dear Erik, Very proud to read your review! Thank you very much for this. I will share it immediate with my team, it will make them proud as well. Again thanks, and hope we can meet in person soon. Best regards, Bart Blikman More 

London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

In these outskirts of Utrecht you don't have much choice but this hotel does the job for a few nights. Good sized rooms, friendly service and good food/bar are a plus. The decor is not my taste, it feels like late 70s to me. The rooms are very dark but quality furniture and they even have ironing boards.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AJBlikman, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review

Dear Mjolnir, Thanks a lot for this nice review. Also thank you for the compliments regarding the room and the service. Hope to see back at the hotel soon. Best regards, Bart Blikman More 

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Used this purely hotel as it was closest to an exhibition I was attending. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff welcoming and eager to help. Food in restaurant was very good, both evening meal and breakfast. Very little negative to say apart from the flow from the shower was very weak, more like drizzle than a rain storm.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AJBlikman, General Manager at Carlton President, responded to this review

Dear Philip, Thank you very much for the review. We really appreciate this. Can you please let me know which room you used so I can check the shower? My mail address is bblikman@president.carlton.nl Hope to hear from you soon. Best regards, Bart Blikman More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Carlton President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton President

Address: Floraweg 25, 3542 DX Utrecht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Utrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton President 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carlton President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton President Utrecht
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Utrecht
#3 Romantic Hotel in Utrecht
#3 Luxury Hotel in Utrecht
#4 Business Hotel in Utrecht

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay