We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel V Frederiksplein

Hotel website
Weteringschans 136, 1017 XV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel V Frederiksplein
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

940 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel V Frederiksplein
See the most recent reviews
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016 via mobile

Was alittle surprised to see some of the negative reviews as we found the hotel to be great for a 3 star hotel (which I think some reviewers forget!). For a weekend break, we certainly didn't need a massive room so fit our purposes perfectly. Friendly staff, really good value, good buffet breakfast, decent shower and great location (away from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hydrotom83
hotelv, Front Office Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review! And we will see you the next time you visit Amsterdam :-) With LoVe from Amsterdam, Linda More 

Guildford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

Well located on the edge of the canal belt at the bottom of the lovely Utrechestraat which is full of eateries, cosy bars and some good shops - also on tram line 4 which goes to Central Station. Very friendly and helpful staff, attractive ground floor area & good breakfast. Room was spacious, bed extremely comfortable, modern shower room and... More 

Helpful?
Thank KAF63Guildford
hotelv, Front Office Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review

Hey there! You discovered the Utrechtsestraat :-) We love this street and highly recommend going there because of the great bars, restaurants and shops. And most of all it's not so touristic! Looking forward to seeing you the next time you visit Amsterdam. Greets, Linda More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

We had booked to go away for my birthday for four nights and looked very throughly at the hotel, rooms and the location. We arrived to see a lovely lobby just what we expected. Then went down to our room which was practically in the basement and was so small. Which on the hotels official website they do not show... More 

Helpful?
Thank bjwhitehead
hotelv, Front Office Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review

Thanks you for taking the time to write this review and that you choose Hotel V to spend your birthday. As you have noticed that our small rooms are 1 level below ground floor. Because of the architecture of the building every room is different. This also means that all small rooms are different as well. On our website you... More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

we stayed at hotel V 5 night last week and had a wonderful time! the lobby is beautiful and very nice to spend time by the fire :) the staff are very welcoming and helped us with any thing we asked for breakfast is excellent and includes everything you need to recover from a night out in the city...! we... More 

Helpful?
Thank DIDUDA
hotelv, Front Office Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this great review! Our fire place is nice and cosy, we love it! It makes you feel at home :-) I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast. Nothing is better than starting of your day with a good breakfast! Greetings from Amsterdam, Linda More 

Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend and i had a lovely stay here and was very comfy in our room! It was very warm but a fan was supplied so that solved it! Great ensuite and rooms made everyday! Would definitely come back :) noise was absolutely fine and we were given a map of where everything was. Some really great restraints and coffee... More 

Helpful?
Thank LucyGS
hotelv, Front Office Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review

Hey Lucy, Thanks for this great review! We are happy to hear you had such a great time in our hotel. We would love to see you back soon :-) With LoVe from Amsterdam! Linda More 

Amsterdam
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015 via mobile

The first impression of this hotel is positive: good location, open lobby, friendly staff and a bit of a design touch. The big dissappointment was the size of the room: it looks more like a walk-in closet than a hotel room. There is no space to put your clothes and bags. It is all very narrow. The owners have squeezed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Amsterdam-Stampertje
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015 via mobile

We had a basement room. No. 6. It was an average sized room but it had everything you needed. Clean and tidy. With a television with enough channels to find something for background noise when you were in your room. The reception is right above that room so you could hear a bit of noise, footsteps at night ect but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lyndsey J
hotelv, Front Office Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review

Dear Lyndsey, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! Kieran and Thomas say hi :-) We are always happy to help our guests whenever they need something. I’m a tea lover myself so I understand you want to bring your own tea, no problem. We would love to have you back the next time you... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015

I stayed here for 2 nights, the room is too tiny I had to sleep next to my suitcase! the bathroom is more like a corridor, very dark and the mirror is high. It's so uncomfortable and very unpleasant stay. the luck of my room also was broken for the first night. Although it's in the central but it didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zaina E
hotelv, Front Office Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review

Dear Zaina, It’s really unfortunate to hear that your sponsor didn’t book you a room which would live up to your expectations. Our building is a historical building which means no room is the same and architecturally we can’t always change the size of the room. If we could have given you an upgrade to a bigger room we would... More 

Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

We had a clean, comfortable room with a nice bathroom and good shower. Our room had a balcony to let in fresh air. The hotel offers a nice breakfast with breads, fruits, veggies, hard boiled eggs, pastries, espresso and much more. Staff at the front desk and breakfast were very accommodating and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank trauterNJ
hotelv, Front Office Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write this review! And we hope to see you back soon :-) With LoVe from Amsterdam, Linda More 

Walsall, UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

This hotel is located at the edge of the centre of Amsterdam at the junction of 3 tram routes. It means that you are very close to all the wonderful things in the city without the pain of being in the middle of everything. We arrived by car, which is a problem as car parking is very expensive. The hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nikandlesley
hotelv, Front Office Manager at Hotel V Frederiksplein, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this great review! And we are happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself in Amsterdam! Feel free to come back any time. We would be more than happy to welcome you again. Greetings from Amsterdam, Linda More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

623 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (319)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (75)
Viewed
Room/suite (68)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (122)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (271)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Extra Large Double Room (58)
Viewed
Large Twin Room (66)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (24)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,765 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,031 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay