We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 345 Amsterdam hotels

Hotel the Golden Bear

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kerkstraat 37, 1017GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Hotel the Golden Bear
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel the Golden Bear to your Saves list
Ranked #240 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2006
tallguy1 London
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    69
    48
    22
    25
See reviews for
3
96
54
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (223)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hotel the Golden Bear
See the most recent reviews
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2006

Great little hotel with friendly staff always ready for a laugh. I stay here several times a year, and have never had a serious problem at all. Good location, very clean, and with a good breakfast. I feel at home when I am here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2006

I enjoyed my 10 day stay in Amsterdam at Hotel The Golden Bear in Nov 2006, and I'm happy to report that my visit was overall very positive. In fact, I'm planning on returning next year for another stay. (When I first booked my room, I was a worried having read the negative reviews on TripAdvisor, so I decided it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
UK
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2006

We agree with Kosporo, Toronto, very surprised at the negative feedback. This is a wonderful place to stay. It is ideally situated for the trams and nightlife, the rooms are clean (and cleaned daily), of a decent size, do not smell, the doors lock, the bathrooms are great, the decor is clearly recently re-done and well planned, the staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Toronto
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2006

Surprised to read the negative reviews of the Golden Bear. I stayed there for four nights and found it to be a great little place. It's well located, the staff are friendly, the breakfast was great (a typical Dutch-style breakfast, served until a decent hour!!), and the room was comfortable. The web-site gives lots of info, and the place was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

Where to begin? The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is good. Beds are ok and bathrooms not bad. I didn't have a problem with noise or mosquitos, but other travellers certainly did. The rooms are smallish and smoke-infested. My friend's room didn't get cleaned one day, which they claimed was because they were too busy. The breakfast is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Amsterdambear, owner at Hotel the Golden Bear, responded to this review

It is very difficult to get the smoke smell out of the room. Sometimes guests smoek hasj or something else and that makes it even more difficult. As from 2007 on we will start with some smoke-free rooms as more and more guests are asking for it. The friend did not report anything about the theft to the receptionist. He... More 

Vilnius
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

Well, this hotel was biggest dissapointment for me during the stay in Amsterdam. Price ant quality level is very bad. I paid 86 Euro for double room wich was small with shoking TERRIBLE SMELL. Smell of cigaretes, toilet, dirty bags... Also it is unpleasant for 86 Euros to have shared toilet with other rooms. Shower room has very bad smell.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

I had two major problems with my stay at the Golden Bear last year. Although I had originally checked in (and paid) for 5 nights, I had to return to the US the following day as my partner was hospitalized after a terrible auto accident. The manager of the hotel refused to refund me for any of the subsequent nights.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Amsterdambear, owner at Hotel the Golden Bear, responded to this review

Why is it that every guest who has to return home earlier than expected, expects to get a refund for the number of nights not stayed? Why is it that everybody accepts that airlines do not refund anything when you have to cancel or miss your flight? Exactly for cases like this we advise people travelling to have travel insurance.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel the Golden Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel the Golden Bear

Address: Kerkstraat 37, 1017GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel the Golden Bear 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel the Golden Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay