We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

#42 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Write a Review

2,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,417
    1,029
    222
    76
    39
See reviews for
412
1,292
128
402
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2783)
  • Mar-May only
    (707)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (731)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (711)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (634)
All months
Woodstock
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I choose this hotel since it was close to where our river cruise ended. It's about 10-15 min walk to Amsterdam Central. Taking tram 26 would be the best option to get to the center. restaurant food was decent for something quick if you don't want to eat in old Amsterdam, i was pleased that they were able to hold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Jim D, It has been a pleasure having you as our guest, thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback. We hope your boat cruise has been a beautiful one and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, The General Manager More 

Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our cruise line selected this hotel for it's convenience to the river I'm sure-however, our Viking longship did not dock there and we were bussed from another docking location. Although this hotel is within walking distance from the trolley and Central Station it was too far from the actual city center. If you're willing to walk several miles-which we did,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Laura7Clearwater, Thank you for sharing your review. We hope your boat cruise has been a joyful one. We are happy to learn you appreciated the friendliness of our staff and the request for having a bath tub in your room. Our hotel is indeed conveniently located for cruise ships, but also for the people looking for a quiet location... More 

Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The front desk was not professional at all in helping quests with internet when it was so slow one could not even read the papers or room change when the room was not what one expected or advice to find another hotel. Also room service breakfast coffee was expensive and only 1,5 cups and when one asked for more coffee... More 

Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Tiina M, Thank you for sharing your review. It is to our sincere regret to find out about your unpleasant experiences, and to conclude we did not meet up to your personal expectations. We recently implemented a large WIFI improvement plan (such as changing all WIFI access points). It can indeed get busy during peak hours in our F&B... More 

Central Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It sits on and dominates the harbor area of Amsterdam. Great views from our 15th floor room. Very modern and extremely comfortable. Good breakfasts in Dutch continental style. Due to the road and rail system, it is off the easy walking path from the downtown Amsterdam central area. Good shops nearby. Just down the pier you can dine outdoors right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Traveller - JR, Thank you for sharing such positieve and detailed feedback with us. Our quiet location on the banks of the river IJ indeed give you splendid views and comfortable night rest. This might be just what you are looking for, cruise passenger or not. Please feel free to stay with us again next time you visit Amsterdam.... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is a great place to stay about a twenty five minute walk into Amsterdam, there is a hotel minibus that you can book if you don't want to walk. The hotel also has a taxi rank nearly outside the door. the staff are all very friendly and helpful and the bar staff are excellent. The hotel is very... More 

Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Richard A, Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your positive feedback. We are happy to learn you spent such a nice couple of days in our beautiful city, while enjoying the beautiful views and quiet nights in our hotel located just outside the heart of the city. We look forward welcoming you soon. Kind... More 

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for two nights prior to taking a cruise. The hotel was conveniently located close to where the cruises leave from. Although the hotel supplies a free shuttle bus service to the city, plus there is a tram stop nearby, we usually walked. The walk took us through a dirty, untidy and less pleasant area of Amsterdam that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Ardene, We hope you had a lovely cruise and would like to thank you for sharing your detailed and kind review with us. It is good to hear you found our location convenient for your purposes, quietly located but still well connected, or by taking a short walk. Be aware indeed of our fast driving bicycles! Antyime you have... More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our pre River Cruise hotel. Located close to everything in Amsterdam. 15 minute walk to city center, museums, train station and all that Amsterdam has to offer. The staff was always willing to help any where they can. Very friendly. We would go there again. Great view of the river.

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Richloufoss, We hope you enjoyed your river cruise and would like to thank you for sharing your positive experiences. Our hotel is indeed located at the banks of the river "IJ", with great views, quiet nights and easy to get to the heart of the city. Please feel free to stay with us again upon your next visit to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Located near Centraal station, under 10 min walk from station to the hotel. No need for a tram or shuttle bus, really not far at all. Check in was straightforward. Lovely clean and presentable rooms. Free wifi. The hotel has a bar near check in, reasonably priced drinks for a hotel. Would definitely recommend Moevenpick.

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear PSJO, Thank you for staying with us and for appreciating our easy to access location. We hope your river cruise has been a beautiful one. Please feel free to contact us directly, our kind staff looks forward assisting you. Kind regards, The General Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great location. Amazing view from the room. Staff was very friendly. Food delicious. Room was very clean and spacious. Very comfy bed. Would definitely recommend that hotel. I can't wait to go back :-)

Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Jagoda84, We are delighted to read we have made your stay such a pleasant one, and you found our rooms to be spacious and clean, food delicious and staff very friendly. We also cannot wait to welcome you back! Kind regards, The General Manager More 

Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good hotel, modern, clean and secure. Close to Centraal Station, just a short trip by tram 26. Staff was kind, helpful and smiling. Online check-in did not work as specified, but no problem. Be sure to specify breakfast included if you want it!

Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Erik F, Thank you very much for sharing your kind review with us. Your positive comments concerning our general facilities as well as friendly, kind and helpful staff are much appreciated. Our apologies for all inconveniences our new web check in caused you, it has been implemented very recently and we are investigating each step to make this new... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,060 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (995)
Viewed
View from room (198)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (225)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (242)
Viewed
Bathroom (77)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
3:16
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (204)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (65)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question