We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

#45 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hotel website
Piet Heinkade 11, BR 1019 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Offers & Announcements
Summer Savings up to 30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Add Photo Write a Review

3,163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    1,623
    1,155
    256
    86
    43
See reviews for
486
1,461
137
466
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (3163)
  • Mar-May only
    (815)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1005)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (710)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (633)
All months
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great hotel located just away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to get to easily. Would recommend to anyone, breakfast was excellent, staff were friendly and went out of there way to make the stay a good one

Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

First of all it's taken me a while to review this place- completely forgot about it! This isn't a reflection on the establishment in anyway, it's just been a busy 6 months! The hotel is excellent, and for a reasonable price excellence is surprisingly hard to find in Amsterdam. The decor is modern, and the entire place is very clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The name of this hotel is a lie. It is absolutely not City Centre and should not even appear when searching for hotels in city centre in Amsterdam. Very inconvenient to everything. Shuttle to train station is always overbooked and unavailable. Front desk manager very uncooperative. They have a sign right outside the front door which tells you how to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear flicklives, Thank you for your feedback. We regret to read you feel mislead by the words, city centre. Useful information can many times be found on the website of your Travel Agency, or our own website. Our local government made signs for all our valued visitors, by taking a short route below the viaduct. Please feel free to direct... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is so elegant and no need to evaluate the movenpick hotels all over the world but I had a bad experience with one of the staff while Ian trying to book a seat on the shuttle bus to the city center..I know it's 10 minutes walking from the hotel but he was so rude to tell me so..no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Hamza Y, Thank you for your time to share our review. It is to our sincere regret to hear you did not feel taken care of in a personal way, our apologies. Providing each guest with extra acre and attention is what we strive to do. Extra attention will be shared to this as per directly. Thank you for... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very good hotel but not completely WOW so thats why I rated it 4/5. It has a good location about a seven minute walk to the city center. Beautiful view depending on the location of your room. Parking is very expensive and the hotel restaurant isn't that good, but we did encounter a staff member that made us feel home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Juliana H, Thank you for your kind and honest review. We almost met up to your expectaions, but not entirely... the public parking can be expensive, alternative options however can be found on our website. Should you wish to feel at home while being away, it would be our pleasure assisting you again. Kind regards, The General Manager More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Good clean hotel. Great decor in rooms. Service in restaurant a bit slow but ok otherwise. Receptionists very robotic, reading from a script. No spare UK adaptors for plugs available at reception either.

Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Ashley C, Thank you for your business review. Your positive feedback is much valued, however we regret to hear about your inconveniences. Our apologies. We do hope to welcome you back in a near future. Thank you again and kind regards, The General Manager More 

Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room was clean, quite and comfortable. The conference/meeting rooms were large clean and comfortable and the meeting room staff was very attentive. The restaurant food was excellent food with an awesome breakfast offering. Would stay here again for business or pleasure.

Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Y4167GFjims, We are happy to have assisted you in such a positive way for your business purposes. Your positive comments have been shared within our related departments for encouragement! Either for business or leisure, please feel free to contact directly at our hotel. Kind regards, The General Manager More 

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights prior to a going on a cruise. Very clean, staff very helpful and friendly. Free wifi. We got the 48 hour pass for the tram (bought them from the concierge) and found it very easy to get around. The Passenger Terminal Amsterdam is right next door, we wheeled our luggage down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Debbie F, We hope your boat cruise has been a beautiful one and thank you for sharing such positive comments with us. Indeed, having the Passenger Terminal next door and the city centre at a 7 minute walk below the viaduct, and the tramstop just in front of the hotel.. prepared to explore Amsterdam! Kind regards, The General Manager More 

cyprus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we stayed in a junior suite and arrive from 9 in the morning after the end of our cruise and we had a pleasant surprise and allowed to enter our room which was ready. very nice room with a living room and main bedroom with extra large bed. We could visit the executive lounge almost any time of the day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear friendsCY, Thank you for your positive feedback. We are pleased to read you enjoyed the room being ready after a long trip to our country. Our sincere apologies for the cleaning not being to our usual standards. Immediate action will be taken to solve this kind of situations. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back as... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We found the hotel comfortable, with good service. Great breakfast, good sized rooms, comfortable bed. Shower was difficult to regulate both in terms of volume and temperature. Given that the hotel is located quite a way out of the main city areas the shuttle bus offered could run more frequently.

Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Megan W, Thank you for your positive notes, we feel encouraged to know you appreciated our comfortable rooms, good service, delicious breakfast and comfortbale bed for having this night rest you deserve and expect. Please know, our staff is here to assist you at all times, to explain how to operate the shower, and to book a free seat... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Central station(82)
  • Very good(28)
  • Tram stop(16)
  • Free shuttle(11)
  • Room service(10)
  • Great view(5)
  • Cruise ship(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,124 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1059)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (80)
Viewed
Room/suite (249)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (235)
Viewed
View from room (205)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
3:16
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (235)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (65)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#35 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,301 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#22 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)

Neighborhood Profile
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
A visit to Amsterdam’s Eastern Docklands presents the opportunity to marvel at its many modern architectural masterpieces like the Openbare Bibliotheek Amsterdam and the beguiling Python Bridge while taking in its scenic waterfront with its trendy assortment of cafés, restaurants, bars, and clubs. Here in this post-industrial (though in some parts still very much presently industrial) neighborhood, you’ll find a smart selection of cool galleries and shops as well as the kid-friendly Science Center NEMO and the National Maritime Museum.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Ready to book?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay