We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 345 Amsterdam hotels

Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
68%
Ranked #172 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Daniel B Leeds, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (880)
  • Photos (336)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (85)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

880 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    369
    170
    84
    52
See reviews for
51
431
56
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is made up of 2 hotels merged together which leads to some inconsistency in room quality. Our group had rooms in various parts of the hotel so were able to see a few examples. Our room had clearly been recently refurbished and the bathroom was excellent and well equipped with bath/shower, yet some other rooms only had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your experiences on TripAdvisor. . We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We are delighted to read your comments; particularly your thoughts on the service you received during your stay. Your compliments will be passed on to our concierge and Front Office... More

Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Awful Service! Hampshire Hotel was an absolute disappointment. Had I never been to Amsterdam I might not ever return. Our windows faced the club AIR which at wee hours of the night had police called, people fighting and drama on the streets. Our mini-bar never got refilled, I called for a bottle of water & was told to go to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations. We are constantly trying to improve our service and standards. We do hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting us in the future, so we can show you we can meet your... More

Unavalible
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived at the hotel at 11am thinking we would have to dumb our bags in a room as check in isn't until 3pm. BUT as we arrived early they upgraded our rooms and we were allowed to our rooms immediately. Very nice hotel, very clean. Friendly and helpful staff. Close to everything, we didn't need any taxis or even the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! We are delighted to read your comments; particularly your thoughts on the service you received throughout the entire stay. Our team is always at your service to assist you with any future requests. Besides, we value your comments regarding the comfort and cleanliness of the... More

Macduff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here during a weekend break with friends. July 2014. Location: Hotel is just a matter of foot steps off Rembrant Sq. Ideal for pubs/food. Night life is very rowdy & full of fun after darkness. Hotel appearnce: From the outside nothing starteling. Inside again, very basic as you walk through. Room's though, where excellent!! Junior suites we stayed in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. The comments have been forwarded to the team and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back as our guest. Kind regards, The management More

Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is highly overrated hotel, the conditions are poor. The cleaning people do their jobs, it is clean, but everything inside looks depreciated(not old, but worn-out, used). I will never return to this place as it is very expensive and offers nothing than bed plus sink in the bathroom, although they promote it by being totally different. I do not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your comments. These comments have been forwarded tot the housekeeping en reception staff. Kind regards, The management More

Koloa, Hawaii
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were only in Amsterdam for 2 1/2 days during a layover. A good friend of ours arranged for us to stay in this hotel so we were walking into it pretty blindly. Well, we weren't disappointed! We got in late, about 11pm, but the front desk staff was courteous and checked us in to our room. When we walked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. The comments have been forwarded to the team and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back as our guest! The management More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Do not stay at this hotel, it is daylight robbery nothing but flea infested rude obnoxious people completely ruined my summer break! 40 euro for breakfast with no milk absolutely diabolical hotel rather sleep on the street.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed with my girlfriend in July , great service and the room was very clean. Bed was also very comfy. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are looking to come back soon! Near all the bars and cafes and only a 15 min walk from dam square and the RLD. The only negative I can really think of is the minibar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much in taking the time in sharing your experiences with us. thank you for the compliments. Kind regards, The management More

Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is hotel is also connected to another hotel is called Eden. I wanna mention that this company nothing but a hustler. When we booked it by booking. Com, we booked at a hotel Hampshire and it was 4 star hotel, when we got there they put us in Eden which was 3 star hotel without mentioning that. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Buffalo, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We arrived in Amsterdam a few days before embarking on a Rihine River cruise. We took a taxi from the airport to Rembrandt Square where we attempted to locate the hotel. After roaming the square for more than 30 minutes looking for the name of this hotel, we learned that the entrance was on another street. Once we found the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thomas h, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much in taking the time in writing your experiences in Tripadvisor. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, The management More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Address: Amstelstraat 17, 1017 DA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Otel so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Rembrandt Square
Eden Rembrandt Hotel Amsterdam
Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel Amsterdam

336 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (327)
Viewed
Room/suite (101)
Viewed
0:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (55)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (47)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Amsterdam with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#81 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
166

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer