We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Durty Nelly's Inn

Warmoesstraat 117, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durty Nelly's Inn
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Durty Nelly's Inn
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    73
    30
    7
    15
See reviews for
5
13
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (181)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We arrived to the hostel from our eight-hour bus travel at 6 am exhausted from the trip. The night employee welcomed us and allowed sleep in the bar until the reception opened at 9 am. They let us sleep until 11 am when the bar was getting crowded. This guy, Guillermo or "Guilo" gave us the best welcome in Amsterdam,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are basic but pretty clean, as you would expect to find in a hostel. The lockers under the beds are a great way to insure your belongings are safe. There were a lot of young travellers there who took advantage of the local bar crawl so I was woken up a couple of times during my stay. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The good part- wifi worked great. And the staff were good, and the bathroom was newly renovated. They had a breakfast buffet - with questionable food. I stayed in a 6 bed room , which was very small. 4other women and one guy. The bed was gross, sheets stained and thread bare ,mattress wasn't terribly Uncomfortable for one night. In... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently visited Amsterdam on a three-day trip with 6 other friends. We chose Durty Nelly's Irish Inn hostel for its location and affordability. When we arrived we were kindly greeted and allowed to store our luggage until we were able to check in. A member of staff explained the Dos and Don'ts and showed us to our room. A... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Durty Nellys is located close to all Cafes, Bars and Canals. Basic Accommodation - which is what you only need anyway. We had the top floor apartment for 7 people which was a little difficult to get to walking up and down several flights of stairs with heavy suitcases. Unfortunately never tried the basic breakfast as we were too busy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed a night here and it is what it is. Great place, cheap, well located, great staff, free breakfast and free wifi. Could benefit having more power points in the rooms, and more space. Staff were helpful too, I'd paid for a towel but never collected it and they trusted me with another, helped with the wifi and kept the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

I previously wrote a review posting about the bad food and wifi and elected to take it down when the management replied that I was being "less than honest" which is unfortunately less than honest. I did not finish my food, unless you consider taking two bites finishing a sandwich. It was cold and all of the ingredients were subpar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
dejimoAmsterdam, Manager at Durty Nelly's Inn, responded to this review

I stand by my earlier reply.Stay happy,thanks Jim More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Cramped, filthy and terrible customer relations. The location is good but that's it. The price is low so you can't say they overcharge but I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here unless you were desperate. Lugging bags up the stairs is hell.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The staff in Durty Nelly's are welcoming, friendly and very helpful. We never waited for any length of time and the food was exquisite. I have been a few times now and my experience has been the same every time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Great hostel, were upgraded to the apartment which they have just next door! We had a great time here until the end when there was an incident within our group, which was approached by the manager extremely badly, we were treated like children! However this is hostel is in a great location within a crazy city!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Durty Nelly's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durty Nelly's Inn

Address: Warmoesstraat 117, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Durty Nelly's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durty Nelly`s Hotel Amsterdam

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Other (27)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay