We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Hotel website
Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Special Offer
Early Bird Special
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    339
    127
    75
    77
See reviews for
111
305
71
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (868)
  • Mar-May only
    (249)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (215)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (220)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (184)
All months
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My partner and I had a really enjoyable stay here. We spent 6 nights at the hotel and don't really have any complaints. I was worried because I had read some very negative reviews about this place, but they must have been very old because I couldn't find a problem with this hotel, specially with the cleanliness (many reviews said... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for the tips for fellow travellers! I am glad that we found the right room for you, and you are correct in stating that all the rooms are different. We are always happy when guests inform us of their wishes in advance so we can select the right room. We look forward to seeing... More 

Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel price is modest compared to other hotels with similar quality within Amsterdam. Though the hotel is located beyond the city center, it could easily be reached by trams ( 3 stops away for tram no. 26) and of course, by bike. Practical rooms with stylish design. Got nothing to complain except toiletries were not provided, common in Netherlands... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review

Amsterdam is a small place compared to other cities. Great to read that you managed to easily find your way around on public transport. We look forard to having you stay with us on your next trip to Amsterdam. Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team More 

Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked my room at the very last minute and didn't have any expectations. When I arrived, I was positively surprised. Pretty cool architecture and interior, it's clean and the bed were very comfy. The personnel are friendly and helpful too. I only stayed one night this time but I probably will stay at Lloyd Hotel next time I visit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review

Thanks for letting us know about your stay. Great to read you enjoyed your room and time at the Lloyd Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel originally chosen because of location near to where daughter lives; however, would definitely recommend staying here. very close to city centre-a short tram ride (no 26), from main railway station and hotel right opposite tram stop. A wide range of rooms-we had a 3*, very comy beds and lovely crisp clean bedding and towels. Loved the bar/lounge area-great for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review

Dear Susan, Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and that you especially liked our restaurant. Hopefully we will see you next time you are in Amsterdam visiting your daughter. Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Lloyd Hotel offers a unique place to stay in Amsterdam, a short tram ride from the old town but far enough away not to be troubled by the busy centre. Its location on the waterfront belies the buildings own history which complements the city's heritage. The Building has been refurbished to a modern standard so don't be put off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am glad to read that you could appreciate the historical value of the building. We hope to see you on your next trip to Amsterdam. Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team More 

New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is some hipster, artfag, yuppy dream turned into nightmare. Its not a cultural embassy but a underachieving, dirty, distant hostel. NOT A HOTEL! The Lloyd Hotel claims they specialize in rooms from 1-5 stars in rating depending on your budget. I paid over 170 Euros a night for a private that feels like a boarding house for troubled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, It definately sounds like the Lloyd Hotel Is just not your thing. I hope you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself & my husband stayed here for a cheeky little trip away.they put us in a horrible low budget twin room but as soon as I asked to move rooms they did.absolutely loved the hotel and our double room was beautiful!! Shame about the rude male receptionist though. Would off liked to know about the deposit you have to leave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad that we were able to find the right room for you and great to read you had a good stay. We pride ourselves in our level of service and will do the utmost to redeem ourselves on your next visit. Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team More 

Eat Anglia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here with my family and my husband Stuart has reviewed the accommodation below. I would add that the hotel is in a residential area with restaurants in easy walking distance. We enjoyed the tapas restaurant directly opposite, a cafe for a great breakfast art and an Italian (Pasta Vino) a short tram ride away. There are many more. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review

Thanks for letting other travellers know about all the different optons in the neighbourhood. It is continuously changing. Just check with us on your next trip for the newest spots. Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team More 

Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very very comfortable beds, very quiet, peaceful. Good location near to tram. No kettle in room. There was a narrow wardrobe, but no hooks to hang anything in bathroom or bedroom. Lovely breakfast, great atmospheric dining room. Funky/quirky type place, despite huge size. Loved it overall!

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review

Dear Katie, Thanks for letting us know about your stay. I am glad that you had a good stay. We have quoooker points on all the even floors, so you can make a cup of tea or coffee. Should you prefer your own ketel next time, just ask at reception. kind regards, Tha Lloyd Hotel Team More 

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is good, easy to get to from airport via train and tram and easy to get into the heart of the city. Staff is great! Rooms are rated from 1-5 star. I contacted hotel before arrival and bc of availability was upgraded at no charge from a 1 to 2 star room. This change was important to me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so sorry to read we didn't have any higher category rooms on arrival, sorry for the confusion. I am glad we found the right room for you for the second night and that you enjoyed your stay! Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

707 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (364)
Viewed
Room/suite (95)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (74)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
View from room (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
3:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (94)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (283)
Viewed
1 Star Room (11)
Viewed
2 Star Room (50)
Viewed
3 Star Room (43)
Viewed
5 Star Room (49)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (60)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question