We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 345 Amsterdam hotels

Lloyd Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Lloyd Hotel to your Saves list
Lloyd Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
63%
Ranked #154 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Elizaveta0908
  • Overview
  • Reviews (695)
  • Photos (592)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (134)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

695 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    274
    109
    69
    71
See reviews for
93
238
55
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Unusual hotel, comfortable room, free wifi ) Good breakfast. Nice view from the window. We had funny bathroom and toilet ))) Not far from the Central station, 20 - 25 min walk. We stayed only one night , so cannot say much ... But anyway nothing bad !

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights in a 3* room. The room was light and spacious with a great open plan shower/wet-room and an AMAZINGLY comfy big bed. We chose not to eat breakfast at the hotel, simply because of the price (we were inter railing so tried to avoid paying for luxuries) instead getting up, getting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed a few nights here whilst on business. If you want old school Dutch, this is your place. Rooms are fantastic, high ceilings, huge beds and immaculate. Food is great, breakfast is typical continental style. Highly recommended. Staff very friendly and inviting, you get the feeling nothing is too much trouble.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review

What a great review, thanks! I am glad that you had a fantastic time and that we were able to help where necessary. I look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Amsterdam. Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The receptionists were friendly and helpful, but many of the rooms are absolutely horrible. We changed rooms a couple of times... the last one was ok, but not more than expected for a hotel. No air-condition, and some of the rooms with almost no possibility to open the windows what so ever. Not at all a family hotel. The hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review

So sorry to read that the rooms initially didn't live up to your expectations! We have so many different rooms it isn't always easy to find the perfect room straight away. I agree that air conditioning would have been nice during the warm days we've had in August. In general we don't have many very warm days (unfortunately), so the... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Clean, easily accessible via tram from Amsterdam central which is roughly a 10 minute ride. Right on the waterfront. Rooms are ok, common toilets/showers which are reasonably clean. Overall will stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for letting us and other travellers know about your stay. Good to read that you were able to find your way around the city easily. The tram system can sometimes be a bit confusing, I hope we were able to help you out with travel cards at the front desk. Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel Team More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here just over a week ago in the 2 star room. It is a spacious room for what you pay and had a lovely double bed. There is no aircon so it can be a bit hot in the summer but you can open windows to get a draught through. The main thing about the room was the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you liked the room we allocated to you. Having so many differently styled rooms, this can sometimes be a challenge! I agree that discovering Amsterdam by bike is the best option. Hope to see you again in Amsterdam. More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's my 4th time here & I've stayed in 1*, 2*, 3*, 4* star rooms - & each time has been a great experience. I like the location, the staff are friendly & helpful. We hired bikes this time from the hotel which worked well. Can't wait to come back

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review

It's great to hear that you had another great stay with us! Hopefully we will see you again soon. Let us know if you have already found a "favourite" room so that we can make sure to book that room again for you! Kind regards, The Lloyd Hotel staff More

2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is my edited review of the Lloyd hotel. My last review contained content from their own materials about their history as a detention center, and I was told it was not family friendly and they erased my review. So my new review is limited to the hotel as I experienced it. (Please read about the hotel in advance). The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nora, I am so sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I totally agree that it is good to read up on us as our hotel has a unique concept (1 to 5 stars) and a rich and diverse history. The room you referred to is a room designed by architects MVRDV. They wanted... More

Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I booked my hotel on the bus from Paris to Amsterdam. A tram ride away from central and next to the old port. Taxi is the only option for late nights. Pricey for a 1star room. However I had to work on a fixed budget. At the reception I was told about a 2 star available at double the price... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheLloydHotel, Manager at Lloyd Hotel, responded to this review

What a shame that we weren't capable of offering you the level of service we are accustomed to giving all our guests! Our receptionists should know that it is possible to lock all our doors from the inside, safety is very important to us. I can fully understand your frustration that after changing rooms your invoice wasn't correct on check... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Lloyd Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Lloyd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lloyd Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

592 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (280)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (54)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (60)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
3:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (87)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (283)
Viewed
1 Star Room (11)
Viewed
2 Star Room (50)
Viewed
3 Star Room (43)
Viewed
5 Star Room (49)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Amsterdam with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#84 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
117

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lloyd Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer