We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 177 Amsterdam accommodations

PhilDutch Houseboat Bed and Breakfast

3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Nicolaas Witsenkade t/o 17, 1017 ZW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
Hotel amenities
PhilDutch Houseboat Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added PhilDutch Houseboat Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
89%
Ranked #69 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010
Mei_Muscat Muscat, Oman
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    18
    3
    3
    9
See reviews for
12
38
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (137)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
There are newer reviews for PhilDutch Houseboat Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Muscat, Oman
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

I had a wonderful stay in this houseboat. The rooms are cozy and the toilet's very clean. I mostly enjoyed feeding the swans from outside the window each morning. Its location is situated near most of the tourist spots which is very convenient. From the moment I arrived Amsterdam until my last day, Efren, my host, delivered quality service. He... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

I have just returned from Amsterdam where I spent 2 nights on this houseboat with my boyfriend. We said we would leave a review on here because we had such a lovely experience. The houseboat is so warm and comforting, like a floating home from home! Our room was tastefully furnished and well equipped. The boat is in a great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

My husband and I spent 6 nights on Efren's boat, we had the whole boat to ourselves and it was wonderful. This boat has everything you can think of, my favorite is the bathtub with a window out to the canal and the kitchen. We cooked most nights with the wonderful fish and goodies found at Albert Cyup Market just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oberursel (Taunus), Germany
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
54 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

With respect to earlier comments on booking procedure, use due diligence, read the information and contact Efren directly. He responded immediately to my phone call and I had a confirmed reservation almost immediately after. He then again responded to my follow up email a week before our visit and phoned the day before our arrival to check our arrival time.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

We think the owner its greasy DON'T GO here. We are book a Houseboat after a long trip from 14 h to Amsterdam we will sleep. When we com dare the whas no plase its whas fully BOOK. It whas a realy busy weekend in Amsterdam and everything was Fully book, we need to go out amsterdam. When we talk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
jersey city, new jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Booked two nights on April 23, 2010. Tried to confirm 3 times in August, asked him to cancel my last email. No reply from efrin (zero for 3). Very unfortunate, given the city is sold out 9/11 weekend. Very disappointed. Have to stay in Antwerp now an 1 hour and 15 away. He better not try and charge my card!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PhilDutchHouseboat, Owner at PhilDutch Houseboat Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Sir/ Ma'am, Thank you for the review but honestly I don't remember you. It's impossible for me not to reply to your E-Mail because I always check my E-Mails. I remember another person complaining about her booking but they booked the Booking Agency and I can reply to that booking agency within 48 Hours. Again, if you did not... More

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We have stayed on houseboats our last 4 trips to Amsterdam. For the traveler looking for a different experience,there is nothing like being on a houseboat. There is a great little terrace where you can just watch the boats go by. There is a full kitchen,large bathroom,one small bedroom with TV and refrig. The main room includes the kitchen,eating area,two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lexington, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

I made a reservation back in February and now less than 2 weeks before I am scheduled to stay there I get a notice that my reservation has been cancelled. Effran gave some lame excuse about needing to fix a faucet. Of course now many of the other places I would have chosen to stay are not available. This guy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PhilDutchHouseboat, Owner at PhilDutch Houseboat Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I respect your point of view and I'm already expecting this kind of negative comment from you since you warned me already that you will write on Trip Advisor. But please sir, you forgot to mention that I did not cancel your 3 nights stay instead only 1 night because of the supposed to be renovation in your... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

not sure what is going on with this place. I made a booking through Venere.com for Aug 2010, and asked if the houseboat would be available for just us, or would we have to share. A reasonable question I think given that the details are not clear. My booking was canceled within hours with no explanation. Judging from the other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PhilDutchHouseboat, Owner at PhilDutch Houseboat Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Maám, This is to inform you that you booked the Hotel Booking Agency and I have the right to decline or reject the booking within 48 Hours if I'm fully booked. Meaning once you booked online it's not yet a guarantee that your booking is confirmed since I'm checking my E-Mail within 48 Hours specially those booking... More

silver spring, md
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

It's very interesting staying on a houseboat-don't confuse it with staying in a hotel. You are in charge of your surroundings, your meals, and you have to clean up after yourself, which we did not find to be an issue. There is a breakfast included option, but we were more interested in trying things in the city. You can walk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Do you own or manage PhilDutch Houseboat Bed and Breakfast?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to PhilDutch Houseboat Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PhilDutch Houseboat Bed and Breakfast

Address: Nicolaas Witsenkade t/o 17, 1017 ZW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — PhilDutch Houseboat Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your PhilDutch Houseboat Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phildutch Houseboat b&b
Phildutch Houseboat Hotel Amsterdam

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (120)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
0:49
Videos (8)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near PhilDutch Houseboat Bed and Breakfast

Enlarge Map