We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The College Hotel

Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Preferred Hotels.. to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The College Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

466 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The College Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Port Talbot
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A surprise birthday treat from my brother who lives in Amsterdam. Beautiful hotel let down by poor service. We were shown to our table and presented with our tea, glass of bubbly and sandwiches which were lovely but nothing else arrived for a considerable time. After asking our waiter for our scones and pastries he assured us they would be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ceri W
Dave O, Front office manager at The College Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ceri W, First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time writing a review about your recent stay. However I am sorry to hear that your visit was to your satisfaction. After reading your review I am really sad to read that we did not offer you the experience, which at least meet our standards.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

When we booked the hotel, we knew we booked a room in a hotel where they train students for a career in hospitality. This is great and makes it all a bit different which is good. However, the supervisors/trainers will have to step up their mark and make sure the students are at least trying to deliver the best guest... More 

Helpful?
Thank ESCZ
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is used as a training hotel and as such the staff, whilst inexperienced, were extremely attentive. The room rate reflects that it is a training hotel, however food and drink is on the pricey side with breakfast at €24.50 pp. There is a nice bakery across the road which serves breakfasts but it is closed on Mondays. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank JellyBean22
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Probably our 4th visit to Amsterdam and the college is one we would go back to. Amazing conversion with tasteful rooms and a great bar. Service a little lacking in places but was always very friendly. Good location for exploring.

Helpful?
1 Thank brightonbeachboy
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel is situated in an ideal location for travelers who want to enjoy the beauty and culture of Amsterdam away from all the noise and annoyances of sex and drug tourists. Rooms are beautifully decorated although I found the corridors to be a bit dark. Hotel staff with very friendly and did their best to help but I must... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller L
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Nicely renovated building located in a perfect neighbourhood. Operated 80% by hotel school students. Staff is young and nice but sometimes need improvement and is lacky experience. Rooms are perfectly renovated and have a goode size. Bathroom are ok but a bit dark. Frontdesk is helpfull. Bar is nice Although Not necessary business orientated, business traveler will find all what... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris B
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had the opportunity of spending 3 days in Amsterdam and chose The College Hotel for our first visit to this beautiful city. We found a surprisingly modern, classy, well decorated and comfortable premise but, even though it´s a 12 minute walk to the channels area where the city really breathes, we found it a little far from where we... More 

Helpful?
Thank ndealmenara
Dave O, Front office manager at The College Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Traveller, THank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We appriciate you took the time to write your thoughts down. We are happy to read your stay was fine. Concerning your comment about a bucket of ice, I have informed our F More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the college hotel in Sep 2012. In our view the hotel is very well located, just 5 minutes walking from the van gogh museum and 5 minutes riding bike from the channels. In addition there is a tram stop right in front of the hotel. In this sense, location is 5star, as it is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rogerio B
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

The service is impeccable where students are learning by doing and so keen to do the job well - it is such a pleasant surprise to be greeted by enthusiastic young, well presented staff that cannot do enough to help. The building is spectacular and the 10 fot high doors are beautiful. My room was really comfortable, everything worked and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan J
Dave O, Guest relations manager at The College Hotel, responded to this review

Dear traveller, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on tripadvisor.com concerning your stay with us. We are very happy to read your stay was comfortable. We hope to see you again in our hotel soon. Kind regards, Dave Overeem Front Office Manager More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed with a girl friend and telephoned at the time of booking to ensure a twin room. Upon checking in they offered us a free upgrade but with a double bed we declined and said we'd be happy with our original booking. They then couldn't find a room with 2 beds so we had to leave our cases and went... More 

Helpful?
Thank MsVictoria
Dave O, Front office manager at The College Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Traveller, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel on Tripadvisor. By this way we are able to find critical points within our organization. We are sorry that your room was not available upon your arrival. Our guaranteed check in time is 15h00. This might have influanced the check in process. Within... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

271 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (158)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
1:42
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (75)
Viewed
Luxury Room (20)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (15)
Viewed
Superior Room (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,020 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#30 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#39 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,761 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#20 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)

Neighborhood Profile
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Top sites to see in this attractive and affluent part of town include the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum, to name but two of the highly acclaimed museums of the aptly named Museum Quarter. And if you need a break from all the fantastic art, there’s the Neoclassical Concertgebouw music hall and Vondelpark, the city’s largest park. Shopaholics and luxury brand connoisseurs will love exploring the high-end shopping destinations of PC Hooftstraat, Van Baerlestraat, Cornelis Schuytstraat, and Jacob Obrechtstraat, where even the shop window displays are of museum quality. In the evenings, when the museums close and the daytrippers head home, the area becomes a quiet oasis of calm with a sophisticated and urbane tone.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay