We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Student Hotel Amsterdam

3.0 of 5 Jan van Galenstraat 335, 1061 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Student Hotel Amsterdam
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Student Hotel Amsterdam
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    118
    44
    13
    8
See reviews for
14
135
26
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (253)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (100)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Student Hotel Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Balzan, Malta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stay was pretty good - absolutely loved the style of the hotel, ultra modern and very student friendly from top to bottom. Could keep one busy if s/he chooses to spend a day at the hotel. Both reception staff and canteen staff were super helpful and efficient in their services, chamber maids were friendly too. The only thing that upset... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carter J, Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Julia, We are very happy to hear that you loved the style and ambiance of our hotel! It is great to hear about your positive experience with our staff and services! We promote a new experience with forward thinking design concepts and are very pleased that our customers enjoy them as much as we do. We also appreciate your... More 

regina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We are staying at the hotel from July 10 to 14. When we got there on the tenth after three pm they still had no rooms clean and were not ready for check in. So we waited for about 20 minutes. This was fine. When we checked in we asked about a laundry service and she neglected to mention the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Carter J, Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Chiddena, Thanks a lot for sharing your experience. We are pleased to see that you found our rooms, facilities and staff nice! We are so sorry to hear about the different organisational issues that you experienced. We'll make sure to share your review with our staff in order to improve the quality of our organisation. I would like to... More 

Zurich
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was the best hotel I have stayed in, in a long while. The amenities were fabulous, the lounge, sport and dining areas great. The room was quiet, heat adjustable, fridge, stove and microwave. The bathroom was well stocked and private (I was sharing with a colleague). This was a great find and I will strongly recommend it to anyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with family, there was 8 of us ages ranging from 14 to 50. As we had only paid £200 per room I did not expect much however the hotel was immaculate and very modern. The rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable. There was also a bath which was great as I expected... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Carter J, Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks a lot for your amazing review! It is very detailed and it explained very clearly practical aspects of our Hotel and surroundings. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your stay and that we pleasantly surprised you. On top of our great facilities, we try our best to make sure there is something exciting to do... More 

Athens, Attiki, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

What a great hotel outside Amsterdam city. Hotel i s full of life as its name suggests it hosts mainly young students and if there is vacancy it also hosts tourists. So, this hotel has great internal decoration with its ping pong table, the billiard, the sofa etc. the only downside of this hotel is that it is a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Carter J, Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Konstantinos C, I am very happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I can definitely see that you felt exactly the atmosphere that makes The Student Hotel so special everyday! Thanks a lot for your positive review. We would be very happy to welcome you back anytime. Drop us a line on Facebook if you decide to... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel ticked lots of boxes - as per the review title. Yes it's a little out of the way and doesn't have a lot going on but tram 13 which is literally outside of the hotel takes you to everything you could possibly need. Has good TV channels and the food in their 'canteen' is nice. They have fuseball,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The Student Hotel is situated in across the road from the Jan Van Galenstraat tram and metro stops. It is about a 20 minute tram ride into the city centre and trams come every few minutes. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel is quite modern, although not in the traditional sense. For anyone who knows what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carter J, Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Diddlydoo, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We appreciate your favourable review about our staff and overall hotel feel! We will definitely be taking your comments about the room services into consideration for the future. We are pleased to find that you enjoyed our facilities such as the gym and common areas, as well as our restaurant... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is okay. No cash payments taken, which means surcharge of 2.75% every time! Kettle in room, but no cups! No drinking water and bar could not provide a jug! No hair dryer in room! Basic stuff. Only two pillows on a double bed. Room not cleaned and no fresh towels!!! Coffee also in bar was huge disappointment. Tasted of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carter J, Gérant at The Student Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Fiona, Thanks a lot for taking the time to review The Student Hotel on Tripadvisor. It's always very interesting and useful for our team to hear about what makes The Student Hotel experience a good one and what could be improved. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed by your stay with us. Overall the points you mentioned,... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel is modern, clean and new. The room is very small, although it is comfortable. The bathroom is new and clean. The staff are super attentive and helpful. There is young and cool atmosphere at the hotel. The hotel is away from the tourist atractions of amsterdam, however there is a subway station next to the hotel that takes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Carter J, Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Thais G, Thanks a lot for your 4 star review and recommendation! We are happy to hear you globally enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the nice atmosphere of The Student Hotel. We would be very pleased to welcome you back in our hotel any time! Kind regards, Carter Jones More 

Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a single night in Amsterdam prior to heading to Mallorca. All other hotels were extremely expensive and since it was a single night, we didn't require anything fancy so chose the Student Hotel. I was very pleasantly surprised. The staff let us check in about an hour early (thank god as it was not a nice day for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carter J, Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Anissa, I am very happy to hear you had a great surprised and enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks a lot for your nice review on Tripadvisor, it is very much appreciated. We will be very happy to welcome you back anytime. Please feel free to drop us a line on our Facebook page if you decide to do... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Student Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Student Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Jan van Galenstraat 335, 1061 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Student Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 709
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Student Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay