We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 176 Amsterdam accommodations

The Student Hotel Amsterdam

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Jan van Galenstraat 335, 1061 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Student Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
The Student Hotel Amsterdam
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
71%
Ranked #48 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014
Grace_S89 London
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    88
    35
    13
    8
See reviews for
14
109
22
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for The Student Hotel Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights for a Valentines Day trip. The hotel was exactly as we expected - modern, clean, trendy and young. The staff were friendly and helpful and they allowed us to check in 4 hours early on our first day, free of charge. The rooms are very basic but immaculately clean and everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel is nice. Staff however where not so friendly to us. I also witnessed the man at reception shouting at someone who had only asked him for a plastic cup. I thought this was very rude. The rooms are clean but too basic. Not in a great location!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carter J, Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Roberta, We would firstly like to thank you for sharing your experience and are glad to hear your appreciation for the cleanliness of the hotel. We would like to apologize for the shouting incident you had encountered. I have personally communicated the occurrence to the staff , ensuring your comments be met with actions to avoid a similar incident.... More

Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay! Only a quick bike ride to the centre of town. The staff were very helpful and very nice. Had lunch and dinner in the kitchen and was beautiful. Will for sure come back and stay :) thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frank U, Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Kpmoustache, Thank you for taking the time to leave this great review! I am very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us - and enjoyed the food too! I would be very happy to welcome you back. If you want to keep an eye on our future sales or special events, I invite you to follow us... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Was at the student hotel for about a week when I was in Amsterdam. I was sorely disappointed by the incompetence of the staff - they didn't have my room ready at check-in time, and were scrambling when I checked out, hurrying me out before the designated time in order to get someone else in my room. The receptionist at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frank U, Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Missy S, First of all thank you for taking the time to review The Student Hotel on Tripadvisor. Your comment is very precious for us to understand why you did not fully enjoy your stay. I am very sorry to hear we did not reach your expectations as much as we aimed to. Be sure your feedback will be... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I had never been to amsterdam before and I got lucky by deciding to stay at the student hotel. The tram is just outside and gets you into the centre in 20 minutes,its also nice way to get around and cheap to use if you buy a day ticket. The rooms are sparse but clean and cleaned each day with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Frank U, Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Hi Stephen, Thank you for your review! We are pleased you recommend our Hotel on Tripadvisor and most of all that you had a nice stay with us! We will be more than happy to welcome you back anytime. Drop us a line on Facebook if you plan to come back. Have a nice day, Frank. More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Was in Amsterdam for the weekend. Had to options to choose aside from Student Hotel and decided to stay here instead. Room is huge, so does the toilet! It's a little bit out of the Centrum, however is easily accessible via tram which is right in front of the Hotel! I would definitely stay here again the next time in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 days. This is one of the best value hotels I have ever seen in Europe. They have big rooms, a library, bike for rent, baskeball court, gym, restaurant, sitting area and the property is quite big. And you get all this in mere Euro 55. Its right next to metro station and there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frank U, Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Hi Shubhranshu K, Thank you for your review! We are pleased you recommend our Hotel on Tripadvisor and most of all that you had a nice stay with us! We will be more than happy to welcome you back anytime. Drop us a line on Facebook if you plan to come back. Have a lovely day, Frank Uffen. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend. Given the hotel prices elsewhere in the city this was the default choice at 60gbp per night (compared with 100+ at the weekend). The location isn't great, but the 13 tram is frequent and fast. The hotel is smart and modern. The sandwiches available from the kitchen are pretty good, but a little expensive.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

i just recently came home from staying in the student hotel, i was very very pleased with our room, was very clean, bed was really comfy, toilet was clean, with clean towels... staff were really nice and considering its only a 3 star hotel the restaurant food was lovely. its a simular lay out to student halls, modern but simple.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frank U, Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Hi Lauren h, Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor! We are pleased you recommend our Hotel and most of all that you had a great stay with us! We will be more than happy to welcome you back anytime. Drop us a line on Facebook or Twitter if you decide to do so! Have a lovely day, Frank Uffen. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Student Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Student Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Student Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Jan van Galenstraat 335, 1061 AZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Student Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Student Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Amsterdam with
any amenities