We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 168 Amsterdam accommodations

The Student Hotel Amsterdam

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Jan van Galenstraat 335, Amsterdam 1061 AZ, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Student Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
The Student Hotel Amsterdam
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
70%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Evgenii G Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
4
29
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I doubted whether I should write this review, mainly because I stayed at TSH for some 7 months (you can get a long-term contract) and I don't know whether the service the short-term guests received is identical to what we, the rentees got. But who can this hurt? So here's what I think: Student Hotel tried to create some friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carter J, Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Evgenii G, Thanks a lot for your 4 star review! We are very happy to see that despite some details you generally enjoyed your stay and that you met some unforgettable friends from all over the world. Your feedback is very precious to The Student Hotel as it helps us to improve. We aim to give our guests the... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place was a huge scam and more. The only way to have a reasonable stay if you do not get the meal plan. They switched the plan without telling customers (and employees) from stars where you can mix and match a variety of different food for a meal to plan where there is only one choice for lunch and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frank U, Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Anabel, First of all thank you for taking the time to review The Student Hotel on Tripadvisor. We try our best to provide the nicest stay students could dream of, weather it is for a couple of nights or a couple of months. So I am very sorry to hear you had such a poor experience with us! By... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

I recently just got back from Amsterdam after my first trip there. It's safe to say I have the blues and already planning my next trip back and I WILL be staying at The Student Hotel again, without a doubt. When I first booked the hotel it was definitely booked for the cheapness, as young travellers we didn't care much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Frank U, Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear HYYoung, Thank you for your comment and ranking! I am very pleased to hear you fully enjoyed your stay with us and would be more than happy to welcome you back in Amsterdam! If you want to keep an eye on our future sales or special events, I invite you to follow us on Facebook http://facebook.com/thestudenthotel Have a lovely... More

London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights for a Valentines Day trip. The hotel was exactly as we expected - modern, clean, trendy and young. The staff were friendly and helpful and they allowed us to check in 4 hours early on our first day, free of charge. The rooms are very basic but immaculately clean and everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel is nice. Staff however where not so friendly to us. I also witnessed the man at reception shouting at someone who had only asked him for a plastic cup. I thought this was very rude. The rooms are clean but too basic. Not in a great location!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay! Only a quick bike ride to the centre of town. The staff were very helpful and very nice. Had lunch and dinner in the kitchen and was beautiful. Will for sure come back and stay :) thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frank U, Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Kpmoustache, Thank you for taking the time to leave this great review! I am very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us - and enjoyed the food too! I would be very happy to welcome you back. If you want to keep an eye on our future sales or special events, I invite you to follow us... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Was at the student hotel for about a week when I was in Amsterdam. I was sorely disappointed by the incompetence of the staff - they didn't have my room ready at check-in time, and were scrambling when I checked out, hurrying me out before the designated time in order to get someone else in my room. The receptionist at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frank U, Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Missy S, First of all thank you for taking the time to review The Student Hotel on Tripadvisor. Your comment is very precious for us to understand why you did not fully enjoy your stay. I am very sorry to hear we did not reach your expectations as much as we aimed to. Be sure your feedback will be... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I had never been to amsterdam before and I got lucky by deciding to stay at the student hotel. The tram is just outside and gets you into the centre in 20 minutes,its also nice way to get around and cheap to use if you buy a day ticket. The rooms are sparse but clean and cleaned each day with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Frank U, Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Hi Stephen, Thank you for your review! We are pleased you recommend our Hotel on Tripadvisor and most of all that you had a nice stay with us! We will be more than happy to welcome you back anytime. Drop us a line on Facebook if you plan to come back. Have a nice day, Frank. More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Was in Amsterdam for the weekend. Had to options to choose aside from Student Hotel and decided to stay here instead. Room is huge, so does the toilet! It's a little bit out of the Centrum, however is easily accessible via tram which is right in front of the Hotel! I would definitely stay here again the next time in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 days. This is one of the best value hotels I have ever seen in Europe. They have big rooms, a library, bike for rent, baskeball court, gym, restaurant, sitting area and the property is quite big. And you get all this in mere Euro 55. Its right next to metro station and there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frank U, Manager at The Student Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Hi Shubhranshu K, Thank you for your review! We are pleased you recommend our Hotel on Tripadvisor and most of all that you had a nice stay with us! We will be more than happy to welcome you back anytime. Drop us a line on Facebook if you plan to come back. Have a lovely day, Frank Uffen. More

Been to The Student Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Student Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Jan van Galenstraat 335, Amsterdam 1061 AZ, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 168 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Student Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your The Student Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Student Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.