We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alexander Hotel

#117 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alexander Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    131
    54
    15
    7
See reviews for
51
115
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (307)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (77)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (77)
All months
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I would best describe this hotel as quaint from an American point of view. We were in a quad room on the lower level the first night - some creaking floors and noise from walking overhead. Two of our group left as scheduled and we moved to a 2nd floor double room. Both were clean with a good sized but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
wolverhampton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a super hotel. 2 minutes walk from the tram stop Leidesplien and near enough to walk to the centre if required. (20 minutes) The staff are fantastic, so helpful and polite. The room was excellent. Immaculately clean with comfortable beds and pillows. Even left us a box of chocolates on our last evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much LeckieWolverhampton, your words overwhelm us greatly! We would love to accommodate your stay on your next trip to Amsterdam. Thanks a lot from the crew! Warm regards, Alexander Team. More 

Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Alexander Hotel is a delightful spot on a quiet street, just a short walk to the Leidseplein. We had a triple room, set off from the main hotel building in the garden courtyard. The room was spacious, with a very nice and rather large bathroom and shower compared to typical European standards. The beds were comfortable and there were absolutely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

We can not be more grateful with your words, bunnyhero13. We feel very glad that you have enjoyed in such a nice way your stay at our Hotel. We really hope you choose us again in the future! Warm regards, Alexander Team More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here with 5 other friends, one double room one triple room. The rooms were clean and had everything you need. The staff were super helpful and the reception was open 24 hours a day. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from restaurants, pubs and clubs and only a 15 minute walk to the flower market and town centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

We just hope you choose us again in the future Elizabeth P. Thank you very much for your review from the crew. Warm regards, Alexander Team. More 

Malta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

We stayed at this Hotel in February 2015, in a room for 4 people. It was quite spacious with an equally spacious bathroom. Nothing extraordinary but good for a couple of days. The reception staff was always helpful and our room was always clean and presumably the towel where (hopefully) changed. However I was not 100% sure that this was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review Laura C. We are glad to hear that you have liked your stay and would recommend us, although you found at first point the price a bit "high" without breakfast. We do appreciate you've explained your feelings! *(rates are constantly changing according to availability) We hope to see you again in the future!... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

I enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Alexander. I had Room 25 on the second floor, overlooking the street. This was a double room, and I was there on my own. I guess it would have been a bit cramped if there were two of you - but hey, this is Amsterdam and you are not going to be spending... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

We cannot be more grateful with your review, JNHQ. You've explained every detail of your stay which it may help others guest in the future! We are very glad to read your words and want to thank you from all the staff for your lovely attention to everything at your review. We definitely hope to see you again! Alexander Team. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

Very cosy hotel, which has a very good location. The room is spacious. The view from window is beautiful. Staff was very friendly and nice. But there were some problems with cleaning in the room. In my first day there, towels were dirty. In general, I liked it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate knowing that your stay was very good YuliaYulia4, despite that little mistake on our part with towels . Thank you also for let us know, because it always helps us improve . Thanks for choosing us as the place to spend your holiday in Amsterdam. We hope to see you again soon! Alexander Team. More 

Bideford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

The small double room was pretty small although we did'nt spend much time in the room so it didn't seem to matter. Room and bathroom was clean. Breakfast was yummy and the staff there were really friendly. Good location, walking distance to town and we even walked to the Train station! Although Tram is much Quicker! Loved Amsterdam and will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jodieelisabetht, Thank you very much for your nice review! We are very glad to read that your stay was such a good one that you want to come back already! It would be a real pleasure to have you again in your next trip to Amsterdam. Warm regards, Alexander Hotel. More 

derbyshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is perfect for a short budget break. The rooms are perfectly good and we had a quad room. Perfect location and we will return to Amsteram in a few years. The beds are so so comfy. Yes Amsterdam is expensive but though we had a budget , we had a fab time. The shops are to die for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ruthmasters, Thank you very much for you lovely words and review! It would be a pleasure for us to have you here in your next time in Amsterdam. It is always nice to hear your advices to improve our facilities. We do much appreciate it! All the best, Alexander Team. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (78)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
1:38
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question