We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alexander Hotel

3.0 of 5 Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alexander Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    126
    50
    15
    7
See reviews for
47
110
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (292)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (77)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (77)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars NEW

I enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Alexander. I had Room 25 on the second floor, overlooking the street. This was a double room, and I was there on my own. I guess it would have been a bit cramped if there were two of you - but hey, this is Amsterdam and you are not going to be spending... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very cosy hotel, which has a very good location. The room is spacious. The view from window is beautiful. Staff was very friendly and nice. But there were some problems with cleaning in the room. In my first day there, towels were dirty. In general, I liked it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate knowing that your stay was very good YuliaYulia4, despite that little mistake on our part with towels . Thank you also for let us know, because it always helps us improve . Thanks for choosing us as the place to spend your holiday in Amsterdam. We hope to see you again soon! Alexander Team. More 

Bideford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The small double room was pretty small although we did'nt spend much time in the room so it didn't seem to matter. Room and bathroom was clean. Breakfast was yummy and the staff there were really friendly. Good location, walking distance to town and we even walked to the Train station! Although Tram is much Quicker! Loved Amsterdam and will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jodieelisabetht, Thank you very much for your nice review! We are very glad to read that your stay was such a good one that you want to come back already! It would be a real pleasure to have you again in your next trip to Amsterdam. Warm regards, Alexander Hotel. More 

derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is perfect for a short budget break. The rooms are perfectly good and we had a quad room. Perfect location and we will return to Amsteram in a few years. The beds are so so comfy. Yes Amsterdam is expensive but though we had a budget , we had a fab time. The shops are to die for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ruthmasters, Thank you very much for you lovely words and review! It would be a pleasure for us to have you here in your next time in Amsterdam. It is always nice to hear your advices to improve our facilities. We do much appreciate it! All the best, Alexander Team. More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights in January 2015. Lovely hotel in a quiet neighbourhood. Throughout my stay, I've had the pleasure of meeting Rob, Tony and Sally at the reception. They were all very friendly and helpful, contrary to comments left by some reviewers here (maybe the guests themselves were rude?). Anyway, I arrived early in the morning and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Audra O, We are more than glad and grateful after reading your review! Thank you very much. It would help others to know a bit more about the area as well. That´s very kind from you. Hopefully, you would have the chance to come in summer some time again and enjoy the lovely Amsterdam when shines! It would be... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

I stayed here last week for a couple of nights. Room was nice and clean (bath a bit small) . Good location. Helpful and friendly staff, apart from the reception lady Selly-not helpful and not nice at all- v disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brit-ania99, We are very sorry to hear that. We are glad you liked your stay besides that inconvenience. We would like you to feel comfortable with everything at the Hotel. We apologizes for any bad situation and we look forward to see you again soon. Warm regards, Alexander Team. More 

Tel Aviv District, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

it's a very nice hotel with the greatest staff I ever seen. so sweet and lovely. They always happy to help with information about the city and things needed in the hotel. really I would give them 5 stars in service. the location is excellent for people who like to be in the center, but not the hardcore of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hamutal M, We want to thank you very much for your lovely words! It is really import for us to know that our guests feel that way while their stay! We will keep on improving! We would love to see you again staying at Alexander Hotel on your next visit to Amsterdam. All the best, Alexander Team. More 

West Midlands, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

We stayed in one of the garden lodges outside of the main hotel. It was very quiet, no noise at all and not disturbed by other guests due to being located in the garden. Hotel is Very close to all amenities including club paradiso, Hard Rock Cafe, Leidesplein and museum platz, in walking distance of the riksmuseum and Van Gogh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sonogrande, Thank you very much for your review. It is filled with very useful information for future guest. We really appreciate that and are very glad about your stay with us. Looking forward to accommodate you in the future again. Best regards, Alexander Team. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Good location 5 minute walk from Leidesplein where it's all going on & loads a trams to everywhere else. Hotel is nice and clean. Decent shower. Friendly staff. Comfy bed. Warm in winter - freezinggg outside!! No tea/coffee facility in room but machine downstairs. Can smoke out the back :) Can leave luggage after check out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kate O, We are very grateful with your review. Thank you. It is always nice to hear from our guests that they have enjoyed their stay at the Hotel. We hope to see you again in your next visit to Amsterdam. Warm regards, Alexander Hotel. More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

I can’t say anything negative about this hotel as it was a great location and a very good price (we paid €150 / £117) for 3 nights. The rooms aren’t anything special but they are simple and importantly clean. The bed was comfortable, the shower was good and there was a TV and free wi-fi. If you want a luxurious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ciara19, First of all, thank you very much for your nice review about the Hotel facilities and your stay with us! We consider it very helpful for future guests. We do much appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon in your next trip to Amsterdam! All the best, Alexander Team. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (78)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
1:38
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay