We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Amsterdam Canal Hotel

#76 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Weteringschans 253, 1017 XJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    76
    63
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
19
98
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (167)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

I booked this hotel for my boyfriend as a surprise for his birthday. When we arrived 2 hours early our room was already ready and the young lady took us there early with no problem.. We stayed in luxury ground room with a fantastic bath, small but clean room and awesome big bed. Breakfast fantastic better than some 4* hotels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

This hotel has many good points but sadly also some fairly bad points. On the plus side, 1) The staff are young, nice and helpful, 2) the hotel is attractive 3) The hotel is in a good location. If you want the museums and a quieter part of town this is where to be and there are good transport links... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Athens
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

First of all I must tell that the hotel was very clean. The breakfast was nice with variety ,but , the room was extremely hot . We woke up during the night in order to open the windows and take a shower. Also the bathroom is separated from the room by a transparent glass and it is not comfortable for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

My wife and I visited Amsterdam this month (November) for the first time in over 20 years. We decided to treat ourselves to a nice hotel and The Amsterdam Canal Hotel did not disappoint. The rooms are furnished to a very high standard with every comfort. The staff were lovely and very helpful throughout our stay. The breakfast was good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

I stayed five nights at this hotel and found it to be very comfortable and conveniently located. My room was really large - not typical in Europe so this was much appreciated. An excellent breakfast was served downstairs, with the option to order eggs and pancakes (the pancakes were delicious!). My room was very clean with a lovely bathroom, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

its a nice small hotel with small rooms which are clean. the one we stayed had a nice jacuzzi bath tub. the steps are very narrow and steep and has no elevator. if you have heavy baggage it can be back breakiing to carry it up. the staff are very friendly and the breakfast is good. location is walking distance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay here , our room was beautifully decorated and very clean , bed was the comfiest I have ever slept in , coffee machine in the room and tea making facilities plus the added bonus of uk channels on the TV ! The breakfast was amazing a choice of fruit , cold meats and cheeses , cereal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Lovely rooms, very comfortable bed and plenty of great quality breakfast choices. Modern and functional bathroom We will visit again! Great friendly staff and good locality to nice areas to see. Very windy and steep stairs - quite the norm in Amsterdam and to be expected.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Hotel is in a good location for exploring Amsterdam - on foot or via trams. Friendly, helpful staff. The room (standard) was clean and comfortable but rather small, double bed positioned right next to the window. However OK for a short stay. The bed itself was extremely comfortable. The front rooms are on a busy road and there is some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

The Hotel is fine, nice room if poor ventilation. Problem came when I checkout, the bill showed 2 people staying and charged for 2 breakfast, I queried this and they apologised saying they would process a refund to me credit card, but they didn't, so called and asked again, again they said they would. After several more calls, two with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmsterdamCanal_Hotel, General Manager at The Amsterdam Canal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are always trying to improve our services. I have contacted the manager on duty and he explained me that your invoiced amount was exactly the same amount as booked via your travel agent, only the breakdown breakfast/ room rate was not correct. You have received a corrected invoice by the manager on... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (60)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (50)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay