We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ibis Amsterdam City West

Hotel website
Transformatorweg 36, 1014 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Special Offer
UP TO 15% - EARLY BOOKING
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with ACCORHOTELS.COM to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Ibis Amsterdam City West
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,028 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    209
    581
    198
    30
    10
See reviews for
171
449
59
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1028)
  • Mar-May only
    (289)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (330)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (242)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (167)
All months
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great location if you come with a car and want free parking and ability to get into town easily. Rooms are not big but very clean and practical, we did not eat in the hotel so I cant comment. The reception staff wer AMAZING - so friendly and helpful, and on the last day the bagguge check was free and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the total rating for this IBIS Amsterdam City West hotel is average, because I think the location is not very good for visitors. Another reason is that I booked a double room, but actually I got a twin room.

Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited this hotel on 22nd-25th July. The intention was to watch a football match but that didn't quite happen thanks in part to the strength of dutch beer as well as other side issues. The hotel was decent enough, in a quiet area, a fast food restaurant built into it as well as a restaurant area. I found the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated and we hope you visit Amsterdam in the near future and stay with us again. Kind regards F. Weeden More 

Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here while in Amsterdam a few days and was not impressed at all. Room was clean but rather small and overpriced for it not to be in the city center. Breakfast was average, nothing to rave about. The staff was friendly and helpful during our stay which was also a plus and there is a bus stop out front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

would you be kind enough to let us know what exactly would have made the difference and maybe convinced you to return We strive to offer a high level of service and hope that you will allow us the opportunity to improve by sharing with us what exactly our staff could have done to make your experience more enjoyable. We... More 

Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just back from a five day stay at this hotel and no complaints at all.When we arrived we were made welcome and the staff at reception were just brilliant throughout our stay.Martha and coletta might have spelt it wrong but bar maids of the highest order and the laughter and smiles honest just great. Breakfast continental cheese meat cereals.Hot bacon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

thank you for your kind words. I do hope you will choose to stay with us again if you ever visit Amsterdam. Kind regards F. Weeden More 

Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Expensive, in my opinion (normal price €99 but I paid €75, which is plenty enough for just a night in a hotel for one person!), but it's Amsterdam in summer so not really surprising... I booked for a single room but got a double bedroom (they are at the same price anyway), which was nice. Quite large bathroom with good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

we regret your disappointment in our hotel, Unfortunately 3 star Benelux hotels do not provide free water, coffee or tea. We do however have a great little shop downstairs for anything you need day or night. We are investigating the issue with water temperature fluctuations. I do hope you will compare our rates to the city center next time (it... More 

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

The rooms are small but enough for a short stay. The hotel is not near the centre of town, but it is a short cycle away. They have bicycles for rent in the hotel, so you can use them to come and go. Good price for Amsterdam (which is generally quite expensive for lodging).

Was this review helpful? Yes
ibiscitywest, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear Inoluap, Thank you for your review. Kind regards, S. Jansen More 

Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

This is the second time I use Ibis Hotels abroad and I'm quite satisfied by everything they're offering. The hotel has a good location. We rented bicycles and reached the centre in 15 minutes. The room was clean and the staff really helpful. They even checked us at 11.30 instead of 2 pm, because our room was already cleaned.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ibiscitywest, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear Margarita K, Thank you for your review! I hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, S. Jansen More 

Mosta, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

We spent four nights coming off a cruise. Needed a triple room since we were travelling with our daughter. Extremely convenient as it is two bus stops from Sloterdijk train station. Rooms extremely clean with nice bathroom and - for Amsterdam - quite spacious. The hotel is in an industrial area and there are no restaurants in walking distance except... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ibiscitywest, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear MaltaMicky, Thank you for your kind review! I hope we may welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Stef More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

164 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (119)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
2:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#142 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,225 reviews
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#122 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#134 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
#130 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay