We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Max

Hotel website
Hemonystraat 7 Sous | near Stadhouderskade, 1074 BK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel Max
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #275 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014
Sambates44
Add Your Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    42
    49
    30
    38
See reviews for
8
87
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (174)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hotel Max
See the most recent reviews
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Stayed september 2014 10 mins from centre of the city and trams run from here to most of amsterdam.. Reception very helpful and made sure we had what we needed. Hotel wifi free and worked whenever needed - room is small but its a place to sleep and bed is fine. Cleaned and changed towels daily.. Would defo stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious. Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

It was surprisingly good for the price that we paid, but it did have its faults the decor in the rooms wasn't really anyones taste and the no air con situation wasn't ideal when there was 4 people in a room. But i cant complain too much as it was really cheap and a ideal place to sleep for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious. Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Due to a family emergency we had to leave 2 days after we arrived and the hotel was nothing but unhelpful after saying they could print out our tickets they did not which cause us to miss our flight. Room was awful would never suggest even as a cheap get away! You cant sleep as there is no air con... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious. Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount. More 

Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Yes it was small and didn't have air conditioning. But it had a large window and a fan! The room was perfect! It was a clean, comfortable and safe place to come back to each night! If you plan on spending your trip in your hotel this will be too small for you... But if you want a cheap private... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious. Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The room was very tiny ! But the bed was ace so cozy good hotel for the price I would book again.... No breakfast thou included which I would of liked The hotel staff were nice but you have to walk over to a nearby hotel to check in but it's not that far and we left our key with... More 

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious. Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount. More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Hotel Max is cheap and cheerful! It is just a place to sleep whilst staying in this awesome city. It is not located right in the center of AMS but this is actually a good thing! It is out of the way of the noise at night, it is in a nice quiet part of town, and is a hidden... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious. Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount. More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

this budget hotel is ok the staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is better than ok but not great there is a lidel opposite and a coffee shop the Ibiza 30 seconds away, it opens at 10am and closes at 11/12pm depending on the day.Only real problem with this hotel was the shower was in the toilet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious. Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount. More 

Porsgrunn, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This hotel Max Amsterdam is the worst ever hotel I've stayed in. It was an awful smell in the corridors. The room was very small. Not enough Space for two persons.Further when making the booking it says breakfast, internet and luggage Storage. None of that was available at the hotel. In addition there was no reception either. So People think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious. Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount. More 

reading
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We booked via email a couple of months before hand as a party of 10, the table was ready for us on arrival, the food and service was excellent and great value for money, we did have a job to find it as the restaurant sign was on the wall low to the ground.

Was this review helpful? Yes
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious. Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount. More 

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I called the hotel prior to arriving as I was concerned we would not arrive there before 11pm (the time stated as latest check in). On the phone the staff were very friendly and informed me that this would not be a problem. On arriving at the hotel the staff were very friendly and we even got to choose a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious. Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

136 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (85)
Viewed
Room/suite (59)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question