We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hemonystraat 7 Sous | near Stadhouderskade, 1074 BK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Hotel Max
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Max to your Saves list
Ranked #280 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014
uddip Madrid, Spain
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    40
    47
    30
    38
See reviews for
8
86
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (170)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014 via mobile

We came to enjoy our christmas hollidays.our expected doble bed was a narrow room with 2 beds impossible to put them together.the heating failed many times so we were freezing at night.i do not recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
marcelscheepstra, Front Office Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Max Amsterdam. It was unfortunate to hear that you were not happy with your stay. Therefore please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. There are structural issues that we unfortunately could not change when converting this typical Amsterdam building into a... More 

Interested in Amsterdam?
Get deals, advice and ideas on what to do.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

the hostel was centrally located. just that the romos were very small and the beds were very uncomfortable. Hope they put more attention on that. also that when we were there , it was underconstruction.. it would be nice to let us know before...

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
marcelscheepstra, Front Office Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Hotel Max for your stay in Amsterdam. We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed during your holiday here. There are structural issues that we unfortunately could not change when converting this typical Amsterdam building into a hotel, and the room size were one of them. Moreover we... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Good location, good breakfast really friendly and helpful staff. Tram station only a few minutes stroll away. The room was falling apart a little bit and we went 2 days with no toilet roll. Overall decent price for what you get.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review

I want to thank you for the review. We hope to see you again. Book us directly by tripadvisor More 

Minsk, Belarus
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

I'm sorry hotel Max...I wanted to made my note about u last year but I forgot...but I come back to u...and now I'm writing. when we choose this hotel at first we were satisfied with it. It's not situated in the center, but there is a Lidl near it, and every morning we had a good breakfast there (ham&cheese croussans...mmm...I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious. Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount. More 

Pisa, Italy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

The room was pretty clean but small. Seriously. It was literally the size of the bed, and 2 inches more. There was no room to undress or anything, so I had to stand on the bed. Fortunately we had two tiny trolley bags, or else we would have not been able to open them. The bathroom was really small too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious. Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount. More 

Great Brington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

The Room was clean but claustrophobic. A Tiny Window, Bathroom Door would not close and the Extractor Fan was not working. We could hear every sound next door which was not helpful the night before the Marathon. We had to walk downstairs to the Basement with our Suitcase. We booked into the "Garden Room" which was extra and is basically... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious. Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount. More 

Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

The hotel was a very nice place to stay, clean bathrooms, bed and surroundings (near a supermarket, LIDL, and near a morning market). Liked it very much! However, it was troublesome to check in and out as you will need to go to the reception located at Hotel Iris but it is only a few minutes away. My stay there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious. Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount. More 

Felixstowe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

This hotel was lovely for a weeks stay. The location was quiet but right near tram/metro stops to take you into the centre, or a walkable distance. The price for a week was very affordable and I was not planning to be in my hotel from much of my trip, apart from sleeping and showering. The room was small but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious. Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount. More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Firstly this hotel goes by various names (why? Who knows): Hotel Max, Hotel Floris (not the same as the one that is centrally located) and Hotel Iris. You have to check in at a separate building to the one you actually stay at, it's nearby (they send you instructions closer to the date of your booking) We were very lucky... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious. Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Stayed september 2014 10 mins from centre of the city and trams run from here to most of amsterdam.. Reception very helpful and made sure we had what we needed. Hotel wifi free and worked whenever needed - room is small but its a place to sleep and bed is fine. Cleaned and changed towels daily.. Would defo stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious. Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Max

Address: Hemonystraat 7 Sous | near Stadhouderskade, 1074 BK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Max 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Max reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Max In Mokum Amsterdam
Max In Mokum Hotel Amsterdam

130 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (79)
Viewed
Room/suite (57)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay