We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Max

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hemonystraat 7 Sous | near Stadhouderskade, 1074 BK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel Max
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #278 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015
Theodoros K Barcelona, Spain
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    45
    51
    31
    41
See reviews for
9
92
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (183)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Well, the room was quite small for two people. The bathroom is out of the room. It was clean though which is a good fact. If not for Amsterdam, I would expect it to be much cheaper. The hotel is 30 min walking from the Dam square (center). There are not many things to do in the area. Night buses... More 

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

We came to enjoy our christmas hollidays.our expected doble bed was a narrow room with 2 beds impossible to put them together.the heating failed many times so we were freezing at night.i do not recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
marcelscheepstra, Front Office Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel Max Amsterdam. It was unfortunate to hear that you were not happy with your stay. Therefore please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. There are structural issues that we unfortunately could not change when converting this typical Amsterdam building into a... More 

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

the hostel was centrally located. just that the romos were very small and the beds were very uncomfortable. Hope they put more attention on that. also that when we were there , it was underconstruction.. it would be nice to let us know before...

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
marcelscheepstra, Front Office Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Hotel Max for your stay in Amsterdam. We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed during your holiday here. There are structural issues that we unfortunately could not change when converting this typical Amsterdam building into a hotel, and the room size were one of them. Moreover we... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Good location, good breakfast really friendly and helpful staff. Tram station only a few minutes stroll away. The room was falling apart a little bit and we went 2 days with no toilet roll. Overall decent price for what you get.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
marcelscheepstra, Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this review

I want to thank you for the review. We hope to see you again. Book us directly by tripadvisor More 

Minsk, Belarus
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

I'm sorry hotel Max...I wanted to made my note about u last year but I forgot...but I come back to u...and now I'm writing. when we choose this hotel at first we were satisfied with it. It's not situated in the center, but there is a Lidl near it, and every morning we had a good breakfast there (ham&cheese croussans...mmm...I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious. Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount. More 

Pisa, Italy
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

The room was pretty clean but small. Seriously. It was literally the size of the bed, and 2 inches more. There was no room to undress or anything, so I had to stand on the bed. Fortunately we had two tiny trolley bags, or else we would have not been able to open them. The bathroom was really small too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious. Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount. More 

Great Brington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

The Room was clean but claustrophobic. A Tiny Window, Bathroom Door would not close and the Extractor Fan was not working. We could hear every sound next door which was not helpful the night before the Marathon. We had to walk downstairs to the Basement with our Suitcase. We booked into the "Garden Room" which was extra and is basically... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious. Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount. More 

Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

The hotel was a very nice place to stay, clean bathrooms, bed and surroundings (near a supermarket, LIDL, and near a morning market). Liked it very much! However, it was troublesome to check in and out as you will need to go to the reception located at Hotel Iris but it is only a few minutes away. My stay there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious. Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount. More 

Felixstowe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

This hotel was lovely for a weeks stay. The location was quiet but right near tram/metro stops to take you into the centre, or a walkable distance. The price for a week was very affordable and I was not planning to be in my hotel from much of my trip, apart from sleeping and showering. The room was small but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious. Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount. More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Firstly this hotel goes by various names (why? Who knows): Hotel Max, Hotel Floris (not the same as the one that is centrally located) and Hotel Iris. You have to check in at a separate building to the one you actually stay at, it's nearby (they send you instructions closer to the date of your booking) We were very lucky... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
marcelscheepstra, Eigenaar at Hotel Max, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all feedback serious. Please book next time directly by our website for the direct discount. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

136 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (59)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay