We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 345 Amsterdam hotels

Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hendrikje Stoffelstraat 60 | Nachtwachtlaan, 1058 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest to your Saves list
Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
29%
Ranked #256 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
interailingcouple Liverpool, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (120)
  • Photos (46)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    24
    44
    17
    24
See reviews for
11
46
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good hotel, not too far away from the centre of Amsterdam. Easy to find and close distance to a tram stop. Clean rooms, only slight problem was with the shower smell and the wet room style was annoying but otherwise great! The fridge, kettle and safe were a bonus.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gdansk, Poland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Location is not so good, although it’s not so far away if you rent a bike downtown and ride back and forth (we did). Rooms are clean and spacious, although A/C did not work and room was right next to the street so opening the door was not a good idea. Beds wear fine and clean. Light in the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review

Dear daesquiv, Firstly, we wish to take this opportunity and thank you for your time and effort to inform us about your experience during your stay at the Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum-Zuidwest. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

And sometimes you pay just to get a bed in a shelter with a lock. Saying that, the hotel room had aircons which was a good luxury. Could have been a bit brighter though, as we had to turn every lamp and light on to get some level of luminosity in the place. Can be a bit tricky to find... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review

Dear guest, We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum/Zuidwest and for the the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor. Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. Offering free Wi-Fi and airconditioning are good examples of this. We are looking forward to... More

Cumbria, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Last minute holiday to Amsterdam with a friend, we were left with this the easiest and cheapest hotel we could find at such short notice. Miles away from the tram stop which is also miles away from the city centre. 35€ in a taxi from the airport 25€ in a taxi from the centre. First night was fine room wasn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review

Dear GKirby1, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Our goal is to ensure that all our guests leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. Accordingly your review has been discussed by the management of the Bastion Hotel Groep. Please accept our sincere apologies for... More

Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Not very close to city centre, but its even better in You want to explore city every second time choosing different route. ;) Tram stop is minutes walk. Clean rooms, looks like quite area. Watch for safe - read manual before using as its little bit different and easy to lock Your content without password :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review

Dear guest, We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum-Zuidwest. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review! We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels! With kind... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We - my wife and I were at this hotel for our 17th anniversary and I must admit that it was really wonderful. Rooms are clean, tidy, staff friendly and helpful. I booked room several months in advance via Booking.com and got it quite cheap. The only bad thing is the hotel access to public transport - you need to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review

Dear guest, We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum-Zuidwest. We would like to congratulate you with your 17th anniversary! We are pleased that you where at the Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum - Zuidwest. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed here for kings day weekend,after reading other reviews was slightly concerned about the hotel but after staying can reassure others it was ok. The staff were friendly. The room was basic but clean. One train stop from the airport and close to the tram stop which was a short ride into the city on tram no.1.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review

Dear guest, We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum-Zuidwest. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review! We hope you had a nice Kingsday in Amsterdam. Our hotel is perfectly situated... More

cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Booked with Thomas Cook we thought we were going to the Bastian Hotel centrum noord, however we were booked into this one instead. After reading the sparkling reviews we made the mistake of assuming that this chain of hotel would be very similar to an English Premier Inn, basic, clean and cost worthy. How wrong we were, to begin with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review

Dear guest, We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum-Zuidwest and for your review which you have posted on Tripadvisor. First of all we would like to apologize for the fact that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We are very sorry to hear that the quality of the room was not... More

Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We paid 164 euro for the room + 15 euro for the parking + 14 euro per person for breakfast. The room was very small, with 2 single beds, and a small very basic bathroom. The tv, also very small, did not work. They promised to look at it, but nobody showed up. In the bar, we drank a martini,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review

Dear guest, We have received your review regarding the Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum-Zuidwest on Tripadvisor. We would like to thank you very much for that! We would like to apologize for the fact that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Daily the prices are subjected to demand. The pricing will fluctuate accordingly. Your satisfaction is important to us and... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Unfriendly staff. A big surprise was 100eur bigger bill than what I actually booked on the booking.com. I took this hotel only because price seemed convenient on the booking.com. For 100eur more I could find better deals. Small room. Breakfast is good but served till 9am on Mon-Fri which may not be convenient for people on vacations. Is far from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review

Dear guest, We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum/Zuidwest and for your review which you have posted on Tripadvisor. You mentioned in your review that your bill was higher then the amount you have booked. I cannot look into your reservation, but I guess the breakfast was on the bill. When you... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest

Address: Hendrikje Stoffelstraat 60 | Nachtwachtlaan, 1058 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest Hotel Amsterdam
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
1:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Amsterdam with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Hotel Amsterdam/Centrum- Zuidwest offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. For relaxation and a nice ending of the day guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an lcd television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Hotel Amsterdam/Centrum-Zuidwest lies along the A10, a milestone away from the Rembrandtpark. The hotel is therefore well accessible by car. Parking at the hotel costs 15 euro per day. By tram guests will reach the beautiful historical centre within 10 minutes. The Airport Schiphol is only 10 minutes away from the hotel. Rooms The 90 comfortable rooms in the hotel are equipped with two twin beds, a television, a telephone, a modem, airconditioning, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. Food & Beverage At Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 Till 09.00 And in weekends from 07.00 Till 10.30. The atmospheric hotel is opened from 11.00 Till 23.00 For lunch and diner. When guests have a very busy schedule they can ask the hotel staff about the possibilities for a lunch package. The cozy hotel bar is opened till 23.30. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
90

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer