We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 344 Amsterdam hotels

Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hendrikje Stoffelstraat 60 | Nachtwachtlaan, 1058 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest to your Saves list
29%
Ranked #262 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Iain L
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    44
    18
    28
See reviews for
13
47
9
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (130)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed in this hotel whilst taking part in the 2014 Amsterdam Marathon (close to the start and finish). On the whole, found the hotel to be nice. The reception staff were young, smartly dressed and friendly. Also had a Saturday night dinner in the restaurant, the food was lovely. Rooms, on the small side, but perfect for a short stay,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

10th to 21st October 2014 The only experience I can take from this hotel, is that they are thieves. It's not a cheap hotel, and the carelessness of employees, who clearly don't know what they're doing, has led to us paying a considerable amount of money for a small room, which was cleaned once every two days, and when it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The netbook of one of my colleagues was stolen directly from the hotel room, during out business trip to Amsterdam. We contacted the hotel administration, and they tries to check in their system who entered the room during her absence. The security system for other rooms worked but strangely for my colleague's room didn't. It is NOT a cheap hotel,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights, I found the staff friendly and helpful, room was clean beds are too small for someone taller than 5'8", staff that are there are young but efficient. not too far from the city centre, tram stop approx. 100 metres away takes about 15 mins and costs 2.8 euros, taxi will cost about 20 euros. As... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I´ve traveled to many places and stayed in lots of hotels, and I hadn´t had anything in all those years taken from my hotel room, until I stayed here in the Bastion Amsterdam. I had to stay here for work for sometime. Not only was something stolen from my room (which is why they get such a poor review) the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barcelona
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I stayed here for 8 nights on business. The beds were comfortable, the room clean, however things like hairdryers are only available in a 'deluxe room'. There is no consistency in the cleaning of the hotel rooms. Some days I was provided with complimentary water, some days not. Some days I got tea bags, most days I had to ask... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review

Dear RachelPowel, Firstly, we wish to take this opportunity and thank you for your time and effort to inform us about your experience during your stay at the Bastion Hotel Amsterdam / Centrum-Zuidwest. Reading your comment about the cleaning, the staff and the breakfast, we felt disheartened and we would like to apologize for this. Your comments are important to... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very good hotel, not too far away from the centre of Amsterdam. Easy to find and close distance to a tram stop. Clean rooms, only slight problem was with the shower smell and the wet room style was annoying but otherwise great! The fridge, kettle and safe were a bonus.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gdansk, Poland
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Location is not so good, although it’s not so far away if you rent a bike downtown and ride back and forth (we did). Rooms are clean and spacious, although A/C did not work and room was right next to the street so opening the door was not a good idea. Beds wear fine and clean. Light in the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review

Dear daesquiv, Firstly, we wish to take this opportunity and thank you for your time and effort to inform us about your experience during your stay at the Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum-Zuidwest. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

And sometimes you pay just to get a bed in a shelter with a lock. Saying that, the hotel room had aircons which was a good luxury. Could have been a bit brighter though, as we had to turn every lamp and light on to get some level of luminosity in the place. Can be a bit tricky to find... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review

Dear guest, We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum/Zuidwest and for the the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor. Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. Offering free Wi-Fi and airconditioning are good examples of this. We are looking forward to... More

Cumbria, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Last minute holiday to Amsterdam with a friend, we were left with this the easiest and cheapest hotel we could find at such short notice. Miles away from the tram stop which is also miles away from the city centre. 35€ in a taxi from the airport 25€ in a taxi from the centre. First night was fine room wasn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review

Dear GKirby1, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Our goal is to ensure that all our guests leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. Accordingly your review has been discussed by the management of the Bastion Hotel Groep. Please accept our sincere apologies for... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest

Address: Hendrikje Stoffelstraat 60 | Nachtwachtlaan, 1058 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest Hotel Amsterdam
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
1:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay