We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel

Verlengde Van Marwijk Kooystraat 30, 1114 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

356 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kortrijk, Belgium
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel itself is OK. It was not very luxurious, but it was simple and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. For us, the biggest plus was the precense of free parking plus it was less than 10 min walking from Metro, which takes you in 12 minutes to the city centre of Amsterdam!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 465simonp
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in November last year. When we arrived at Bastion Amstel Amsterdam and asked for double room (we were not given the option when booking hence ended up booking a twin). Receptionist (I think her name was Amber) was not very helpful and simply said that there was no availability, when we asked if there was an option to... More 

Helpful?
Thank YourGuestFromDubai

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stay at the Bastion Amstel because its close to the datacenter I visit to work in. The room is clean and modern. The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is way above what I would expect with fresh eggs cooked to order. Its close to a metro (subway) station so its very quick to get into the City Center... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank robertgV6098WI
BastionHotels, - at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your great review and for sharing your experience with other travellers at Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and in Amsterdam. Please feel welcome to come back again. Have a nice day! Team E-comerce More 

Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The restourant was so smoggy. The bathroom smells awefull. Out side was very noise. That's my overview for a 3 nights there. The personal was very kind and proffesional. There have a smoking are a and very tasty breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Slavi N
BastionHotels, E-Commerce at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review

Dear Slavi, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are sorry to hear there was a smell in the bathroom, we will definitely have a look at it and make sure the smell will disappear! Thank you for your compliment to our hotel colleagues, we are pleased to hear they were able to assist you during your stay!... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went to Amsterdam for one day. Stayed at Bastion Hotel for 2 nights mostly because it wasn't too expensive. Everything was ok, clean room and kind staff. Unfortunately there was some building works in rooms above so we didn't have too much sleep last night, otherwise everything was good

Helpful?
Thank IrqaB
BastionHotels, E-Commerce at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review

Dear Irqa, Thank you for your feedback. Indeed we offer high quality rooms and good service for the best price. We are sorry to hear you experienced some inconvenience because of renovation work, this is not our intention and we would like to apologize for that. Hopefully we may welcome you back sometime! Kind regards, Team E-Commerce More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

I stayed in this hotel for one week in early December and had a number of issues: Firstly this hotel has only single beds - when I asked for a double they were very clear that this was simply not possible. In my room I moved some furniture around and pushed the two singles together, not a great compromise but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon L
BastionHotels, E-Commerce at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Mada, First we would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We take all reviews very seriously so we can improve our quality and service. We are very sorry to hear we were not able to provide you with the service our guests know us for! We would sincerly like to apologize for all the inconvenience... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

the hotel location was far away from the centre but yet on the other hand it was away from the hectic city life. The hotel was okish the reception staff on our arrival could not find one of our bookings as I had booked 2 rooms and they couldn't allocate the other this was rather embarrassing as I was travelling... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbiesealey
BastionHotels, - at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is unfortunate to hear that our hotel and service did not meet your expectations. We sincerely apologize for the fact that we were not able to find your reservation and that the room was not cleaned. Once again I would like to thank you for your feedback and we... More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

Ok for the price. Quite far from central, have to walk for a while to get to the closest train station. We was meant to have a hairdryer in our room as it was a deluxe room, but no hairdryer. I asked my boyfriend to go down to get one while I was in the shower and he come up... More 

Helpful?
Thank laurene b
BastionHotels, - at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for writing a review about your stay in our hotel. We are very sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay due to the missing hairdryer. We will discuss this with the management. We hope we may welcome you again in one of our hotels. Kind regards, Team E-commerce More 

Lille, France
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

decent place and reasonable prices, recommendable. not so close to the centre so be aware of this. good for late night check in, i arrived from work at 1am and was welcomed nicely. definitely will book again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank karine7654
BastionHotels, - at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay with us. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel! We are looking forward to welcome you again! Kind regards, Team E-commerce More 

Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

It is clean and comfortable. Plenty of facilities in the room give you an excellent experience. Coffee and cocoa are available in the room for free and the Metro station is near the hotel so the transport is not too hard. But I think the drainage system in the room is not efficient.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 671hangh
BastionHotels, - at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your compliments!We are pleased to read you had such a good stay! We will discuss your feedback about the drainage system with our hotelmanager, to make sure everything is alright. Please feel welcome to come again! Team E-commerce More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
6.0 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#200 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 762 reviews
4.3 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
#211 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#217 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest
2.9 mi away
Campanile Amsterdam
Campanile Amsterdam
#214 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
6.9 mi away
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#120 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay