We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 340 Amsterdam hotels

Hotel Monopole

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 60, Amsterdam 1017 AC, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Monopole to your Saves list
Hotel Monopole
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
25%
Ranked #270 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    23
    35
    21
    48
See reviews for
6
27
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Hotel Monopole
See the most recent reviews
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed at the hotel Monopole recently whilst in Amsterdam for a stag party. Usually, I stay in the Mercure (Arthur Frommer) which has always been excellent but, due to being part of a larger and less civilised group on this visit, we decided to try to find a hotel that could accommodate us all in a central location and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
george-alliance, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review

Dear sir, Thank you very much for your positiv review, long story from your side but we are happy to know the result from your story that you like our hotel, staff and clenness, and you will sometime think to come back. Best Regards Hotel monopole More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I booked a room with private bathroom ensuite. What i get was a 9 squaremeter room with no bathroom. The toilet and the bathroom was on the corridor and where used by other people because it was not possible to lock the room. The room had a very small window with a view on a small concrete inside yard. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review

Dear guest, we have seen your review and we did not expect this review from your side because i can remember that when you was here with us in Hotel, you were very normal and happy and i had few times converstaion with you and i thought everything was fine. There was no complaint from your side but afterwerds we... More

Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I came to Amsterdam with my friend for the weekend. We have been before and liked the Rembrandt Square area. This hotel is the perfect location for that! close to city but quiter and more chilled. Lovely reataurants but with a good nightlife too. Clean room, drab decor but the private bathroom was what I paid for as there are... More

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review

Dear Emily, Thank you very much that u liked our hotel and service and good and true review. Having good review give enrgy to provide better service and comfertable stay. Thank you again. Best regards More

Barnstaple
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you want somewhere cheap and central to shower and sleep then this is ideal but would say it is probably better suited to groups rather than couples as can be a little noisy. Generally the place is clean; bedding, toilet, carpet, sink etc but could do with a little extra eg. some marks on doors that could easily be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review

Dear sir/madam, Thank you very much for your good words about us, it give us good feeling to work harder for our guests. The rooms with the view are avialable if there is request. We suggest you to request for front view rooms while you make booking. Thank you very much again. hotel monopole More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

If you are searching for a place to shower and sleep this is what it can near enough offer a customer ! On a Thursday night , you could hear the club so loud that you felt like you were there partying aswell ! The staff did not make the stay pleasant and would never crack a smile even though... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

bad bad experience! the place is dirty! when I arrived i heard a vaccuum but I don't think that they used it. I had a big bag and nobody came to help me at the stip stairs. the room was dirty and the bathroom smelly.thank god the towels were clean. next to me there was a couple fighting and i... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review

Rooms are clean only you felt unconfertable bcoz the couple Next door was fighting. In that matter we can not do anything. But if uou have told us during your stay as we afvice everybody then We coild do someyhing to makr uour stay comfertable. Writing afterwords does Not help. Thank you More

Prilly, Vaud, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Same bad experience as "skymaster_172". Although, it is a great location, right in the center, this two bed-room apartment is no good value for money: poorly furnished, noisy (one of the room gives on the road by the canal and the other is right above a laundry...). And yes, the bathroom is smelly. We do not recommend this hotel and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review

Dear guest we do not understand what is wrong about having room On second floor and facing water canal? That is even better. We always say if you do not ( achieve) get anything let us know during your stay and make your stay good, Writing the things afterwerds shows that during your stay there was no big issue( problem)... More

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Got to say we were worried when we read the reviews but it was way better than some of the reviews on here - Dont dismiss this hotel Yes its dated, but its location is excellent, its clean and tidy, good value and is a great base in a great City.. We had 3 rooms 2 that slept 4 and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review

DEAR GUEST. WE THANK YOU FOR YOUR FAIR REVIEW. we really appriciate your thoughts. As you said you were afraid from our review before arrival but after your stay you were satisfied. You know everyday about 60 to 90 people stay in our hotel but we have from very few people bad review. the good and satisfied people does not... More

Bassano Del Grappa, Italy
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

I slept in room # 4. Almost impossibile to sleep during the weekend due to the high volume of the adjacent disco, it's like being there and windows shake like during an heartquake. Very ripid stairs, hard to carry big or heavy bags. Wifi did not work 2 days (I spent 6 nights at the hotel). Room below average. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review

Dear sir/madam, the noise is only when there is some event in the city. we are situated in the heart of city, and we do not have any noise problem from our permanent guests. We will try to make more comfertable. More

Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Don't let the lobby fool you. We thought that we had booked a nice place when we saw the loby (albeit after climbing one of those famous Amsterdam staircases). We were then taken half a block away to a different, rundown building. The two-bedroom apartment we booked was a bedroom and combination sitting room/kitchen with a double bed and room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review

Dear sir/madam, it looks like from your review that you were irritated with something else and wrote bad review to us. we never had problme with stairs in apartment building. as you said space was not problem. there is not at all problem. More

Been to Hotel Monopole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopole

Also Known As:
Monopole Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Amstel 60, Amsterdam 1017 AC, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monopole 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Monopole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monopole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.