We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 343 Amsterdam hotels

MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam 1043 DR, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West to your Saves list
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
80%
Ranked #97 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Kelly H Salisbury, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (484)
  • Photos (151)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (43)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

484 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    234
    60
    20
    13
See reviews for
123
57
41
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel as part of a package through Chillisauce and was pleasantly surprised. It was very clean and tidy, staff were extremely friendly and helpful and it was only a short taxi or train ride to Dam Square. Perfect for what we needed it for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My experience with Meininger Hotels have always been great. This hotel was very clean, very friendly and in a great location. When you leave the West Station, you take a right, and you cannot miss the big red M. This is good for people who want to actually sleep whilst in Amsterdam. You can get to the city center by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here with my football team and it was great. Excellent rooms & excellent service from staff. Great hostel to lay your head after a hard day in Amsterdam. Only 1 stop from Amsterdam Central station. Would stay again for sure!!!! Best hostel experience ever!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for such a lovely comment! We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hopefully see you again in the future! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in this modern and neat ho(s)tel with my elderly mother. We had two rooms. A single and a double, both with ensuites. The double room was spacious with double bed, couch, desk and chair. Everything was really clean and neat, and the bathroom was gorgeous with a shower that had great water pressure and seemingly endless hot water.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are really happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us that much and wish to welcome you here again in the future! Warm regards from your Meininger Team More

Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed in this hostel for two nights. The room was very big with a shower and a seperate bathroom and we found our stay very enjoyable minus the staff. The staff within the hostel on reception were so snappy and rude compared to other Meininger hostels we have stayed in. I found asking opinions and questions of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you very much for writing down your review here! We are very surprised to read about the bad experience that you had with our staff as they are usually very much appreciated and highly rated by our guests. As you were explained that you were dealing with a new staff member, we are pretty sure that the... More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of the hotel is ok as it is next to the train station but the area is a bit sparse. I felt the hotel seemed to cater more for backpackers and was quite crowded. I could not get the wifi to work but there was a Starbucks nearby were I could use it. They did serve some nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking out the time to write your experiences down! We really appreciate the feedback and will definitely use this to learn from and improve our services. We agree that our wifi system hasn't worked very well for some time but luckily we have been able to improve it a lot since a week... More

Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly. It takes 5 mins and there are regular trains to/from Sloterdijk station which is about a 2 min walk to the hotel. There is no kettle in the room but the hotel provide a pantry equipped with stove, microwave and kettle and cooking utensils.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you very much for taking out the time to write down your experiences here! We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and would be happy to welcome you here again in the future! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel/hostel is great for a city break in Amsterdam. Be aware it is not in the city centre and you will have to get a train into the city. It takes 5 mins and there arw very regular trains to/from Sloterdijk station which is about a 2min walk to the entrance of the hostel. We had a 6 bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your lovely review! We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you at any of our other Meiningers in the future! Warm regards from rainy Amsterdam More

KANATA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Meininger Hotel was a nice hotel, clean, and with friendly staff. For the price, it was worth the stay however the location was not ideal, or close to main attractions. The location is great for business, however does require train use to get to the downtown core (6-8 minute train ride away). Also about 15 minutes away by public... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review. We hope to welcome you at one of our Meiningers some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel Meiniger straddles the border between being a hotel and a hostel, which might put some people off but we quite enjoyed the liveliness of having lots of young travelers in the bar and there were never issues of noise or rowdiness once we went to bed. Our room was clean and large and it was quite funny having a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are aware of the wifi issues that we have. We are working on them at the moment. We hope to welcome you here again in the future! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Address: Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam 1043 DR, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
219

See which rooms travelers prefer