We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunhead of 1617

Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunhead of 1617
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sunhead of 1617
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    70
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
350
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (627)
  • Mar-May only
    (176)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (178)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (165)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (108)
All months
County Cork, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at night so the first real impression of the country was Sunhead1617 and we can tell you it was a breath of fresh air from our room in the attic overlooking the canal to the steep windy staircase and friendly staff the whole place had a genuine Amsterdam feel without trying to hard....great value and the only thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location is really good. Room was lovely but unfortunately mine had no view (and I knew about it, so I was not disappointed). Bathroom was clean and had a cleaning service every morning. The only thing was the stairs (what is unavoidable in any old Dutch canal house). We were on the third floor, but Rolf kindly carried our bags... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Great place. Old high ,narrow Dutch apartment. Room was at top and well appointed. No tv nor radio nor wifi-wonderfull! Great en suite and friendly owners who gave great restaurant and attractions advice. Book now! Downside-you have to be able to climb stairs but as long as you can go up a flight -you can cope, and it's worth it.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

This is a long overdue review as my husband and I stayed at Sunhead in May 2013! However my parents just asked for the name of the b&b and it reminded me I never left a review of this wonderful place! The b&b is in a perfect location on the canal near the centre, anne frank museum and lots of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brighouse, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Sunhead is a beautiful little place with an excellent location - close to lots of amenities but not too close to the red light district. The room was very cosy and individual with a real eye for detail. The owners were very welcoming and informative and always on hand to give information and recommendations. I particularly enjoyed meeting the owner's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently at very short notice for two nights. We had a very nice room (the Tulip Room) right at the top of this very narrow house, literally in the rafters, overlooking the canal. We had a very nice welcome from the a housesitter and the owners were lovely when they returned from a trip... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014 via mobile

if you, like us, paid a premium to have a lovely breakfast and meet the hosts and guests, forget it. We paid as if it were included, only to find on our arrival that it is no longer. No prior warning, no refund. If I'd known this was going to be the case, I would have changed my reservation to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Litoyc, Eigenaar at Sunhead of 1617, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am so sorry to hear you were not happy to stay with us. We feel we have made it very clear in all our correspondence and on all websites that we could reach and above all in our confirmation letter, that we do not serve breakfast in our place any longer. Fortunately we have a wonderful breakfast... More 

Washington DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Awesome location, great hosts, relaxing stay. My brother and I stayed in the top floor back room (no view of the canal) but it didn't matter. The room was very quiet, perfect for resting after a day out in city, Amsterdam marathon, electro/house music gigs, etc. Carlos and Rolf-Jan are expert hosts and do a great job of relating to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Tasteful decoration in the rooms which are spotlessly clean and spacious. Beds are very comfortable and fixtures are mostly new. Nice modern plumbing. Canal view rooms are best but even the loft room in the back is nice (just no view). Hosts Carlos and Rolfe are top notch. More than friendly, they go out of their way to help with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

My husband and I just spent 6 nights at Sunhead of 1617 and were most pleased with our stay. The location is the best, right on a quiet canal, in a very nice neighborhood, within walking distance of everything. If you don"t want to walk you can catch a tram or jump-on-jump-off bus a block away. Our hosts, Carlos and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunhead of 1617 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

286 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (277)
Viewed
Room/suite (74)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (111)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay