We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunhead of 1617

Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunhead of 1617
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sunhead of 1617
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    69
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
345
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (621)
  • Mar-May only
    (176)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (178)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (165)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (102)
All months
L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

if you, like us, paid a premium to have a lovely breakfast and meet the hosts and guests, forget it. We paid as if it were included, only to find on our arrival that it is no longer. No prior warning, no refund. If I'd known this was going to be the case, I would have changed my reservation to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Litoyc, Eigenaar at Sunhead of 1617, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am so sorry to hear you were not happy to stay with us. We feel we have made it very clear in all our correspondence and on all websites that we could reach and above all in our confirmation letter, that we do not serve breakfast in our place any longer. Fortunately we have a wonderful breakfast... More 

Washington DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Awesome location, great hosts, relaxing stay. My brother and I stayed in the top floor back room (no view of the canal) but it didn't matter. The room was very quiet, perfect for resting after a day out in city, Amsterdam marathon, electro/house music gigs, etc. Carlos and Rolf-Jan are expert hosts and do a great job of relating to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Tasteful decoration in the rooms which are spotlessly clean and spacious. Beds are very comfortable and fixtures are mostly new. Nice modern plumbing. Canal view rooms are best but even the loft room in the back is nice (just no view). Hosts Carlos and Rolfe are top notch. More than friendly, they go out of their way to help with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

My husband and I just spent 6 nights at Sunhead of 1617 and were most pleased with our stay. The location is the best, right on a quiet canal, in a very nice neighborhood, within walking distance of everything. If you don"t want to walk you can catch a tram or jump-on-jump-off bus a block away. Our hosts, Carlos and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Sunhead of 1617 is a genuinely wonderful location right in the centre of Amsterdam. The rooms are furnished with an expert eye for tasteful style and comfort. A special mention has to be made of the hosts Carlos and Rolf-Jan. Both are incredibly friendly, always helpful and a great source of local info. Also Carlos' exquisite breakfasts are not to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oregon City, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

We traveled with another couple and stayed in the two front rooms. Both rooms were extremely clean and comfortable and had awesome views of the canal. Carlos and Rolfe were exceptional hosts and very knowledgable about Restaurants and museums. The Sunhead is very close to the Anne Frank museum and also to the trolley. The only drawback for some people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

My wife and I just concluded a 3 night stay at the Sunhead 1617. Let me begin by saying that whether you stay at this B&B or not, this is the area to stay in Amsterdam. We walked through many parts of the city and we were very happy that we chose this area to stay. Even though you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We were two couples traveling to Amsterdam by car from Bruges during a 3 week trip. We booked the Tulip and Jasmine rooms on the third and fourth floors for three nights, June 28th to July 1st. The rooms offered wonderful views of the canal and city streets, very picturesque. They were comfortable and roomier than we expected. The stairs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My husband and I had an excellent 3 night stay at Sunhead 1617. The house is in a perfect location, right on a beautiful but quiet canal. It is 5 minutes to the center of town and 5 minutes to Anne Frank's house. The museums are a lovely 20 minute walk away. The property is charming. We stayed in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glendale, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed here July, 2014 We so enjoyed the location. Walking distance to many museums. The morning breakfasts were very good, plentiful and fresh. Carlos our host assisted in making dinner reservations. The spiral staircase leading to the upstairs room was small, but we were able to manage our luggage. The room charming and comfortable. All and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sunhead of 1617? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhead of 1617

Address: Herengracht 152, 1016 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunhead of 1617 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhead Of 1617 Hotel Amsterdam

285 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (277)
Viewed
Room/suite (74)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (111)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay