We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 174 Amsterdam accommodations

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Frans Van Mierisstraat 69 a, 1071RL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Janson Hostel) (Museumplein)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
39%
Ranked #121 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012
Alastair J Bath, England, United Kingdom
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    23
    45
    16
    35
See reviews for
4
16
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Staff are so rude, stay somewhere else. We saw a guy try to have a shower 5 minutes after he checked out and was told to get out. Obviously these guys make you pay up front. We tried to cancel some of our nights to go elsewhere but they wouldnt refund any money. Rooms have nowhere to put anything, limited... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Hostelcosmos A, General Manager at Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, responded to this review

Hi Craig, Thank you for staying! We are sorry that you had a bad experience, we did not know about this when you stayed with us. But if people check out, than it is a bit strange they come back and shower? Normally our guests do that before they check out. Maybe there was a reason (privacy/safety) to ask that... More

Bath, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We turned up fairly late (around 11pm) having driven over from Bath that day and were met with the news that there had been a mistake with our booking, and that they were really but we were being moved to a private four person dorm instead of a 12 person dorm (there were 4 of us). What a result!! The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I'd been travelling all over Europe for 2 and a half weeks in numerous hostels all with good experiences for the cheapest price I could find. I understand that I'm paying very cheap prices and don't expect luxury but when I turned up to Hotel Janson this was a different story. 3 bunk beds are crammed into this box room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Spend 2 nights in a 6-bed dorm. Location: A very centrally located hostel. Every major sight is within walking distance. Also walking distance from the Central train station. Very big plus point for a affordable price in Amsterdam (things are not cheap there). Hostel: Pros - The room was sufficiently cosy, not too squeezy for 6 people. They had nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
bologna
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

My friend and me spent two nights of vacation in this hostel in downtown Amsterdam. The rooms are just like the average hostel with bunk bed, sink and a couple of chairs. Pro's: It's very close to Central Station and to the main streets (Dam square too); it's quite cheap compared to other Amsterdam accomodation and nearby there is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saidia, Morocco
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Loved Amsterdam:))))) Cool, crazy, funny, intereresting people;) Hostel is a bit small but cute and clean, which was A big plus.........also the staff is GREAT. No problems there and the best cat in the world, that happens to ruleeeeeeeeee. Location can not be better, we walked everywhere and found out how central we were located. Really made my visit to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This hostel is ideal if you're on a trip with friends. We shared a 6-bed room with 3 other girls from Germany and everything went fine. I chose this hostel because of the good reviews on tripadvisor and I must say they were right. If you enter the hostel, it may seem a bit -how shall I say it- poor.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

As stated in the title, this hostel is all about the staff. With a very cozy atmosphere, it is also in a great location and it has fair prices. But most of all the staff is great, they are extremely helpful and considerate. Apart from that I just wanted to say thank you very much for yesterday, you were great

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Salford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I stayed at Janson Hotel with 4 other friends so we booked the 5person dorm. I must say, such a room was PERFECT for what we needed (we had dreaded splitting up into 2 smaller rooms). The room was clean, basic and became a little home for 5 20 year old guys for a week. It was my first trip... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We originally booked 5 nights stay here, on our second night we arrived back at the hostel to find the night staff abusing a female guest because she laughed and he did not like it. I witnessed another guest try to step to get the man to calm down - this guest was then punched in the face by the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Hostelcosmos A, General Manager at Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, If guests behave aggressive and get drunk, we call the police. That is why you got arrested and escorted out of the building. You really did it to yourself. We are not even going into all the lies in the review. Cosmos staff More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Address: Frans Van Mierisstraat 69 a, 1071RL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Janson Hostel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HotelsNL, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmos Hostel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Amsterdam with
any amenities