We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 168 Amsterdam accommodations

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Frans Van Mierisstraat 69 a, Amsterdam 1071RL, The Netherlands (Museumplein)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
56%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014
Shaun_Highlands Inverness, United Kingdom
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    15
    6
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
13
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As you can tell from some of the other posts and the management responses, being disrespected from the staff is not uncommon. The rooms are so small any person would feel extremely claustrophobic. They jam as many buNks as humanly possible into small cramped rooms without keeping the customers in mind.The bathroom is almost comedic it is so bad. They... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Hostelcosmos A, Manager at Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Alexis, We see you are back in Milan:) Again as we wrote in the reply for the review of Bianca we really wish you well. To be honest you are right that you went to Marriott (we also like that place). When we checked you guys in we noticed you are not the hostel type. We are used to... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

BEWARE BED BUGS!! My friends and I woke up with bed bug bites when we confronted the hotel staff they were extremely disrespectful to us and would let us speak with the manager. The room smeller, the bathrooms were cramped and dirty, there was one outlet for a 12-person room and their "breakfast included" is a piece of bread with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hostelcosmos A, General Manager at Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Bianca, Thank you for the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to use it to improve our services and facilities for other guests. However it was not clear why you had to shout and make a scene in our hostel. We really wanted to help you and your friends, but you... More

Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights last summer, was very reasonably priced and in a great central location. Shower and bathroom facilities were of a good standard. No breakfast availible but as said, very central and McDonalds was only 5 minutes away. Would stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed here with some friends in the 8-person dorm. The location is great, central to almost everything. We didn't have to catch public transport at all to move around Amsterdam. Other than that, service is average. Rooms are quite small. And for almost 40 Euros per night during the weekend- very pricey. The biggest issue is there is only one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for 1 night in October. Hostel is very central, walking distance to everything. I stayed in a 2 bed room. It had a little sink and mirror. Room was nice. I was right next to the reception/common area. You can hear everything in reception. Overheard someone having an arguement with reception staff. The hostel has a strict... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hostel is located about 5-10 mins walk from central station. It's a small hostel. The rooms weren't fantastic. The only trouble is that the last person out of the room had to lock the door.. this seemed like a security hazard to me as the rooms were never properly locked. I had my own locker to keep my valuables... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Munich, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The staircase is too steep and narrow so better be careful if you walk upstairs totally wasted. I paid 40% extra than what it actually deserved for the value and the environment is not to fun or party like, hence not sociable. My views are based on the comparison with other hostels where I ended up paying much less for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nice location but the room is so small and is only one toilet for everyone. Also there is a big escalator to go up to the rooms, and is very hard to get up with luggages. There is a cat which stays around all the time and that is not very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This hostel has an amazing location which made my stay in Amsterdam one of the best experiences due to the factthat I was in the center of the city. I did have to deal with the following while staying at the cosmos: 1. A very cramped room with barely any room to move around. Luckily I had a bottom bunk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Hostelcosmos A, General Manager at Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, responded to this review

Hi ALAN, Thank you for the effort and review. For a key for the locker there is a deposit needed. Without a deposit it makes no sense. We were nice enough to wait for you and give a key without a deposit. We don't think many hostels do that. We ask you in a normal way to pay the amount... More

Markham, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed at this hostel for three nights and had a great time. Other than being in a great location, the receptionists were all easy going, friendly and great to talk to (Adam, Habib, Muhammed, and Yessen). I would like to give a special thanks especially to Yessen, since he went above and beyond for me during my stay. He... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Been to Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Cosmos Hostel Amsterdam Hotel
Cosmos Hostel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Frans Van Mierisstraat 69 a, Amsterdam 1071RL, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 168 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Venere and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.