We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 177 Amsterdam accommodations

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Frans Van Mierisstraat 69 a, 1071RL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Janson Hostel) (Museumplein)
Hotel amenities
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam to your Saves list
39%
Ranked #121 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
dougster2014 London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    47
    16
    36
See reviews for
4
16
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (152)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Liked it actually, because of the staff and the help I got. Met some friends from back home and we had a great time. Great location, between culture and fun areas......hahaha. Also handy to rent a bike, makes it so easy and Dutch!

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paris, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed our stay! The rooms are relatively small, but the beds were clean, the staff was friendly, and the location was perfect. Would just suggest getting ladders for the beds because if I wouldn't have been traveling with friends I would've felt awkward climbing into bed. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There is nothing good I can say about this hostel except for location. If you want to be far from the Central Rail Station and away from the Red Light and entertainment district of the town and close to the Van Gogh Museum, then its location is excellent. EVERYTHING else is terrible. First of all, I have traveled to 72... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Where to start ? Firstly, it always stunk wherever you were mainly of piss. My room mates were horrible simply their to smoke weed they began to get high in the rooms. I tried to be nice but they left their dirty underwear all over the room and were rude and didn't wait properly to use the bathroom meaning I... More

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostelcosmos A, Manager at Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay. We have noticed that you basically complain most about your room mates. You never mention these things to us during your stay, but it is also a risk you take when choosing a dorm. It so happenend that the rest of your room mates were friends and you were a solo traveller. We... More

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014 via mobile

A few friends and I stayed here on a spontaneous trip to Amsterdam. We arrived at 3 am when we had to walk the streets looking for an atm to pay for the visit before we could check in, no exceptions. The room was small but tidy enough... Or so we thought. Our second night we woke up in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostelcosmos A, General Manager at Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Traveller, Thank you for your review. Are you sure you have the right place? We have tried to figure out when you stayed with us, but we could not find any records of your stay. Also had not got any complains or reports of mice or guests checking in at 03.00 am on the date you might have stayed... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Was a simple but clean and fun hostel. Was exactly what I needed and in a great location, also compared to other places at least affordable. If you are not picky and spend more time exploring the city than inside, you will like it. If they put a few chairs in the room and some hangers for clothing it would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

The bedrooms are atrocious. No shutters, so if you're coming in the summer be prepared to have sunlight shining on your face at 6AM. Staff didn't seem concerned with this as they had "never had complaints". The rooms are extremely hot and claustrophobic and the pillow you'll sleep on is like a leather cushion from a sofa or something. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostelcosmos A, Manager at Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Jose, Thank you for your stay! We are suprised by your comment. You choose to stay in our biggest and cheapest dorm. We cleaned your pillow and gave you brand new linen. We use normal curtains for our rooms. You really were the only that told us about light coming in the room, we thank you for this and... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Rooms are absolutely tiny and filled to capacity with bunks, room was directly by the street and because of the packed nature of the room windows had to be left open meaning a very early wake up. Breakfast time is provided according to room number so if you're on the first floor it's 7am to 7.45am or too bad. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Address: Frans Van Mierisstraat 69 a, 1071RL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Janson Hostel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Venere, HotelsNL, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmos Hostel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay