We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 176 Amsterdam accommodations

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Frans Van Mierisstraat 69 a, 1071RL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Janson Hostel) (Museumplein)
Hotel amenities
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam to your Saves list
Ranked #125 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014
dougster2014 London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    24
    51
    15
    41
See reviews for
4
18
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (162)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stay here for two days in private room..very small room,cold and Dirty!the people work here are no confidential and the hostel rules are very strong..here don t like happy and smile guest!in the and too much expansive for bad service!!you pay 3 eu for baggage if u want leave it after the time,just for 2 hours!forget it!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We booked a 12-bed mixed dorm for 3nights. We checked-in at 9pm, and could not believe our eyes. A 5square meter dorm wth 6 bunk beds on top of each other with no windows and no space to walk because of guests luggage. The hallways in construction, feet smell all over. Jut the worse. We couldn't stand it and decided... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My initial intention was not to write a review of this place but rather just get over it and live on. But post reading all the sarcastic and childish response's from the cosmos management on this site, I thought I'd clear some things up. The location is the ONLY saving grace for this dire wallow establishment, yes it's in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hostelcosmos A, Front Office Manager at Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Nsxflexa, Thank you for your feedback. We have also replied to your friend Alex P. We will certainly improve and will take the things you mentioned in consideration. We still hoped you enjoyed Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm bitterly resentful of all the positive reviewers hereabouts and think you all owe me a weekend in Amsterdam somewhere smart. The ho(s)tel cosmos is bobbins, has no vibe at all and the lad running the show when we stayed was about as helpful as a fart in a spacesuit. It was above all a depressing place to be. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hostelcosmos A, Front Office Manager at Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Nsxflexa , Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay. As we have mentioned to your friend (Alex P) We would like to assure you we have taken your feedback very seriously. We would like to offer our sincere apologies that we failed to live up to your expectations. On another note it is... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Liked it actually, because of the staff and the help I got. Met some friends from back home and we had a great time. Great location, between culture and fun areas......hahaha. Also handy to rent a bike, makes it so easy and Dutch!

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Paris, France
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Enjoyed our stay! The rooms are relatively small, but the beds were clean, the staff was friendly, and the location was perfect. Would just suggest getting ladders for the beds because if I wouldn't have been traveling with friends I would've felt awkward climbing into bed. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

There is nothing good I can say about this hostel except for location. If you want to be far from the Central Rail Station and away from the Red Light and entertainment district of the town and close to the Van Gogh Museum, then its location is excellent. EVERYTHING else is terrible. First of all, I have traveled to 72... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Where to start ? Firstly, it always stunk wherever you were mainly of piss. My room mates were horrible simply their to smoke weed they began to get high in the rooms. I tried to be nice but they left their dirty underwear all over the room and were rude and didn't wait properly to use the bathroom meaning I... More 

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hostelcosmos A, Manager at Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay. We have noticed that you basically complain most about your room mates. You never mention these things to us during your stay, but it is also a risk you take when choosing a dorm. It so happenend that the rest of your room mates were friends and you were a solo traveller. We... More 

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014 via mobile

A few friends and I stayed here on a spontaneous trip to Amsterdam. We arrived at 3 am when we had to walk the streets looking for an atm to pay for the visit before we could check in, no exceptions. The room was small but tidy enough... Or so we thought. Our second night we woke up in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostelcosmos A, General Manager at Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Traveller, Thank you for your review. Are you sure you have the right place? We have tried to figure out when you stayed with us, but we could not find any records of your stay. Also had not got any complains or reports of mice or guests checking in at 03.00 am on the date you might have stayed... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Address: Frans Van Mierisstraat 69 a, 1071RL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Janson Hostel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, HostelBookers, Venere, Travelocity, HotelsNL, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmos Hostel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay