We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 176 Amsterdam accommodations

Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Frans Van Mierisstraat 69 a, 1071RL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Janson Hostel) (Museumplein)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
39%
Ranked #121 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
drag0n66 Taiwan
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    23
    45
    15
    35
See reviews for
4
16
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Where to start ? Firstly, it always stunk wherever you were mainly of piss. My room mates were horrible simply their to smoke weed they began to get high in the rooms. I tried to be nice but they left their dirty underwear all over the room and were rude and didn't wait properly to use the bathroom meaning I... More

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostelcosmos A, Manager at Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay. We have noticed that you basically complain most about your room mates. You never mention these things to us during your stay, but it is also a risk you take when choosing a dorm. It so happenend that the rest of your room mates were friends and you were a solo traveller. We... More

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A few friends and I stayed here on a spontaneous trip to Amsterdam. We arrived at 3 am when we had to walk the streets looking for an atm to pay for the visit before we could check in, no exceptions. The room was small but tidy enough... Or so we thought. Our second night we woke up in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Was a simple but clean and fun hostel. Was exactly what I needed and in a great location, also compared to other places at least affordable. If you are not picky and spend more time exploring the city than inside, you will like it. If they put a few chairs in the room and some hangers for clothing it would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

The bedrooms are atrocious. No shutters, so if you're coming in the summer be prepared to have sunlight shining on your face at 6AM. Staff didn't seem concerned with this as they had "never had complaints". The rooms are extremely hot and claustrophobic and the pillow you'll sleep on is like a leather cushion from a sofa or something. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostelcosmos A, Manager at Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Jose, Thank you for your stay! We are suprised by your comment. You choose to stay in our biggest and cheapest dorm. We cleaned your pillow and gave you brand new linen. We use normal curtains for our rooms. You really were the only that told us about light coming in the room, we thank you for this and... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Rooms are absolutely tiny and filled to capacity with bunks, room was directly by the street and because of the packed nature of the room windows had to be left open meaning a very early wake up. Breakfast time is provided according to room number so if you're on the first floor it's 7am to 7.45am or too bad. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

the place is nothing special but it`s a good value for the money you pay. the staff is very friendly and the location is nice too. they have free w-lan for the guests and there is a nice cat called simba

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Me and a friend went here at the start of backpacking through Europe, so we were on a budget however it wasn't too modest. The accommodation was one of the cheapest we found, so it does seem €33 is allot for a hostel but others were much higher. I'll get to the basics I wanted to know as a first... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We paid €33 per night but this seems to be a general reflection of Amsterdam. It's an expensive place. The hostel was clean, guests were friendly and the staff helpful. Slice of hot floppy bread and jam for breakfast. It was an OK stay. The area was nice but it took around 30 mins walk to get the station with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Address: Frans Van Mierisstraat 69 a, 1071RL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Janson Hostel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HotelsNL, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmos Hostel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Amsterdam with
any amenities