We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 343 Amsterdam hotels

Hotel Arena

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Arena to your Saves list
Hotel Arena
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
65%
Ranked #124 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
idmillie Gloucester, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (723)
  • Photos (782)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (64)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

723 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    285
    109
    73
    66
See reviews for
40
362
30
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Hotel Arena
See the most recent reviews
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is beautiful, i love all the funky artwork and seating around, huge lighting and stairwells. The rooms are amazing with a bedroom upstairs and living area underneath. The see-though bathroom wall is a first for me. A short bike ride to the centre of Amsterdam. The staff were incredible! Very helpful and booked our train tickets and attractions... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Idmillie, What a kind review on Tripadvisor! Thank you very much for your feedback. I will share your comments with my team. We look forward to welcoming you again in Hotel Arena. See you soon! Willem Bleuland van Oordt General Manager Hotel Arena More

Tartu, Estonia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Love the high ceilings! The breakfast was very good and everything was organized well. Although I wouldn't give Arena four stars because of some stains on the walls and bedcovers. I like my four star hotels squeaky clean and shiny. That aside it's a nice place to stay, in a quiet neighborhood.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Linda, Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We would like to thank you for your kind words on your stay. Please rest assured that we have already taken appropriate measures concerning the stains on wall and bedcover. As of Sunday, we have removed all bed covers from our beds. These bed covers were very difficult to... More

Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We left the same night we arrived because the room was so bad!!! The old dirty mattress was saggy and it sunk when sat on. The room smelled of animal feces like an old barn, maybe from rat droppings. The photos are very misleading, it is basically an old smelly hospital that has been cosmetically decorated to look modern. This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Lulufalana, We are very sorry to read this review and we are again very surprised to read your comments. In your personal mails to us and to your credit card company, we have seen many different reasons why the stay in our hotel was not to your satisfaction in order to get a refund. When you e-mailed us... More

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights and after reading other reviews a bit mystified Granted a lick of paint would not go amiss but the welcome and the service was second to none We checked in and were greeted by friendly helpful reception staff we then did a quick freshen up to explore the city.... At which point we noticed there were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for your postivive feedback on your stay in our hotel. It has been a pleasure to welcome you here in the hotel. I hope to see you next time again in Hotel Arena. Warmest regards, Willem Bleuland van Oordt General Manager Hotel Arena More

Leuven
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked Hotel Arena because it was marked as gluten-free friendly. Had to ask twice for gluten-free bread at breakfast and got served some very dry pieces of bread. Not tasty at all. Room service forgot to clean our room. The hotel did make up for that by not charging us for using the hotel parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Veronique, Thank you very much for your review. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences during your stay at Hotel Arena. We are not sure what happened with the cleaning of your room. In order to find out what happened, we would like to know the room you stayed in. There is a possibility that there was a... More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This isn't your standard hotel. This isn't your standard Amsterdam hotel. This hotel is a renovation of an old building, with numerous quirky areas, spaces and great (albeit non-standard) rooms. We had a room with a mezzanine level and our bathroom was held within a glass box in the downstairs living area. Long hallways and sweeping staircases with long, billowing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, Thank you very much for your kind words on Tripadvisor. We strive to be a special hotel in Amsterdam and as you mentioned we are not the "standard" hotel. It is therefor a pleasure to read those great words. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for an ultimate experience in Hotel Arena. Kind regards, Willem Bleuland... More

Breda, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with a friend of my. I arrived early, checked in, and I had to pay by card 100 euro deposit. I was told that deposit will be returned to my card immediately after we checked out. While I was waiting for a friend of my, I took a shower and the water leaked into the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very sorry to read this review. As explained during your check in, we ask our guests a credit card as a guarantee of extras. If you do not have a credit card, we ask for a deposit which you get back at check out if you have no extras on the bill. It is true that... More

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel and quite impressed on the room we got as we didn't pay much at all. The hallways were a little eery though as they were very dark but that might just be me being a wimp! It is a little out the way out of the centre and we did have to get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, Thank you very much for your kind words on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us and that you will choose our hotel again when visiting Amsterdam. You are absolutely right to discover Amsterdam by bike. Next time when you arrive in the hotel, reserve your bike at the reception. We... More

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I booked this hotel through easytobook.com and got a great deal on a deluxe room. Before arriving, i already had it in my mind that if we enjoyed our stay, i would book again but i would book the suite with the bath as it looked amazing. I changed my mind once i arrived at the hotel. This is why......We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Dey, What a pleasure to read that you liked my little present and letter for your husband's birthday. I would like to thank you for your kind words of your stay here in the hotel. We have done a lot of work in the last few months, so it is wonderful to read these compliments. We are looking... More

Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Motel was a little out of the centre of town but in a quiet area close to trams. Motel provided free WiFi. which was included in the room cost. Staff were helpful in providing assistance with transfers. Rooms were very comfortable and modern.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Kim, Thank you very much for your kind words. Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in Hotel Arena. Yours sincerely, Willem Bleuland van Oordt General Manager Hotel Arena More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

782 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (250)
Viewed
Room/suite (93)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
2:17
Videos (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (84)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (506)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (59)
Viewed
Family Room (66)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (61)
Viewed
Studio Room (55)
Viewed
Suite (77)
Viewed
The Hotel (84)
Viewed
Wellness Studio Room (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#65 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam #99 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
116

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer