We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Arena

4.0 of 5 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
#134 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
766 Reviews 3.5 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Arena
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Arena
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    303
    123
    75
    67
See reviews for
44
385
31
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (766)
  • Mar-May only
    (152)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (252)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (222)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (140)
All months
Saint Martin de Belleville
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is very nice and beautiful. It's full of history and it makes you feel in a special place. The restaurant and breakfast are good and there's a big choice, except for coffee and tea. There's a little garden very nice and with trampoline and a toboggan for children. We didn't get te opportunity to try it but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Estelle, Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry to read that you did not have a perfect stay in our hotel. I would like to offer my sincerest apologies. Please allow me to explain our procedures. It is true that we have some private locker boxes available for guests and that we ask... More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

€10 for a taxi from Central station to the hotel, tram lines about 8 min walk from hotel reception. Inside it's very dark, trendy and chic. Was welcomed at a very plush reception area and was greeted by friendly staff. The hotel was spotless, the rooms and lay out is very strange and it's easy to see was a hospital... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Suvodka, Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. It has been a pleasure to have you as a guest in our hotel. We are absolutely pleased with the words of a sexy hotel, we are indeed a special, not standard type hotel. It is true that we have refurbished many rooms in the last months. More... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were very helpful, the rooms were nice, the price was cheap and the location was great. On our first night, there was a strange noise coming from the AC ducts which was keeping us up, but once reported to the staff they were helpful in arranging a replacement room. The rooms themselves were quite modern looking and comfortable.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to read that you had a very good stay in our hotel. I apologize for the inconvenience on your first night. I am happy that you liked the solution which was given. The problem of the AC has already been fixed in your first room.... More

Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived and checked in early, was upgraded to a studio room on the top floor free of charge which we were happy about. Room was excellent - large bed, modern decoration, nice bath and shower etc. We loved it. Didn't eat in the restaurant as it seemed quite expensive however it looked really good. Staff really friendly. Location is ok... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Connor, Thank you very much for your positive words on our hotel. We are very happy to read that you had a very good experience in our hotel. It is absolutely true that you can discover our beautiful city easily by foot. Maybe next time we can persuade you to take our own hotel bikes to discover Amsterdam as... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for two nights in August. We arrived late at night and our room was very unclean and run down. I think housekeeping had made the bed and that was it. Dust everywhere, cobwebs and dirty bathroom. Breakfast, good variety but ran out if things and lots if waiting around for things to be replenished. Slow bar service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Kate Wright, Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor. I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the cleaning, breakfast and service. As your feedback is very important to us, we will discuss your comments in our next staff meeting. Please rest assured that I will personally handle this matter. Thank you again for sharing your... More

Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here last year in 2013 and also the year before and have just booked another stay for November 9th as a surprise 50th birthday for friends who have never been before. Absolutely love the location, quiet and just a 5 minute tram ride to the city centre. Staff are all really pleasant and helpful. We've chosen on each stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind review on our hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you already had a few good stays in our hotel. It is even better to read that you are returning to our hotel. I am looking forward to welcome you in our hotel. We will have a special room ready... More

Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We flew into Amsterdam via Bristol airport and KLM airlines (hand luggage only and not weighed at Bristol), landing at a Schiphol airport. We then caught the train for 4 Euros each into the city. We also purchased a metro 4 day pass for 22 Euros that allowed us to hop on and off the Metro, trams and the busses... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that had a good stay in our hotel. Thank you for your kind words. Nevertheless I am disappointed that my staff did not immediately respond on your requests. Aside from this issue, of course there should have been a bin available in the... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our 4 night stay at the Hotel Arena was excellent. The room was lovely, we had a view of the canal from our window and the bed was large and spacious. Our room in particular was a two level room (the bed was on a platform above and below was a sofa and desk area with a bathroom), which i... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Steph, Thank you very much for your good review on our hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you had an excellent stay. Also thank you very much for your feedback about the walls near the stairs. We have not heard this before, therefor we are very happy that you have mentioned this. We will certainly try to... More

Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a nice hotel! The rooms are great and have a modern style. All elements are there. Good service from the staff, nice bar and sometime great concerts in club Arena. The location is little outside ADAM centre, but easily by taxi and nice area. Enjoy it, I love the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Eric, Thank you very much for your nice review on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to be of service to you. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you personally in our hotel in the near future. Warm regards, Willem Bleuland van Oordt General Manager Hotel Arena More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had an amazing stay at this hotel! It is a bit out of town but it wasn't too hard to walk into town or catch the public transport! The rooms were massive and beautiful! The one down fall was the shower! It wasn't very powerful in pressure and because of the angle it sat at in the shower over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Mandy, Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to read that you really liked your stay in our hotel. Please rest assured that we will check and improve the shower and that we have informed the housekeeping department of the issues. You should have had these items refilled every day. Thank you again... More

Do you own or manage Hotel Arena?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

847 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (263)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (93)
Viewed
2:17
Videos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (96)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (558)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (59)
Viewed
Family Room (66)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (61)
Viewed
Studio Room (55)
Viewed
Studio Room with Bathtub (52)
Viewed
Suite (77)
Viewed
The Hotel (84)
Viewed
Wellness Studio Room (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Near Hotel Arena