We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 343 Amsterdam hotels

Hotel Arena

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Arena to your Saves list
Hotel Arena
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
65%
Ranked #127 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
934AJV Bristol, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (791)
  • Photos (779)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (63)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

791 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    312
    129
    83
    67
See reviews for
40
358
30
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I had a few email and telephone conversations with staff at the hotel (in order to make arrangements) and found everyone to be very helpful and prompt with responses. We reached the hotel by the convenient shuttle bus from the airport. The hotel is architecturally impressive with high ceilings and significant stairwells; it is easy to believe that the building... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband, daughter and I stayed for 4 nights in order to see family and have a couple of days' relaxation - the hotel and the friendly helpful staff could not have been more accommodating. Great breakfast (menu for other meals a little limiting, especially for small ones), and a fantastic room. We had an incident between my 2 year... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is amazing, very unique. As you enter the building you see a wonderful staircase. Girls at the reception were friendly and helpful. Our room was stylish, modern. Especially liked the tv at the end of the bed. The showergel smelt amazing. Good size shower, nice and clean towels are provided. Big variety of food at the breakfast table.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Evi an Nathan, Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. It is very nice to read that you liked your stay last year. It is true there is a shuttle bus going from the airport, the exact price is 17 euro single ticket and 27 euro return ticket for one person. The hotel is also very easy... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This old hotel smells and is dirty. Beware when walking in the dark hallways, floors are not level. Don't expect to get any sleep because the hotel is very noisy, you can hear people walking, the elevator sounds and pipes when other people flush the toilet. The mattresses have seen better days and have had a lot of wear. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. May we ask you to contact us directly in order to find out what happened during your stay? We always strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a 7 nights stay in Hotel Arena with my husband as a treat, to go away from the bees hive that is London. Both of us working for 5* hotels, our expectations may have been a bit high, even knowing Hotel Arena is 4*. However, we were not disappointed: the staff answered kindly to our requests, whether about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Ce, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We are looking forward to... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I and our 17 month old daughter arrived at 5pm on Friday afternoon. The woman behind reception was very friendly and made us feel right at home straightaway. Once we checked in we walked along a couple of the stunning hallways lined with 15 ft white heavy curtains. A lovely look. The hotel was holding a business... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Andy, Thank you very much for your kind and honest review on your stay in Hotel Arena. We are happy to read that you really liked our hotel. We are currently renovating some bathrooms for the reasons that you mentionned in your review, we hope to have completed the renovation at the end of this month. I have forwarded... More

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I thought I was heading into the ghetto until I arrived at the hotel. It was like a converted mansion with high ceilings and spiral stairs. Room was quirky, very modernly furnished, and it had a good restaurant and bar. They were renovating some rooms so the noise was not appreciated but since I was mostly out I didn't complain.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Mr Sangeeth, Thank you very much for your kind review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read that you had a good stay with us. We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused by the renovation of some rooms as we updating and improving our product. We will be very happy when the renovation is completed at the... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice comfortable room and excellent service. A bit noisy due to traffic in the morning. I enjoyed the hotel bicycle for a ride in the city. Parking facilities are great value. Free internet is slow...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Jo, Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. What a pleasure to read those kind words from a regular guest. I will share those words with my team. When coming back to Hotel Arena, we will try to do our best to give you a room facing the internal garden instead of a room facing the road.... More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is beautiful, i love all the funky artwork and seating around, huge lighting and stairwells. The rooms are amazing with a bedroom upstairs and living area underneath. The see-though bathroom wall is a first for me. A short bike ride to the centre of Amsterdam. The staff were incredible! Very helpful and booked our train tickets and attractions... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Idmillie, What a kind review on Tripadvisor! Thank you very much for your feedback. I will share your comments with my team. We look forward to welcoming you again in Hotel Arena. See you soon! Willem Bleuland van Oordt General Manager Hotel Arena More

Tartu, Estonia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Love the high ceilings! The breakfast was very good and everything was organized well. Although I wouldn't give Arena four stars because of some stains on the walls and bedcovers. I like my four star hotels squeaky clean and shiny. That aside it's a nice place to stay, in a quiet neighborhood.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Willem B, General Manager at Hotel Arena, responded to this review

Dear Linda, Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We would like to thank you for your kind words on your stay. Please rest assured that we have already taken appropriate measures concerning the stains on wall and bedcover. As of Sunday, we have removed all bed covers from our beds. These bed covers were very difficult to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: 's-Gravesandestraat 51, 1092 AA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Arena Amsterdam

779 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (247)
Viewed
Room/suite (92)
Viewed
2:17
Videos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (84)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (506)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (59)
Viewed
Family Room (66)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (61)
Viewed
Studio Room (55)
Viewed
Suite (77)
Viewed
The Hotel (84)
Viewed
Wellness Studio Room (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#67 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam #103 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
116

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer