We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bulldog Hotel

Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Bulldog Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Bulldog Hotel
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    177
    70
    20
    17
See reviews for
7
73
73
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (488)
  • Mar-May only
    (96)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (125)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (140)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (127)
All months
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Free Breakfast, wonderful location, tight security and helpful staff, I had a wonderful time at Bulldog hotel! I had a dorm-styled room shared with 6 other lovely ladies! I would totally return next time when I visit Amsterdam!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I enjoyed my 2 night stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. The facilities were good and the breakfast was nice. The WiFi worked fine. The room was clean. I enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved this hostel,very location in city center your lounge is amazing many rustic and have a good food,so I really loved this place and I very recommend for my friends and who's like travel, I need back always for relax

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There was five of us traveling to Amsterdam together so we rented an apartment that the Bulldog owns. We picked up the keys at the hostel reception and the apartment is located just above the Bulldog cafe. We were really pleased with the place. Clean, modern and just what we needed. There is a large kitchen/living room with large windows... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is right in the centre. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The facilities were good and the breakfast was nice. The WiFi worked fine and was fast enough to use. I enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

had such a great time at the bulldog hostel, met loads of people in the bar downstairs, food and drinks were great & well priced, especially during happy hour! Will definitely return one day! I stayed in a 6 sleeper mixed dorm for 3 nights which was great, then I stayed one night in a much bigger dorm which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Croatia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

...almost, because at my home you can't feel weed in dinning room. Not that I was bothered by that, cause that's one of the reason why you visit Amsterdam:o) Seriously this hostel is very comfortable, stuff at desk was extra polite and informative. When we arrived they asked us to pay a total price, but as we already payed a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the top apartment just down from the hostel. The apartment was great, big rooms, comfy beds and a view over the canal. Kitchen was poor though, no kettle or toaster and the plates and cutlery were still dirty form the previous occupier. Located right next to the red light district and 10 minutes from the coffee shops... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yes the location is good, yes the rooms are a relatively good standard and yes you have some great cafe's on your doorstep but i really dont see what the hype is all about? I have stayed in Hundreds of Hostels/Hotels around the world and the things i was most disappointed with was the staff and the price at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RobertBulldog, Front Office Manager at The Bulldog Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time here. Our staff are very well regarded in our reviews so we are surprised to learn you were less than impressed. We would appreciate it if this was brought to the managements attention prior to your departing so we could rectify the situation for you. Unfortunately there... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night, on my first night in Amsterdam. I booked it first based on location, without reading reviews, but couldn't have been happier in the end. When checking in the person at the front desk noticed that I (solo female traveller) was booked into a room with 11 other males. Without me requesting or saying anything,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Bulldog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, 1012 GJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

640 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (145)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:20
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (491)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Apartment (77)
Viewed
Dorm (55)
Viewed
Luxury Twin Room (43)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (26)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (45)
Viewed
Standard Quad Room (52)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)
Viewed
Three Bed Apartment (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay